TheSandTrap.com  ›  Blog  ›  Clubs  ›  Cleveland HiBORE XL and XL Tour Driver Review 

Cleveland HiBORE XL and XL Tour Driver Review

Mar. 23, 2007     By     Comments (138)

The Cleveland HiBore has helped Jerry Kelly and Vijay Singh (among others) to compete on the PGA Tour, but how does it help us amateurs?

Cleveland Hibore Xl Driver HeroOne of the first geometry-based drivers on the market, the Cleveland HiBORE has changed the shape of the tee game and set the tone for what has become a new era in driver head shape. Now in its second version, the HiBORE XL and XL TOUR attempt to prove once again that Cleveland is "Taking Distance Driven Geometry to a New Level."

The HiBORE XL gets a lot of attention. After all, a former #1 ranked golfer and two-time winner in 2007 plays it: Vijay Singh. As most of you know, Vijay ditched the original HiBORE last year in favor of the 460 Comp only to come back and win with the XL this year at the Mercedes Championships and the Arnold Palmer Invitational. Whether or not the original HiBORE was to blame for Vijay's down year in 2006 we may never know, but the driving show Vijay put on Sunday at the Arnold Palmer is proof that the HiBORE XL can earn its keep.

Of course, I am no Vijay Singh. I am a simple-minded golfer with a 5.4 index who gets off the tee fairly well with a slight fade. On average, I hit around five fairways and ten greens per round. The strength of my game is the tee ball while my achilles heel is my putting. I currently am playing a Titleist 983E with 8° loft and a stiff flex shaft.

Cleveland
Though this image may not show it, the Tour model, left, is a bit smaller than it's "normal" counterpart.

I was able to test out both the regular and Tour versions of the HiBORE XL, each with the Red "Tour Trajectory" shaft, and I've come out of the experience a fan.

Design and Technology
Cleveland touts the "Distance Driven Geometry" of the HiBORE XL clubhead. From their site: "[Distance Driven Geometry] moves weight lower and deeper in the clubhead. This optimized CG location aligns the Center of Gravity Projection with the COR Hot Spot in the center of the face, resulting in optimal conditions for greater overall distance." Of course, we all know this is straight out of the marketing department, but there is some truth to it.

Cleveland
It took surprisingly little time to get used to the "bullet" and "swooped back" look.

The HiBORE XL is a rather significant upgrade to the original HiBORE. Like the original HiBORE, the XL features a precision cast aerospace-grade ultra-thin titanium alloy body with a high-grade SP700 face titanium and follows the same general design, though the XL has a deeper face, which should allow you to tee the ball higher. Also, the squarer face (one of our larger complaints in last year's HiBORE review), and the black pearl finish really pull together the rest of the club.

Cleveland
This image shows you the difference in size between the "normal" model (left) and the Tour model.

In the image just above, note the longer body on the standard version, meant to increase stability on off-center hits (like the FT-i, the SUMO2, or the 907D1). The Tour model has a shallower body to allow for more workability.

Look and Feel
The first time you pick up a HiBORE XL you will first notice the clubhead. Yes, it's oddly shaped, but I found that the "bullet" and "swooped back" look at address gave me confidence standing over the ball. When you take your first practice swing, you'll discover the weight of the club. Both versions have a D5 swing weight - about two or three notches above the standard D2. Because of this, some of us may have to throttle down on the swing speed because the extra weight of the club will actually give you a bit more back.

If you are using the Tour version and you have a keen eye, the next thing you would notice is the 3° open face. I wasn't able to see it immediately, but upon comparing it to the regular HiBORE XL it is quite noticeable.

Cleveland
The soles of the clubs are a bit shiny but are actually quite sturdy in the fact that they do not scratch easily

Despite the super-shiny finish on the sole, and contrary to popular belief, the sole is not easily scratched. After playing with the clubs for several round as well as using them on mat and grass driving ranges, the scratches on the bottom of the club are very minimal. Another interesting tidbit I discovered was that the "sweet" spot of the club was not moved higher as most people believe. In fact, if anything, it has been moved a little lower than its predecessor.

The standard grip for each club isn't nearly as bad as most of the stock grips that come with drivers. In fact, I would be willing to say I wouldn't change this grip out until it was worn out. That is saying something as with every driver I have purchased, the first thing I do is change out the grip.

Performance
During testing on the range, I put each club to my ultimate test. With the Tour version, as stated, I hardly noticed the 3° open face. My very first swing with the Tour version resulted in a pure strike dead straight at my target. As I said at the beginning of this review, I normally play a fade, so this was a welcome surprise.

Once I hit a second ball with it, I noticed how loud the club sounded at impact. Don't let this deter you, however, as it isn't nearly as loud as some of the other drivers on the market. I believe the only reason I really noticed it was the close quarters of the driving range I was on as well as the almost lack of sound out of my Titleist.

Cleveland
From behind the clubs you are more easily able to see how Cleveland has moved weight behind the bottom half of the ball

Once I was comfortable with the clubs I hit each of them off the extreme toe and heel to see how they would perform. If you hit a ball off the toe with either driver, you know it. The clubs noticeably twist in your hands, but the ball is still launched at a reasonable angle and there isn't a huge loss of distance or accuracy. This is a huge bonus for me as if I mis-hit my current driver I am in the woods.

The balls I hit off the heel of the club produced quite a vibration of the club in my hands, but alas, the ball still went straight as an arrow. It did, however, reduce the total distance of the shot a bit (which really isn't that surprising).

Overall, both models produced an extremely consistent ball flight. As advertised, the Tour Trajectory shafts came through with a more penetrating ball flight than I am used to, which is definitely a good thing. The open face on the Tour version combined with the shallower profile allowed me to work the ball, while the elongated non-Tour version did quite well at keeping my drives straight.

One of the biggest benefits in purchasing a HiBORE, in my opinion, is the stock shaft. Cleveland has gone the extra step and has brought on Fujikura shafts as the standard for their clubs. They then go another extra step in providing two different types: Red - Tour Trajectory and Gold - Standard Trajectory.

Cleveland
Fujikura shafts, one of the better ones on the market, come standard with the HiBORE XL's

The clubs I tested both had the Red Tour Trajectory shafts in them and there was a noticeable difference in the ball trajectory over my current driver. With the Tour Trajectory shafts my ball flight was more penetrating and got more roll than what I currently get. Cleveland says the Red is designed for strong players with fast swing speeds. These shafts have a high kickpoint and low torque for trajectory control. The Gold has a lower kickpoint and an active tip section for increased launch angle, higher ball speed, and a smooth feel.

Extras and Specs
The HiBORE XL ships with one of two headcovers depending on whether you purchase the Tour or standard version. The Tour headcover is a bit nicer than the regular sock-type standard headcover. However, the Tour cover feels as though it has some strong cardboard inside it along with a magnetic strip that attaches to its mate on the other side of the cover after wrapping around the bottom portion of the shaft.

Cleveland
The headcovers are quite nice and the E-Z Grab feature allows you to pull off the headcovers with ease.

The Cleveland HiBORE XL is available in five lofts for righties (8.5°, 9.5°, 10.5°, 11.5°, and 16.0°). The Tour version is only available in three lofts (8.5°, 9.5°, and 10.5°). Lefties will find that the 9.5°, 10.5°, and 9.5° Tour versions are available. All versions are available with both the Red and Gold shafts.

In Conclusion
As a final rating I have to give the Cleveland HiBORE XLs a big thumbs up. Both clubs exceeded my expectations by delivering on the company's promises. I may not be hitting it thirty yards past my current driver, but is very noticeably straighter. I also found that with the HiBORE's I had more confidence over the ball, even after the "honeymoon" phase of having the drivers was over.

If you want a technologically advanced driver that, with it's new shafts, provides you with a more penetrating ball flight, you will definitely want to at least try out the HiBORE's.

This article was written by guest author Harry Solomon, an active member of our forum.

Discussion

  1. Randy Amestoy says:

    Good, concise article. I would have liked to have seen how this club would affect a more average golfers game, say someone with a 20+ handicap. Other than that, I think I might just go test one out myself.

  2. Gene Shore says:

    Enjoy the article very much. I have at present using the old cleveland 460' and have done well until late where its seems i have lost some distance.

    My question is which do your recommend, std or tour for a 65 year old with a 19 handicap, 17.6 course rating. I play with Titlest solo low compression ball and 9.5 std shaft ? Thanks

  3. Alex says:

    Interesting, previous reviews I'd read indicated a smaller difference between the original HiBore and the XL models. Having a slightly less closed face would certainly be a nice thing...

  4. David Mosher says:

    Hey Gene,

    My first inclination was to tell you to go with the standard model, but your best bet would probably be to hit both of them on a launch monitor. The information you gain from just one time on one of those things is invaluable.

    Good luck!

    David

  5. Tony says:

    Great review and I couldn’t agree more with the findings. I put the HiBORE XL (stiff red shaft) non tour, in my bag about 1 week ago and couldn’t be happier. I am out hitting my TailorMade by a mile but more importantly I am able to hit longer AND ease off a little on the swing, which means more fairways hit. This really is a great club!!!

    I took both the tour and the non-tour out for two rounds before buying, and to be honest the only difference I found was the $50 price tag. Also as far as the head covers went, I didn’t like the tour cover, I didn’t think it offered any shaft protection from scuffs and scrapes around the were the sock section is on the regular cover.

    I love the club, and loved the review, great job.

  6. Jonathan E. says:

    Regarding the question about whether this driver might be suitable for a higher handicapper: I took up golf in mid-life last year, playing budget clubs. Got bitten by the bug; since starting in February 2006 I must have played 45 rounds. This year I decided I wasn't going out with anything but good equipment. Went to a fitter and hit TaylorMade, Ping, Callaway, Cleveland, Nike, Mizuno. I was shocked, but the HiBore XL had me blasting it. I was so impressed I tried the 3 wood and the HiBore iron set. Incredible. I bought the whole iron set, 3 to PW, plus D wedge, 3 wood and driver, as well as CG11 sand and lob wedge. I finished last season with a 28 handicap and difficulty breaking 100. Since buying these, I've shot in the mid to upper 90s, taking 4 to 6 strokes off my game, and it's still early. My only disappointment is the wedges; right now I've put my Titleist Vokey Oil Cans back in my bag for sand and lob because the Clevelands can't touch the feel. Anyway, there's my long-winded answer. As a high handicapper, I never thought I'd have a bag dominated by Cleveland; I didn't think they had a reputation for game improvement clubs. Far as I'm concerned, they do now.

  7. Jason says:

    i can't imagine how this club feels, if the first hibore was amazing i can't imagine this one

  8. Philip Manougian says:

    Very true. Solidly built and just does what it is made for. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

  9. Robert says:

    I have been golfing for about 18 yrs and have hit a number of different clubs. The Cleveland Hi Bore XL has been the greatest addition to my bag. I was normally a mid to low 80's golfer and now I am a mid to high 70's golfer. My biggest problem was being able to get off the box not any more now I am confident on were my ball is going and another plus is I also gained about 20-30 yards more in distance. I give the Hi Bore XL a #1 rating best driver on the market.

  10. Laurie says:

    This was a great review! This is my 3rd year playing and wanted to replace my Ping G2 driver w/a 15.5 loft. I had to get used to the lower loft on my XL (10.5) but I have now played 3 rounds and can't believe my fade has all but diasppeared and that I have gained at least 15 yards on what used to be my avg of 200-215 yard tee shot, and have only missed the fairway once. LOVE the club, am now looking at the hibore irons to help me break 90 on a more consistent basis. Would recomend to any hi to mid handicapper.

  11. skipper says:

    I've been banging the 'bore for about 6 months and this review is spot on. Easy to hit, and when you strike it toe or heel and cringe because you feel the grip twist, you are shocked to look up and see it's going straight as ever, just not as far.

    Great "thok" sound instead of the typical 'ping', which sounds like a ricochet...ricochets don't go straight! Can't wait to try their irons. Is this legal?

  12. coastie says:

    I am in the market for a new driver, and this one has caught my eye! I am currently in an area where a swing analyzer is not available. My question is for those who have played this club. What shaft do you reccomend for someone who is pretty consistent in the mid 80's with about a 260yd drive with a average to higher swing speed. My trajectory is average.

  13. Phil says:

    I am in the market for a new driver, and this one has caught my eye! I am currently in an area where a swing analyzer is not available. My question is for those who have played this club. What shaft do you reccomend for someone who is pretty consistent in the mid 80's with about a 260yd drive with a average to higher swing speed. My trajectory is average.

    I would have to say a stiff shaft if you really do hit 260. This club might up your shot trajectory a little bit and keep with the same loft. Stiff would be the right one for you. :grin: :grin:

  14. Tony says:

    I am in the market for a new driver, and this one has caught my eye! I am currently in an area where a swing analyzer is not available. My question is for those who have played this club. What shaft do you reccomend for someone who is pretty consistent in the mid 80's with about a 260yd drive with a average to higher swing speed. My trajectory is average.

    I would recommend the red shaft to you. I switched from a TM R5D, 10.5 degree, aldila stiff and have seen a huge difference in both carry and roll. The gold shaft has an active tip and I swing the driver averaging 110mph and I just launched the ball too high for my liking. The red gave me the trajectory I was looking for, lower with more roll.

    Try the red, stiff, 9.5 (same specks that I went with) and try not to laugh too much when you watch the first few balls fly off the face.

  15. coastie says:

    Hey guys thanks for the quick replies. Any help I can get is tremendous. Being in the Middle east there arent too many shops around let alone courses. But when I get back I really want to have some new sticks waiting. The only one I am missing is the driver.

  16. Philip Manougian says:

    Just one more thing. u still have to practice a bit. no driver ever will :arrow: always :cool: be a perfect shot

  17. Jonathan E. says:

    DEFINITELY the red shaft for you. I don't swing as fast so I went with the gold, which suits me fine. Related comment: For anyone who might be thinking about getting a 3 wood HiBore to go along with the driver, think about an Aldila shaft. I went with it on the recommendation of my club fitter, who said he thought I should get the Aldila because I have trouble getting the ball in the air with a 3 wood. At first I hated it, or thought I did. Lots of shots seemed to balloon. After a couple weeks, though, my trajectories started to drop and become more penetrating. Just had to get used to it; felt kind of whippy at first. Oh, and even when they do go high? Funny, but I'll get down to my ball and find that what I thought was a bad shot traveled 200 yards or so!

  18. Jared M says:

    I bought the Hi Bore XL a week ago to replace my Cleveland 460 Comp which I absolutley loved, so it was a difficult purchase to make. I am a 4 handicap and my previous club was 9.5* with the S stock black fuji shaft. I thought the 9.5 Tour model with the stiff red shaft would be the perfect club; however, to the suggestion of some forum peeps, I went to the local Golf Galaxy and had a Ball Launch Monitor session done just to make sure. I couldn't have been more off! The club that fit my club head speed (about 104) and entry angle (fairly low) was the 10.5 S gold shafted standard model. That combination brought my launch angle up a couble degrees to 14-15* and my spin rate into the high 2000s where the red shaft was leaving me around 10* and spin rates only in the 1000s. So, just because you have a good club head speed doesn't mean you need the red shaft! With the possible combination of two heads, two shafts, and three or four different flexes for each shaft, I highly reccomend getting an analysis to find which driver matches your swing speed and entry angle. Oh and by the way, this thing crushes the ball. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.

  19. Jonathan E. says:

    Jared M. makes a really good point and I wish I'd thought through my response a bit more before I posted. Launch angle is a factor; I'd forgotten there are guys out there with fast swings who are hitting regular shafts. I also wanted to post to share something I saw in the new Golf Magazine: Tests of various clubs including the HiBore driver, HiBore hybrid and so on. I don't know what's going on at the magazine; do they have a bias against Cleveland? The mag's own tests showed the HiBore being longest, yet the top star rating on distance went to Cobra. Now how does THAT happen?

  20. rick says:

    Is their much difference in hitting the 10.5 red stiff or the 9.5 red stiff? Anybody out there test this or give an indication.rick was wondering.

  21. Joe says:

    In regards to type casting swing speed to this club - I thought I would share my experience concerning this. I swing approximately 105-110, and I was previously hitting the Adams Redline RPM 10.5 with the Adlia NV stiff shaft. I hit it well but tended to miss too many fairways and was in the market for a new club. I just got the Hi Bore XL with the gold shaft and a 9.5 head. I hit this club better than any other driver I have ever tried. I hit regularly 260 yards and out of the box I hit my first 5 drives 270 or more and hit 3 out of 5 fairways. The two that were not in the fairway were blatant miss hits, but they were still long and very playable. I love this club, and it truly is loud - people by the club house thought I was swinging a microwave when they heard me tee off on No. 1 tonight. It is loud, straight, long and fun to hit. Highly reccomend.

  22. Jared M says:

    Is their much difference in hitting the 10.5 red stiff or the 9.5 red stiff? Anybody out there test this or give an indication.rick was wondering.

    Obviously, one degree wouldn't make a huge difference, however, as I said before, I think anyone considering this club should get a ball launch monitor session set up somewhere. I say this because a 10.5* head is slightly more forgiving than a 9.5* head; that is a given, but also because a 10.5* head may also be longer depending on your swing.

    If the ball launch monitor doesn't fit into you schedule, or you just don't want to do one, I would go with the 10.5*. The red stiff shaft is a low launch as is.

  23. Finbar Kelleher says:

    i am a 21 handicap who currently uses a Titleist 975d.

    When i was at the driving range last night i got to hit Hibore Xl with the standard shaft. I was carrying the ball about 20 - 30 yards farther than my current driver (yes - i know its old) but it was also dead straight - but it is not infallible - i did hit one slice and one hook out of 12 balls(my fault not the clubs).

    The sound is very loud in a driving range when you catch it sweet (but a better noise than the Callaway ft-i and Nike sumo 2). Off center hits are loud as well and you get feedback through the club.

    but in conclusion its an ANIMAL of a club and i will be buying one very soon indeed

  24. Russ G says:

    Is the new XL different/better enough from the older Hybore to consider an upgrade?

    I play last-year's Hybore, 10.5* customized with an Accra shaft. Best driver and shaft I've ever had. I do not get my clubs for free like Mr. Singh. :)

  25. Is the new XL different/better enough from the older Hybore to consider an upgrade?

    I play last-year's Hybore, 10.5* customized with an Accra shaft. Best driver and shaft I've ever had. I do not get my clubs for free like Mr. Singh. :)

    They're quite different, really. Almost night and day. But c'mon, if you like your current driver, follow the "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" thought pattern. Keep using it.

  26. Jeff Byerley says:

    I have just got back from a demo day at the local range.
    Went down to try 695 irons.
    Hit a 907D2 9.5* Aldila Proto S which was good, but then tried the XL 9.5* with Fit On Gold R. Hit one, then some more thinking it was pretty good. It just got better, and the Pro came over to ask my opinion.I said just watch this, and hit 5 or 6 great shots, and he just laughed and said, "thought you would like it".
    Am going to buy one!

  27. 20 'capper says:

    Great driver! I tried the high-end drivers from Titleist, Callaway, Ping, Nike and Taylor Made. I was hitting off a mat into a net. The Hibore XL felt the best, but I liked the set-up and appearance better than the others too. Took it out onto the course and it felt even better. Straightest and longest I have ever driven. It has given me lots of confidence in my driving game.

    The $299 price point, makes this the best value in drivers, for me.

    I love this club!

  28. Sebastian Thomas says:

    At the driving range, I tested the Hibore XL with the gold shaft, both stiff and reg., and the red shaft, both stiff and reg. I hit the red/stiff best so that's the one I purchased, w/ 10.5. I've used it now for over one month, and I've found my driver at last. I purchased the original Hibore, the most accurate driver I've ever hit, but was disappointed by its lack of distance, especially into the wind. The new Hibore XL is nearly as accurate and the distance problem is solved. I'm rarely ever get into trouble off the tee. I've spent too much on drivers for several years: Titlest 983K, TaylorMade r7, orignial Hibore, Callaway FT-3, and now this. But, I've found my driver at last. This is a keeper.

  29. Kevin says:

    I typically shoot in the low to mid 90's. I just played my first round with the HiBore XL (yellow shaft) 11.5 degree and I've never been more confident in my drives. I play with some guys who sky the ball and they were always able to get over trees on the egde of some dog legs which puts them in superb position for their second shot. With this club I can now do the same and had my first eagle putt as a result (although I ended the hole with a birdie). After that, I was sold. The club looks, feels, and sounds great and I recommend the curious ones out there to check it out on the course.

  30. TGARD says:

    Nice job on the review! I have tried the Hi-Bore XL Pro on the range and on the course. Normally a 45 inch shaft tends to keep me in the right rough. I have a 6 handicap and decent swing speed but I have had trouble finding a 45 inch shaft with the right combination of torque and stiffness. I have been on launch monitors and at the range with various other drivers and shafts with limited results. The first thing I noticed when swinging the XL Pro was the weight (D-5) which is about 8 swingweights heavier my other driver. (I butt trimmed my existing driver shaft to 44 inches to make it lighter and tighter.) However, even though the XL Pro was considerably heavier it flew straight and true with a small draw and a piercing ball flight. Comparing it to my other driver, (454 Callaway Pro with a 44 inch 3.2 gold shaft) it seemed to fly farther and a bit lower. The weight and length of the XL Pro forced me to ease up a bit as I allowed the clubhead to catch up. When I took the XL Pro to the course the next day I waited until the middle of the round when I was swinging well and hit my driver first and then the XL Tour. I pounded my driver down the middle and got up with the XL Pro and pounded it down the middle as well. From the tee box I could see that the XL Tour had gone farther but the uphill slope of the fairway prevented a complete view. Satisfied that I had hit both clubs equally well I went to the fairway to see the results. The XL Pro had gone 24 yards farther than my other driver. Now, given that the XL Pro is an inch longer and 8 swingweights heavier, my results are not surprising. However, what is unusual is the fact that I not only hit it down the middle but with it's 3 degree open face I had drawn the ball. Every time I have hit the XL Pro it has produced a casual draw or a dead straight piercing ball flight that looks like it will never stop rolling when it comes down. In conclusion, I love the ball flight and the extra length of the Hi-Bore XL Pro but I am not sure that I can swing a D5 driver for 36 holes. I am not sure that after a long day on the links I will be able to get the clubface squared up at impact. I am also not sure that butt trimming this club will have the same glorious effects that it had on my other driver. Only time will tell.

  31. Russ G says:

    TGARD?
    What is the XL PRO? Are you taking about a RED shaft or is this another version in addition to the XL and the XL TOUR?

  32. 25 HC says:

    I just Purchase the HiBORE XL.9.5. on the 4th May 2007. what the article written is total a truth facts.. 279 yd..!!!!!!

    When looking at my driving distance...They intend to change their driver to HiBORE... but they dont like the shape of the HiBORE ... They told me that the shape look bit Odd. I told them.. T

    The loud sound at sweet Spot.. make you feel very confident that the ball is playing fly high and stright... Even you hit outside the Sweet Spot Still.. The Ball fly high but the distance reduce to 230 to 250 yd..

    I also purchase HiBORE W3 and HiBORE 2i Hybrid... Both Superb clubs... This two club.. Save my 2nd stroke to the Green. 3W at the fairway.. and 2i in the rough.

    FEEL IT TO BELIEVE IT...

    Iron CG2 4-PW, 60deg Tour Action

  33. TGARD says:

    My bad. I was talking about the red shafted Hi-Bore XL Tour in my previous post. As a follow up on my post, recently, I took my 10.5 degree red shafted Hi-Bore driver to the course and then the range for a final determination. I found the D-5 swingweight hard to practice with for any length of time due to my personal swing characteristics. The good shots that I hit were the earliest ones before the round and during the round. After the round it just seemed too heavy for me. I guess that I am more of a "hitter" than a "swinger". I can't imagine using it for a full round and certainly not for 36 holes or more. I imagine that my swing speed is considerably slower with this club and as it starts to feel heavier I may start to press a bit. If I decide to butt trim it to bring down the swingweight, I will fire out another post.

  34. Jeff Byerley says:

    Well I finally got my Hi-Bore XL 9.5 gold shaft today. Straight down to the range together with my other driver (FT3 9.5 Tour with Proto By You 70 shaft).
    First few hits as a warm up were nothing special, so tried the FT3 to compare distance and direction. Must have been having an ordinary day, as the FT3 was definitely shorter and more prone to reacting to a bad swing, with a fade and some snap hooks.
    Back to the XL, and after a few shots started to hit high straight balls into a head wind from the left.
    The XL is certainly easier to keep straight in these conditions, with a higher proportion of "sweet spot" shots, and also has the bonus of producing a more pleasant sharp sound than the "corky"FT3.
    Happy to say it seems to be what I hoped for. Now i just need to get back to the swing I had when I demoed the XL.
    Will update when I have played a few rounds.
    Off next week to play Kauri Cliffs in New Zealand, and then a week later off to Scotland, Ireland and England, to play my favourite Links courses.

  35. Instinct2 says:

    Question: This is my first year really golfing just learning the game. I bought the Hibore xl 10.5 in a Regular shaft "gold" - beacuse that's what I was told to get. I've been averaging around 280-285, but the ball has been soring extremely high and it feels like the club face is going to come off. I went in today and tried a the same club in a Stiff flex "gold" and 9.5 degree at my course today (demo). Most of my drives were easily over 300 had one land on the green that was 319 and another just shy of 335 yds. My question is should I go with gold or red shaft? We didn't have any that I could try with the red shaft. Not sure if I would benefit with the red shaft or not - any ideas?

  36. Phil says:

    Question: This is my first year really golfing just learning the game. I bought the Hibore xl 10.5 in a Regular shaft "gold" - beacuse that's what I was told to get. I've been averaging around 280-285, but the ball has been soring extremely high and it feels like the club face is going to come off. I went in today and tried a the same club in a Stiff flex "gold" and 9.5 degree at my course today (demo). Most of my drives were easily over 300 had one land on the green that was 319 and another just shy of 335 yds. My question is should I go with gold or red shaft? We didn't have any that I could try with the red shaft. Not sure if I would benefit with the red shaft or not - any ideas?

    I really dont think you need to change the shaft to red. The distance you are getting now is even more than some tour pros. If the red shaft were to get you more distance, it would be on average of 5 yards at best. What you have now is probably your best bet. I sure hope thats 335 yrd DOWN THE MIDDLE or else you could be in some deep stuff going that far off line

  37. Instinct2 says:

    I really dont think you need to change the shaft to red. The distance you are getting now is even more than some tour pros. If the red shaft were to get you more distance, it would be on average of 5 yards at best. What you have now is probably your best bet. I sure hope thats 335 yrd DOWN THE MIDDLE or else you could be in some deep stuff going that far off line

    Thanks Phil, I went in and just swapped clubs with the clubhouse this morning. They told me the same thing after the pro watched me drive both. There was at least 30 yard difference with the 9.5 loft and stiff shaft. I couldn't hit 290 with 10.5, but it was easy to go over 300 with the 9.5 this morning on the driving range. The 330 was a little right, ha!

  38. Russ G says:

    Upgraded from the "old" Hibore to the XL based mostly on this review and comments here! Swapped the custom shaft from my old Hibore so that my new set up is an XL 10.5* with and Accra SC 75 shaft. After a few swings on the range and a few holes yesterday, it has an impressive, high and long flight and the balls rolled out when they finally landed. Length wise- it is consistantly as long as the best shots I hit with the old model. I hit one sweet-spot-hard-swing shot that I thought would have be longer than I've ever been and it just short of a bunker that I have reached with the old Hibore when I hit it perfectly. Straight when you hit it well. It is not magic. A really bad swing still gives a really bad result -- only longer than the bad shots with the old model. One aweful misshit carried a 230 yard bunker and duckhooked it's way back into the fairway another 20 yards. If you didn't see the shot, you'd have thought "nice drive."

    As mentioned in other people's comments, this baby is long on misshits and if you are wild, you will be a long way from your target.

  39. Art in Va says:

    Just got one this week and at first It felt totally different from my Ping G5, plus I had to tee it a bit lower. But once I hit it a couple of times, I nearly drove a 305 yard par 4 to the green by a few feet and didn't even hit it hard at all. My worse mis-hit went 190 and stayed in play.

    in fact, I had sevreal 280-300 yard drives in the fairway and I normally average 250 yards. The scary thing is, the less power you give it, the further it seems to go. I am excited about this club and can't wait to get back out there and out-drive everyone with ease. it is like a drive explosion and the ball is gone.... really gone. Best driver I ever had once you get used to it.

  40. Russ G says:

    I agree with Art that best results come from smooth swings -- high with nice roll and very long. When I try and hit it hard and hit the sweet spot it tends to ballon really high. Of course, I'm sure most of that is the archer and not the bow.

    The flight I want is much higher than most guys think is optimum and this club delivers. I've been coached and fitted to believe that my high ball is my longer ball. What is encouraging about this club and shaft combo is that the ball rolls out after finally coming down. I'm guessing that much of the height is from launch angle and not excess spin. Stats: 100-105mph swing speed. 10.5* with Accra SC 75 shaft.

  41. 5Pars says:

    I currently hit a 9.5 Titleist 905R with an Aldila NV 65 Stiff shaft. I wasn't even looking for a new driver until I gave the Hibore XL a try on the range when my Dad got a shot from the local prop shop. All my clubs are Titleist and I am a bit more traditional in terms of having a matching set from the driver down to the putter.

    The model i tried was the 9.5 degree XL with the Fujikura Gold shaft in Stiff. I hit it a few times and they were so long and straight compoared to my normal drives I thought it must be a fluke. Went back to the Titleist and drives were back to normal length, maybe 240 - 245 carry with 10 - 15 yards roll. With the Cleveland my carry was 250 - 260 and I got way more roll, on average 25 - 30 yards, but sometimes up to 50 yards. Bear in mind the range was very firm that day.

    I can honestly say I am amazed. My swing speed is 105mph - 110mph and I get through the ball well. My main issue with most of the drivers is too much spin on the ball causing it to balloon and drop down with not too much roll. The Hiobore XL somehow manages to reduce the spin and rather than dropping like a rock, it just keeps on going. The most impressive past is the extra roll I get.

    I would have thought at my swing speed the red would have been better but to be honest I get better results of the yellow shaft and putting ego aside will stick with it. Going to take it out for a round this afternoon - really looking forward to it.

    In summary, scary long and very straight too - even my rubbish hits were comparatively decent to what they would have come out with on the Titleist. I have always been a Titleist man but reluctantly I have to say that this driver puts them to shame. To be fair I have not tried the 907 D1 or D2 yet but at £179 this is a good deal whatever way you look at it.

    Try one is all I can say, especially if you tend to get a lot of spin on your drives causing them to balloon and robbing you of distance. You will truly benefit but get fitted for the right shaft. I am a regular guy who never writes reviews but just had to give my side this time as it really is a great club.

  42. Kevinindel says:

    I've been reading all these positive reviews on the Cleveland Hibore XL and was wondering if some of you could give me some advice on this driver?
    First, let me say that I have a slow swing speed (76 with a 6 iron). I just purchased the hibore iron set (all hybrids) and like them very much and would like to purchase a matching driver and possibly 3 wood.
    Question: Would I do better with the 11.5 with a senior flex, or is the swing weight still D5? Also, are these a draw bias club or offset?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    BTW- my current driver is a Jack Nicklaus that came with the set (10.5 regular flex, and only around 200yrds, mostly slicing!)
    HELP- and thank you!
    Kevin

  43. Pachas says:

    Purchased an XL Hibore 9.5 with a regular shaft in March. Prior to this I hit a Callaway 2 wood off the tee. I could never control a driver and sacrificed distance for accuracy off the tee. I hit the 9.5, 11.5 and 16 at a local demo days. I actually hit the 9.5 better than the other two. The ball jumped off the face. Since then I've played several rounds including my league. What a difference!! I'm hitting second shots from places I only used to wish for. As long as I make a nice slow backswing, the club will perform. I used to drive the ball 220-230 with the 2 wood. Now I'm 250+ with no loss of accuracy. Part of this may be new club confidence but there is no disputing the results. I recently shot a personal best 37(2 over) due primarily to the drives. (my iron were on as well). I'm totally sold on this club. Best $270 I've invested in a golf club.

  44. Ryno says:

    One word unbelievable. I'm a 5 handicap and have been playing my titleist 975j-vs for several years and did not want to give it up but after hitting the hibore xl tour I had no choice. I went from my 975 at 8.5* to the hibore tour at 9.5* and added about ten yards with a little less draw and the ability to hit a easy fade when needed. Happy as can be and handicap going down real soon. :grin:

  45. JoaquinSierra says:

    Hi all,
    Seeking a high MOI driver, I tested TM Superquad, Cobra Speed LD, Callaway FTi and Cleveland HiBore XL.
    Nothing (super) special with them in the range, all them straigth (the FTi short!!) but the XL was a cannon.
    Yesterday asked it to a friend, and went onto the course for test, only for two holes for time reasons.
    First : short par 4, 310 ft, sweet swing, and right in the middle with 80 ft to pin. Gap wedge, putt and birdie.
    Second : long par 4, 389 ft up, with dodleg, hdcp 4 of the course and hard to reach in regulation. Said "let´s go a bit harder and see". Flied until the 100ft red mark!!! Whoaw!! And rolled. Buddies asked to trie it and all made +40 ft from theirs previous shots. Wedge, putt, and birdie again.
    Needless to say it´s in my bag, replacing my FT3.
    :razz:

  46. carlo says:

    i buy a cleveland hibore xl gold stiff shaft. i'm around 82 and my swing is about 98 /100 MPH with driver.
    i don't like the tip active that is on this shaft , before i had a driver with a grafalloy blu stiff and i think fine.
    I wish to change the shaft , but i think that the red one is too much harder for me.
    What you think about aldila nv 65 s shaft on this head ?

  47. Russ G says:

    Carlo,

    You shoot 82 or you are 82 years old? If 82 years old and 100 MPH swing speed, you are my hero.

    What don't you like about the "tip active?" Too high? Too much spin? Just a feel thing?

    If you still have the grafalloy shaft and liked it, try putting it in the new XL. I love my XL with my "old" Accra shaft.

  48. carlo says:

    Hi Russ,
    really I am 82 year old …………….(no my score are about 82 , I am 48 year old) .
    But I do not like tip active because the tip of gold shaft is too much soft and when I shot I feel that the head is not square but a little behind , so my ball goes on the right.
    I think because my swing is too much faster then regular.
    But with my graffaloy with a cobra head (370 volume) do not happen .
    Probably the kick of my shaft was middle/high while this is middle/low.
    What do you think ?

  49. Russ G says:

    Carlo, I am not a club-fitter. Still, since you liked your old shaft, I recommend that you put your old graffaloy shaft in (if the hosel fits) and try it. Having someone swap-out the shaft would be affordable and then you'd have data to choose another shaft if you don't love it. Option 2 would be to pay for a real fitting with multiple shaft options. I have about the same swing speed (95 - 105) and love my Accra SC 75 in the XL.

  50. carlo says:

    Thanks for advice .
    i'll try XL with my shaft.

  51. Greg says:

    I am a 10 handicap golfer who tends to hit everything high. I have not had a chance to try the XL or XL Tour yet but they sound pretty good from the reviews. My clubhead speed is 100-105 with the driver but the trajectory is usually the problem. Even hitting 8.5 degree drivers the trajectory still gets up to around 15 which is to high for my clubhead speed. I think the main cause is to much backspin. Do you think the 8.5 Tour with the red shaft in regular flex would work for my swingspeed. I have tried a 905 R (went straight up) and a FT5 Tour (didn't really like the feel).

    Thanks

  52. Russ G says:

    If you mean that your launch angle is 15*, that number is calculated without spin -- the angle the ball leaves the tee. If you have a 15* luanch angle with an 8.5* driver, I'd wonder if your swing could use a tweek. Somehow you are creating more loft on your driver than you want. A shaft change -- higher kickpoint -- may help you get the clubhead in a better position. And, less spin may make a 15* launch angle work great. These hybores are made to send the ball high. May not be your club.

  53. Greg Dean says:

    I just purchased the XL Tour , I Love Cleveland, but hated the HiBore. The New HiBore is a big difference, I normally have a draw to my shot, Which I love, but I can get a little to much, and then its trouble. The open face corrects that draw. I now hit it straight or a very slight draw. My drive is last not really lost any distance in comparison to my Launcher Comp. I have noticed a lot more consistency in shot type.

  54. Greg Dean says:

    Greg, If you are hitting the bALL TO HIGH, TRY MOVING THE BALL FURTHER BACK FRIOM YOUR FRONT FOOT. dO VERY SMALL MOVES, FOR TOO MUCH WILL RESULT IN EVEN WORSE SHOTS. sO MOVE IT BACK AN INCH OR TWO AND SEE HOW THAT WORKS

  55. S. Grady says:

    I am 17 and been playing for about 4 months, about 3 times a week. I've been swinging a callaway X 460cc driver and can't seem to work my slice out. I've been looking at this club and wondering if anyone here can tell me if it really does hit straighter. Also what kind of shaft should I use, I hit the ball consistently 270-290.

  56. Jeff Byerley says:

    I am 17 and been playing for about 4 months, about 3 times a week. I've been swinging a callaway X 460cc driver and can't seem to work my slice out. I've been looking at this club and wondering if anyone here can tell me if it really does hit straighter. Also what kind of shaft should I use, I hit the ball consistently 270-290.

    My experience with the XL hibore is that it does not reduce a fade. My last driver, an FT3 was a good driver which I normally hit straight or with a small fade, but I did not like the sound or feel which did not change much between a good or bad shot.The XL certainly has a great sound, more a crack but not too loud.The normal shot is a fade and if I really try, a straight shot.
    I play off 7 and try as I may hit it about 240yds., which is normally longer than most in the groups I play with.
    The number of people that hit 290 and use X shafts according to golfers who post on websites, amazes me. I have yet to play with someone who does!.
    From my experience with the XL, I would say the red in stiff flex would be the way to go.

  57. James Wang says:

    Was fitted with a Hibore XL 10.5 with Gold Regular shaft.

    And.. OMG! Even with a rusty swing, this club launches the ball extremely straight, and puts on a lot of hang time. I have never ever seen my drives go as straight as what this Hibore XL can do for me... unbelievable.

    Like some reviewers and posters say, you must get this club fitted to your swing speed and launch angles to get the best of it all.

    This club is going to be in my bag for a long time.

  58. Don Young says:

    Has anyone compared the Hibore XL to the New Taylormade Burner. Everyone seems to be buying the Burner. In my group one guy gets 50 yards more. He use to hit 180 yards with a horrendous slice but now goes down the center. Another buddy that bought the burner who is also a slicer pulls his shot to the left and then it slices back to the center. He hits his drive 220. With the Burner he goes 250 to 260 and down the middle. They're both dropping in scores rapidly. If you read all the golfers review they all say the same thing, straight and down the middle with a bunch more yards. Slicers love it. The only negative comments are from very low digit players who said they can't work the ball, it only goes straight.

    I tend to hit a draw and am not sure Burner will work for me. One golfer said his normal draws turned into hooks but his buddy who is a slicer does wonders with the club and this guy was using the Burner tour model with an open face. I did try and hit my friend's Burner once and hit a hook. I can't believe how good the burner is for a slicer and if you watch them they still have a slicer's swing but the ball just goes straight.

    I have the Cleveland launcher and need a heck more yards to catch up with these guys. The golf magazine reviews of the Hibore XL in comparison to other drivers always puts it in the middle of the group they really have nothing to great to say about this club. This is the first site where the XL is really talked about with such enthusiasm. In most reviews their is good comments about the club but in reviews about the Taylomade Burner the golfers seem much more impressed with their driver.

  59. James Wang says:

    Those were the 2 clubs I compared against each other. Both were forgiving, but the Hibore XL felt a little more solid at impact to me. On the launch monitor, both Hibore XL and Burner gave me plenty of distance, with the burner a little more by 5-10 yards, but I prefered the look and feel of the Hibore XL more, which ultimately adds to my confidence with the driver when I line up on the first tee.

    Good luck!

  60. Brandon says:

    Im currently looking for a new driver, im 14. I hit in the high 80s mostly and i drive around 240 with a very mediocre driver. Im about 5' 4" and Im not too sure of my swing speed. And this driver along with the Nike SUMO caught my interest. But, I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions for me and to what I should choose. And especially any suggestions to what shaft I sould choose for the HiBore XL. Thanks.

  61. Don Young says:

    Thanks James for your comments. I am going to get a Hibore XL. Probably gold shaft 10.5 regular flex. I am thinking of getting fitted at the cleveland center but can't see that it could make that much of a difference. My swing speed is 90 mph.

  62. DEL says:

    Can anyone tell me if the HIBore XL Comes in an off-set?

  63. Gerardo says:

    Can anyone tell me if the HIBore XL Comes in an off-set?

    No it does not come with an offset

  64. Gary says:

    Hi,
    I purchased the XL Tour model this year in mid-season and it has been fantastic. Very long, very straight and easy to hit. I have an extensive collection of drivers and this went to the top of the list immediately. I gained 15-20 yards probably because of less spin on the ball and my friends were impressed and depressed.
    A great club that does what it is supposed to and I kind of like the look once I got used to it.
    Gary

  65. fred says:

    Very true. Solidly built and just does what it is made for.

    :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrreen: :mrgreen:

    i am a plus 4 handicap and I belive this is the best driver in all of golf. Im smashing it around 300 yards, somethin i couldnt do with my old driver ( nike sq )! I just cant hit it poorly and sure as hell rarley mis a fairway! its awsome I love it. Back to back 64- 66, all about that driver. As well as 20 putts!

  66. Ron says:

    Started golf a couple of years ago with some cheap unbranded irons and driver. Decided that I should get some decent clubs as I have been hitting over 110 all the time :oops: .
    Finally decided to get the XL with gold shaft after reading the reviews. Went down to the range to try it out but ended up slicing most of the shots and was quite disappointed. Of course it has to be my swing even though I hit fairly straight and far with my unbranded driver previously.
    I realised that I should tee the ball lower due to the lower CG of the XL and line the ball more towards the toe of the club as the ball marks showed I have been hitting closer to the hosel.
    Finally went to the course a couple of days back having bought a set of Taylormade R7 draw irons. Giving a good hard swing at the 1st hole saw the ball slicing off. Teed up again and with a more relaxed swing, it just flew off nice, straight n long. The rest of the drives with the XL were awesome and lots more consistent than I ever played, which gave me the confidence to play the rest of the hole and reach the greens in regulation for many of the par 4 and 5 holes.
    Perhaps the R7 helped too, but I finally broke 100 and am extremely pleased with the XL. Can't wait to go out and play them again.
    Love the look of the clubhead, not sure why many found it objectionable, love the sound it made and love the way the balls flew. Now going to try the hibore woods to replace my fairway woods.... :lol:

  67. Lewis says:

    Nice review Harry and certainly jibes w/ my own experience (I love it when that happens!).
    I'm a 9.1 index and have been using a Titleist 905R w/ very light shaft (270-285 yds).
    I spent some time on a launch monitor w/ several drivers including Titleist 970 D2, Nike and a couple of versions of the HiBore.
    Best launch, carry and distance came w/ 10.5* Red shaft. This shaft is much heavier than I'm used to but it was consistently better for me than the yellow shaft and my current driver.
    I'd strongly recommend that when you go to test new clubs that you bring what you are currently using as a point of reference. Big eye opener for me.
    I already had a HiBore 3 wd and still love that club to death so the looks of the new driver wasn't to foreign to me. Can't wait to start spending some of the money I'm gonna win.
    By the way, got this club on sale for $199 as there is a newer version coming out.
    =L=

  68. Joe says:

    this driver is great.. about as long as my old piece of crap..but much straighter ..

  69. Gary says:

    Hi,
    I read with interest the reviews of the Cleveland HiBore XL drivers. This year, I purchased the Tour model in 8.5* loft and it changed my game immediately. I am(was) a strong player who has struggled the past few years with an ugly hook some of the time and draws most of the time. When I make good contact I am relatively long off the tee(275+) but when I started hitting my Cleveland, I was startled right away. It is strange to look at when you first put it down, but the more you play with it, the more comforting it becomes. It is a little loud but I don't even notice that anymore. What I found right away was mostly straight balls with a high, driving flight that carried forever. I was always able to crunch the occasional 300 yarder but only once in a while. Now, I am consistently 280+ and hit it 300 a couple of times per round and am able to aim for different parts of the fairway instead of just trying to keep it in the fairway. It is not all the club however. I discovered a flaw in my swing that I can't believe I couldn't see before and sadly, no professional I consulted could see either. In five minutes after discovering the problem, I almost eliminated my dreaded hook. It still appears occasionally but nowhere near as frequently as before. The downside is that sometimes I push the ball now but that is only on bad swings so I can live with that. The hook has also disappeared from my irons so golf is fun again and my scores have plunged and my game is back to the pre-hook level of 5-10 years ago. Was the Cleveland the answer? Partly. It does give me confidence to go after my drives and that explains the extra distance but I don't think the ball spins as much either and that helps me too. At 53, golf is fun again and it's nice to have some added distance and control because in reality, my swing has slowed down a little, but my distance is right up there with 20 years ago and with more consistency. Thanks Cleveland. I was planning to change the shaft when I got it(I love Speeder 757's), but this red shaft is really good. It is more flexible than the Speeder in stiff and I like the pop it gives the ball and the driving ball flight as well. Now I have to get rid of 25 other drivers waiting for their opportunity to get back in my bag and I can't wait for the new season to start in April!!!!
    G.

  70. Dave says:

    My new favorite driver, for sure... the XL Tour .5 with the Red shaft in stiff.

    I haven't tried a lot of different shafts, but I have been in the booth and have a driver swingspeed of 110-112.

    With this driver I feel confident of a dead straight tee ball, and usually get it, or else a tiny little fade that I like just as much.

    I can give it a real heave and miss the center by a half inch or more, and still get the fairway. Can't pop it up, can't hit worm burners. No matter how I miss it, the result is playable.

    A+ for Cleveland on the HiBore XL Tour 9.5.....

  71. Shannon S says:

    Jared M is right on. I had a launch monitor session, and my swing speed and ball speed said red shaft, my launch angle screamed yellow shaft. I hit the 9.5 with the Red Stiff, my ball speed was 147, 275 yds with a launch angle of 8 degrees. I tried the yellow shaft 10.5, ball speed was 143, 285 yds with a launch angle of 13.5 degrees. I guess the overall thing is to get fitted. Play your game, don't chase it!

  72. Daryl says:

    Hi,
    I Was wondering if anybody knows if this club is good for someone with a Handicap of 10 or less? I am only 5,10' but a real big hitter, average drive is around 290 but can hit some in the 310's, and have a high trajectory

  73. dave says:

    Hi,
    I Was wondering if anybody knows if this club is good for someone with a Handicap of 10 or less? I am only 5,10' but a real big hitter, average drive is around 290 but can hit some in the 310's, and have a high trajectory

    You're taller than Daly.

    And Vijay hits this club, he's no shortknocker.

    I can break the 300 barrier on a warm day. I'm a single digit guy.

    And it's my favorite driver ever. :-)

  74. the golfer says:

    The Cleveland Hibore XL is an awsome club. I have been playing with it for about a year. What has really thrown me off lately is that the face is offset 2 degrees, and I have really started to notice it when I set up over the ball. In order to square the club face you need to adjust it which brings the heel of the club about an 1/2 an inch off the ground. This move has really made me loose confidence in the club itself. But I will try and regain that confidence. All in all its a great club.

  75. Dave says:

    The XL is not offset at all. The XL Tour model is made to address the ball with an open face, 3 degrees, but it is not offset either.

    If you want to close the face, it shouldn't raise the heel of the club at all. But if you don't like an open faced driver, don't play the XL Tour. The regular XL is great, and in fact it has a bit bigger face to hit with.

  76. Mac162 says:

    I bought my HiBore off the internet without trying it out, initially I went to the Driving Range to try it out. I hit 50 balls most of which went straight but none rose more than 10 feet off the ground and covered no distance at all, I felt somewhat disappointed. I then went to the golf club, I teed the ball higher than normal, I swung the club as I normally did when I looked up the ball was soaring away into the distance straight down the middle of the fairway. I couldn't believe how far the ball had travelled and this wasn't a one off, time and again I repeated this shot. That was 4 weeks ago and I'm still hitting long straight drives, okay occasionally one fades into the the rough and I drop a shot but overall I'm 4 or 5 shots better off and hitting the greens with my next shot as also increased I just need to learn how to putt, but thats another story.

  77. Dave says:

    I bought my HiBore off the internet without trying it out, initially I went to the Driving Range to try it out. I hit 50 balls most of which went straight but none rose more than 10 feet off the ground and covered no distance at all, I felt somewhat disappointed. I then went to the golf club, I teed the ball higher than normal, I swung the club as I normally did when I looked up the ball was soaring away into the distance straight down the middle of the fairway. I couldn't believe how far the ball had travelled and this wasn't a one off, time and again I repeated this shot. That was 4 weeks ago and I'm still hitting long straight drives, okay occasionally one fades into the the rough and I drop a shot but overall I'm 4 or 5 shots better off and hitting the greens with my next shot as also increased I just need to learn how to putt, but thats another story.

    Yeah, I keep having to remind myself that it doesn't help to tee it low for into the wind shots. Teeing it low with this club just shortens the drive, period!

    I think it's because the face is so tall and has so much bulge on it, when you hit in the center or the bottom center it is like a 4 degree loft club.

    Gotta hit it in the top half of the clubface. When you do that, it launches high, spins very little, stays in the air forever and goes a long long way.

    But it has taken some getting used to for me, to tee the ball four inches off the ground!

    It works, though, with this club.

  78. Mark says:

    I've been planning on getting a HiBore XL for awhile (currently hit a Cleveland Launcher 400 with a Grafalloy ProLaunch Stiff shaft), and these posts have certainly convinced me that it's the right club to move to. I'm planning on a 10.5 XL with the Gold stiff shaft. I have a question though. I have seen pictures of the bottom of the clubhead that sometimes look like the finish is black, and sometimes it looks silvery (I'm not referring to the original HiBore or the XLS). Were there two versions of the HiBore XL, or is it just the angle/flash in the picture? - Thanks!

  79. Phil says:

    its all a black finish, but very shiny and subject to get lots of finger smudges. its just the shine that makes it look silver.

  80. Franc says:

    I went to the driving range Saturday. I have not played for 12 years and in my late 40's I am trying to get back. I bought a $150 RAM set at Sports Authority which has been kind of a waste. I used to be able to break 100 but it will take more practice and better clubs. In Florida we have lots of French Canadians who come down and love golf. The guy next to me was a fit 50's something American bombing them with a 2 year old Taylor I think. The Canadian was a bit younger and fit. Both of them were good hitters. The Canadian had an HiBoreXL loaner and let the American hit with it. This guy was bombing it with missle launches probably 300 yards. I was green with envy. I am lucky to get 200 to 210 with my cheapy RAM. The Canadian ask me if I would like to try it but I am not hitting very far yet. Need more practice. The American guy loved the HiBoreXL. I am checking it out too. I may bite the bullet and spend the money and have it itted.

  81. Bill says:

    I recently had an indoor launch monitoring session hitting the new Cleveland HIbore XLS 10.5 degree with both a regular and stiff gold shaft. My swing speed is generally between 90-95 mph. My drives were averaging about 240- 250 yards and were consistently in the fairway( if you can believe the picture screen). Launch angle was around 14 degrees. The sales assistant said the backspin speed was consistantly around 3600 rpm. He said ideally the rate of backspin should be around 3000 rpm. I read somewhere that the "red shaft" is for golfers with faster swing speeds or golfers hitting balls with a higher "rate of backspin". The store where I was at did not have any clubs with red shaft.

    My question is, does anyone know if the "red shaft " really will lower the rate of backspin and if so how many yards in driving difference will there be lowering the rate of backspin from 3600 rpm to 3000 rpm.

  82. Dave says:

    Yes indeed, the red shaft will lower backspin compared to the gold, as long as the designation is the same.

    Stiff red = lower backspin than stiff gold.

    Your speed is high enough to use the red shaft, definitely.

    The launch angle is good, although going down to 13* might get you a bit more distance, especially with less backspin. The red shaft will do this for you, lowering the launch angle by arriving at the ball with less tip deflection due to firmer tip and higher kickpoint.

    Backspin makes the ball rise higher and drop more vertically, especially into a breeze. That cuts off a LOT of distance.

    The ideal backspin rate will launch around 2900, then at the apex it will actually stop spinning and rotate forward, so that when it lands it's gonna bounce forward more. If you launch with too much backspin, it keeps spinning when it should be 'turning over'. It lands like an iron shot, vertical and stopping.

    as to actual distance gained, you first must remember those launch monitors are optimistic. If you're swinging at 95 mph and with 3600 backspin, you're probably not hitting further than 225 or so. Same swing speed with better shaft will get you out past 250.

    My swing speed is 112-114 and I hit an X shaft. I seldom hit it further than 275-280, except with hard ground or a tailwind. I can hit my three wood 245 off the fairway, also a HiBore with X shaft.

    I have a feeling the 10.5 with a red S shaft will be perfect for you. The numbers add up. :-)

  83. eric draven says:

    I am a very average golfer and previously have never had any confidence whatsoever when it came to my driving. There were many times when I would tee off with my 3 iron because I knew I could hit it further than any of my woods. I just got fitted today at my local golf shop for a new Hibore XL. I bought a 10.5 Gold with the stiff flex. Where I work, we have three indoor batting cages that double as a driving range. I must have hit about 1000 balls. I love the feel and most of my shots looked great. What got me most was that every time I really connected, it felt like a shotgun blast!!! I can't wait to take this baby out to the real range tomorrow! No more 3 iron tee shots for me. :cool:

  84. Mark says:

    Okay, I tried out a number of variations of the HiBore XL (9.5 and 10.5 degree with golf and red (stiff) shafts).

    What worked best for me was the 9.5 with the red stiff shaft. Although my previous driver was a 10.5 Cleveland Launcher with a Grafalloy Pro Launch Blue (stiff) shaft, the HiBore XL seems to have a higher ball flight. I opted for the lower loft to get similar results to the Launcher. Also, although the Gold shaft was closer to the ProLaunch I had, the Red shaft (mid-high flex point) seemed to work better with the XL.

    I've played a couple rounds now with the HiBore XL and am thrilled with the results! The ball flies further and more consistantly, and even the mis-hits (usually off the toe) fly straight and far. I've already put my Launcher up on Craig's List.

    Thanks to everyone posting here for your insight and suggestions!

  85. Mac162 says:

    Thought I'd give everyone an update of my golfing, last Tuesday we played a 4 ball. After 5 holes we were 4 up, I'd used my diver 3 times and everyone finished long and on the fairway. After walking off the 10th green, which I'd just parred, we were dormy 8, we halved the next hole to win by 8 & 7 if this is what hitting long straight Tee shots is all about, I think I'm going to enjoy my games of golf in the future. This HiBore is deadly, I missed only one fairway and still managed to parr the hole. All I can say is ' Bring it on'.

  86. dezmore says:

    well i have 8.5 in tour and the 10.5 tour i like'en both when i'm swinging strong but if i'm off the 8.5 can and will play long banana ffffaaaddess and on tight holes not a good idea . I just swithed to a 9.5 w/a diam shaft and WOW . this is sick seems really unfair everytime you rocket a shot 320 just to chunck the next shot but hey thats golf . i really like my driver but i think the reg one is longer

  87. dave says:

    I just switched out the shaft in my XL Tour, from the old stock Red stiff shaft to a UST proforce V2 in Xtra Stiff.

    Even better. Mongo. Carried one 290, plugged in a wet fairway where it landed.

    wowie. :shock:

  88. John J says:

    Has anybody hit the Hi-Bore XLS in a 10.5 draw. I am in the market for a complete new set this year, big 50 B-day present from my wife. I am fairly sure I am going with Cleveland CG Gold irons, 1/2 in over, 2 degree up. I was told by the person fitting me that the XL is a very slight draw bias. I hit a slight fade and am wondering if the XL is the way to go or spend he extra and buy the newer XLS 10.5 draw. I plan on hitting both but wonder what other peoples experience has been.

  89. Sean Stratton says:

    That was a great review. I play the XL Tour Spec 9.5 degree head with the Red shaft and let me tell you thia club is a weapon. I live in Las Vegas and this club gives me high launch with alot of zip on it so the spin is pretty low which allows for a 30 to 40 yard run out on these firm desert fairways. It sure is nice to know what hitting it 350 yards and longer feels like from time to time.

  90. Mark says:

    I have a BUNCH of drivers, and recently added the Hibore XL to my mix in search of the elusive perfect one. I have discovered that it does what it does VERY well. My very first swing, right out of the packing box and onto the first tee with no warmup, was 235 dead center. I have an unusual setup ... the 16 degree SuperLoft with a stiff gold shaft. I tend to deloft the face a bit normally, so I get a great trajectory, plus decent distance and less dispersion than with a regular flex shaft. My swing speed is on the border between regular and stiff flex, so the gold Fuji is a better choice for me than the red. I am hitting the ball about 240, almost as far as with my best "cannon" (Tour Edge exotics 12*) ... but this baby is a fairway bound short grass seeking missle. It is harder to work (thats what the Tour version is for) ... but I have never seen a driver that wanted to go straight as desperately and consistently as this one does. For most recreational players, that is enough.The only thing that has been close for me is the Sumo, also a 16 degree stiff .. slightly more torquey, more like a sports car, but similar characteristics. Hibore XL .... goes far, but more importantly, goes STRAIGHT!

  91. Joe S. says:

    I am trying to decide which Cleveland driver would be best for me. I have a eight handicap and a swing speed with my driver between 90-95. I have a tendency to draw(hook) the ball and my ball flight tends to be low. I would like a higher ball flight and do not have access to a launch monitor. XL or XLS? Stiff or regular? Gold or red? I think I want 10.5 loft. Any and all suggestions are appreciated.

  92. Russ G says:

    I have the original and the XL. The XL is very good. I understand the XLS is even better. My 10.5 with a custom shaft is very high. I'd really work and getting to a launch monitor somewhere before dropping $300. My guess is XLS, 10.5 with a stiff gold -- maybe regular. Neutral set-up.

  93. Joe S. says:

    To Russ G.---Thanks. Anybody else?

  94. Dave says:

    I am trying to decide which Cleveland driver would be best for me. I have a eight handicap and a swing speed with my driver between 90-95. I have a tendency to draw(hook) the ball and my ball flight tends to be low. I would like a higher ball flight and do not have access to a launch monitor. XL or XLS? Stiff or regular? Gold or red? I think I want 10.5 loft. Any and all suggestions are appreciated.

    You don't say whether you like your draw/hook tendency or would like to get rid of it.

    I assume you'd like to hit straight balls, just to be rid of the fearsome quacker.. :-) so I would absolutely recommend the XL Tour 9.5 with the Red shaft in stiff, for your swing speed.

    The XL Tour lays open about 2 degrees at address, so if your hands are happy and they square/close the face fast, this gives you insurance against hooks. If you draw this club, you've turned it pretty good. It hits nice controlled fades for me, that still have plenty of roll out.

    I haven't hit the XLS driver yet, although I did buy the 16* hybrid and the 13* three wood, and they have really helped my long game with consistency. IF the driver is as good as those are, it's a monster. But I see no reason to change from my XL Tour, it's the best driver I've ever had by about a 500% margin.

  95. Dave says:

    Oh, and if you want this driver to fly high, tee it up high. The face has enough vertical roll to it that you really affect the loft by hitting it higher or lower on the face. A dead center hit is penetrating, a mid-high hit launches high but with minimal backspin, a fabulous downwind driver!

  96. Joe S. says:

    Dave-
    Thanks for your replies. I guess I am concerned that if I get the red shaft that I won't be able to hit it high enough. Yes, I want to get away from the draw(hook) and hit it straighter.

    Joe S.

  97. Russ G says:

    Joe,

    Find a launch monitor somewhere and get the numbers. Many big-box golf store have them in the hitting bays. Based on your swing speed, you want to launch at about 14-15*. Check shaft and loft options and find the one that launches correctly for you. Spin will make the flight higher and keep the ball in the air. Shafts have a lot to do with spin. Loft and shaft combos have a lot to do with launch angle -- as do our swings. Sometimes it is the archer and not just the arrow. :smile:

    Good luck.
    Russ

  98. Dave says:

    But you don't want to increase spin for the higher launch, not if your spin rate is right to begin with. I worry that getting the gold shaft will in fact increase your spin, which can reduce distance.

    tip active shafts (gold) tend to increase backspin. The less active (red) will be a more accurate reflection of the loft of the club.

    If you want to hit higher, hit higher on the clubface. That way you get more airtime but without substantially increasing backspin, which will shorten distance.

    He is right, of course.. you need the numbers. But 90-95 mph is a strong enough clubhead speed to make use of the red shaft IMHO. Mine is 112-114 and I had to put in an X flex shaft, as the red one was too soft for me. I had a previous HiBore driver with a tip active shaft and it would drop my drives 30 yards short of where they are now. Backspin.

    One of the biggest problems I had when trying to figure out the right driver for me was getting shafts that were too soft in the tip, too tip active. My drives would balloon with tremendous backspin and fall short. Now that I understand the tip thing, it's easier for me to figure out which combination is right for me, even without going to a radar booth thingie.

  99. Joe S. says:

    Russ G. and Dave-
    THANKS,

    Joe S,

  100. paul says:

    Hitting a Launcher Comp 8.5* with Proforce V2 Reg flex shaft.
    (SS = 92-94). Hitting the ball straight and long for me with a good ball flight - about 240 - 260. Originally had a 10.5* comp with NV-65R shaft and was hitting way too high losing distance.

    Would like to pick up a XL. Any suggestions on shaft and loft would be appreciated.
    Thanks

  101. Russ G says:

    BEWARE of the 10.5* XL -- many are non-conforming. They are actually now selling them as non-conforming. Mine was. The replacement program is over. If you have one, you are out of luck.

    The bottom of the club says "Hibore." If yours is a 10.5 and has a small raised dot in the "H" then it is non-conforming.

    You can either play with a non-conforming club or buy a new driver.

    I wish I had heard about this last fall when the exchange program was still available. Instead I notice because I saw a store selling them as non-conforming and I started digging.

    P.S. IF your head was exchanged, it will NOT have the raised dot on the "H."

  102. Dave says:

    I never heard this about conformity.

    But I have the XL Tour, which is a slightly smaller head. I reckon that gets it inline.

    Assuming the conformity problem was head size.

  103. Dave says:

    the nonconforming model is only the 10.5, and the clue is a little raised dot on the H. If your 10.5 does NOT have the dot, it is conforming.

    The issue, apparently, was a COR thing. The club was hotter than the USGA limit of .830. Probably not by much, but it's all about the math these days.

    Cleveland replaced the head under an exchange program, but it's over now as they're onto the XLS models.

  104. paul says:

    Hitting a Launcher Comp 8.5* with Proforce V2 Reg flex shaft.
    (SS = 92-94). Hitting the ball straight and long for me with a good ball flight - about 240 - 260.

    Originally had a 10.5* comp with NV-65R shaft and was hitting way too high losing distance.

    Would like to pick up a XL. Any suggestions on shaft and loft would be appreciated.
    Thanks

    Bought a demo XL 9.5 Red Stiff in excellent condition.
    No re-shaft needed with this rocket launcher. Ball goes straight or with a draw. Outhits my Comp by 30 - 40 yds.
    Didn't think it would be possible!
    For a swing speed of 92-94 the stock red stiff feels very good, surprised because my SS is at the low end for the stiff.
    Amazing club!

  105. The Pro says:

    Is their much difference in hitting the 10.5 red stiff or the 9.5 red stiff? Anybody out there test this or give an indication.rick was wondering.

    I would say go with the 9.5. The Hi-Bore tends to live up to its name and go high.

  106. Ron says:

    No offense to anyone but for me this was one of the worst drivers I have ever used. I thought the sound and feel were terrible. The driver felt cheap. I seriously doubt that VJ's driver is anything like the off the rack version. Over-priced junk.

  107. Sizzle says:

    I recently grabbed a very slightly used HiBore XL Tour 9.5 and i like it. I hit a Taylor r7 425TP for 2 years, and thought i'd never change, but I had a goofy kinda closed-looking head, and i was having a mental problem with all that weight being tied-up into those damn screws, rather than being put to better use throughout the head....so, for $140 I bought the HiBore tour. I can pound this thing. Range balls sound a bit loud, but when you hit a good 'game' ball, it really sounds good. It sounds kinda woody, and when you kill it, it just sounds fierce. Like a gun-shot. I can move it - i'm 6'3" 230 and can swing upwards of 125-130 if I want to, and this club responds. Tons of clubface, and it sits on the ground very nicely - not closed. It just really frees up my swing.

  108. Baga says:

    :?: I haven't tried the Hibore XL yet but some of my friends are telling me to try it. I have last seasons Cobra LD M-Speed 10.5 driver. How do these two drivers compare to each other. Is it worth trying out the Hibore XL over the Cobra LD M-Speed.
    Note: I'm a novice golfer.

  109. Dave says:

    Well I'm 6'4" and 300 lbs, but I don't think I can manage 130 mph.. :-)

    120 maybe... I usually come in at 112-114 whenever I go in the box... I've ticked 120 in there but it wasn't a realistic swing...

    And for me, with this club, 114 is good for 275-285 and the occasional 300 yarder on a good wind or a good fairway...

    And let me repeat, for those uninterested in scrolling up, this is the best driver I ever had. Period. Been playing for over 30 years.

    It's a mauler. And very hard to hit sideways. That sweetspot is the size of a tennis court. I'm amazed at the usable shots I've hit with only half the ballmark on the clubface!

    I did replace the Fuji Red stiff with an X flex V2, but that's because I got stronger and needed more control. Nothing wrong with that stock shaft, though...

  110. Dave says:

    p.s. mine is a HiBore XL Tour 9.5 as well.

  111. Paul says:
    Hitting a Launcher Comp 8.5* with Proforce V2 Reg flex shaft.
    (SS = 92-94). Hitting the ball straight and long for me with a good ball flight - about 240 - 260.

    Originally had a 10.5* comp with NV-65R shaft and was hitting way too high losing distance.

    Would like to pick up a XL. Any suggestions on shaft and loft would be appreciated.
    Thanks

    Bought a demo XL 9.5 Red Stiff in excellent condition.
    No re-shaft needed with this rocket launcher. Ball goes straight or with a draw. Outhits my Comp by 30 - 40 yds.
    Didn't think it would be possible!
    For a swing speed of 92-94 the stock red stiff feels very good, surprised because my SS is at the low end for the stiff.
    Amazing club!

    Since trying the 9.5*, I picked up a XLS 8.5* red stiff and XL 8.5* red stiff. I hit the XL 8.5* stiff the best.
    I like the XL because of the slightly closed face (1-2*) that gives me a straight or draw tee ball.
    Fantastic driver that can now be had for $150 or less!

  112. Golfgrl310 says:

    Currently using Cleveland Comp 460 regular mens shaft 9.5 degree. Hit anywhere from 220 to 240 yards and get lots of roll. Low flight with all clubs. If I crank it ball goes left, rarely go right. Was thinking of replacing with Hibore XL...is this a good idea? Hibore 9.5 or should I go for 10.5...don't want to lose yardage. 10 handicap looking to go lower.

    Thanks

  113. Ramon says:

    Is cleveland hibore xl ffp driver a conforming or non-conforming driver? Can u use it in tournaments in the Philippines? Thanks

  114. Russ G says:

    the 10.5* XL with a raised dot on the "H" in Hibore on the bottom of the club is NOT USGA conforming. As far as I know, all other ones are OK.

  115. Jeff says:

    I'm about to buy a new set of clubs and am pretty sold on Cleveland. I hit the HIBORE XLS 9.5 and 10.5 Gold Stiff shaft. I preferred the 10.5 loft. I don't play that much these days but used to be pretty good. I'm 6'-2", 225 and have a fast, chopping swing. I usually hit theball further than anyone I play with (when I hit it properly, that is :mrgreen: )

    Questions are should I consider the XL to the XLS, considering I can get it for 1/2 the price? I used to play with a very small headed driver, and have always liked a smaller headed wood.

    Also, what about the gold vs. red shaft? I've always swung a Stiff flex, but actually never used a graphite shafted club other than when borrowing a friends.

    Thanks!

  116. Paul says:

    I'm about to buy a new set of clubs and am pretty sold on Cleveland. I hit the HIBORE XLS 9.5 and 10.5 Gold Stiff shaft. I preferred the 10.5 loft. I don't play that much these days but used to be pretty good. I'm 6'-2", 225 and have a fast, chopping swing. I usually hit theball further than anyone I play with (when I hit it properly, that is :mrgreen: )

    Questions are should I consider the XL to the XLS, considering I can get it for 1/2 the price? I used to play with a very small headed driver, and have always liked a smaller headed wood.

    Also, what about the gold vs. red shaft? I've always swung a Stiff flex, but actually never used a graphite shafted club other than when borrowing a friends.

    Thanks!

    Was playing a Launcher Comp and went to a 8.5 red stiff xl and never looked back. Fantastic club. I did try the XLS and the XL is my choice. Go with the XL and my swing speed is 92-94. One of the best stock shafts you will find in these drivers. If you hit a high ball, go with the red shaft. Great club, you won't be dissapointed!

  117. Jeff says:

    Hey thanks Paul. Question though...you say go with the red shaft vs. the gold? Why? I hit the ball very high with my irons but with my woods (and drives) my best shots are pretty low, tracking rips. From what I've read, I thought the gold shaft would be for me.

    The other issue is that I'm most likely going to be using "award points" from a credit card for this "purchase". I don't think they're even offering the red shaft.

    Why do you prefer the red to the gold shaft.

    Thanks!!!!

  118. Paul says:

    Hey thanks Paul. Question though...you say go with the red shaft vs. the gold? Why? I hit the ball very high with my irons but with my woods (and drives) my best shots are pretty low, tracking rips. From what I've read, I thought the gold shaft would be for me.

    The other issue is that I'm most likely going to be using "award points" from a credit card for this "purchase". I don't think they're even offering the red shaft.

    Why do you prefer the red to the gold shaft.

    Thanks!!!!

    Sorry, thought you said you hit the woods high. Gold shaft is the one for you.
    I never thought I would be hitting a "stiff" shaft with my swing speed of 92-94, but the red stiff works for me. Also thought the 8.5 would be too much for me to handle but I think the cleveland drivers tend to go the high side for their loft. Actually, I hit the 8.5* red high too, but not where I will loose distance or control with it. I don't think you will be disappointed with it.
    I NEVER have hit so many fairways with a consistent ball flight.
    Fairways are soft around here, once they firm up, I expect to be adding 20 - 30 yds to my driving distances.
    The XLS is a fine driver but I now prefer the XL's slightly closed face to the XLS's neutral. The XL's ball flight is more
    repeatable, straight or draw as opposed to XLS going right or left. I may give the XLS another shot, but can't see it knocking the XL out of the bag.
    Another good tip for you, try the brush tees (www.brusht.com)
    Get the XLT, largest one. Don't know about the claims of hitting it farther or straighter but just push the tee in the ground to the stop and your ball is at the same height every time! Just eliminates one more variable as to hitting the driver the same every time. Been using one of the tees for a couple of rounds now. At first I thought it was for beginners until I played with a + player that was using one. You can pick them up at a Target. They have an oversize too, but the XLT works for me with the Hibore XL. Post your results when you get the club...... :mrgreen:

  119. Jeff says:

    Thanks Paul. I feel confident now that I am going to go with the XL in a S Gold shaft. I actually like the looks of the XL better than the XLS also. I'll check out those tees also and when I have my new stuff, I'll post a review.

    Your advice and comments are appreciated.

  120. Adinoto says:

    I just got my Hibore XL today, exchange my unused TaylorMade 580 I found at home. I used Cleveland Launcher Ti460 9.5" and flex S for several months and hits 300++ yards usually, but when I try Hibore XL 10.5" with Red Shaft flex R I'm sold! I hit ball longer on driving range and looking forward to try it on golf course tomorrow!

    Nice review you put in here. I try the someone's XLS (with DIY King Cobra flex S) and found it way easier to hit with Red Shaft XL.

    Anybody want to compare XLS to XL?

  121. Russ G says:

    XL 10.5* with a raised bump on the word "Hybore" on the bottom is NOT USGA conforming. I had one. It was nice. Very high ball flight. I now play the XLS 9.5* and it is a little straighter, about the same length, maybe more consistent in length, and a lot lower ball flight (I also changed the loft but even testing the same 10.5* it seemed to have a better-lower flight), and legal. I also think it the XLS sets up better.

  122. Jeff says:

    Got my new Cleveland clubs last month, including a Hibore XL 10.5, S Gold shaft. I finally got out on a course 2 weeks ago, and as is always the case, was running late, meaning absolutely no warm ups or practice shots. First shot off the first tee was AMAZING!!!! Ripped it right down the middle about 260. Absolutely loved the feel and sound of the impact.

    My drives continued to be good all day, averaging 250-290 (which is pretty good for me, considering I've only played 5 times in the last 2 years!). I've been known to have a slice at times, and I'm happy to say that it seems to have disappeared for the most part with the Hibore XL. When I did slice the ball, it still stayed in the fairway, and really seemed more like a push than a slice.

    I feel extremely comfortable setting up with my XL. The clubhead size is not intimidating (I think based on the design of the club's overhead view). I've also slowed my swing down now, and that is HUGE good news for me.

    I played again last Friday and hit the ball well again. We had some people rushing us from behind and I was not nearly as calm as the prior week. I was rushing my shots a bit and over swinging a bit. I sliced several drives OB, but I don't feel like the club was to blame. When I relaxed and slowed down, I boomed the ball, and was 30 yards short of the green on a 340 yard Par 4 (I chunked my chip of course, but the drive sure felt great!).

    Bottom line is that I love my new Hibore XL. I love the looks, the feel, and especially the solid "boom" on impact. For me, it's easily the best driver I've ever hit. I did hit the XLS in a shop, and didn't like the look as much (it's bigger), or the sound at impact (not as "Solid" a sound...much more "tinny").

    Also wanted to say that my new Cleveland CG Gold (S Gold flex graphite shaft) irons are unbelievable! I haven't felt this comfortable and confident in at least 25 years! Haven't hit a bad iron shot yet, believe it or not! I shot a 41 and 42 (it was so hot (116) that we couldn't play 18, so we got a rain check for another 9 the next week), and with my old clubs (Ping) I was shooting over 100 on a regular basis.

    Cleveland truly ROCKS!!!!

  123. Greg says:

    I have the Hibore XL 8.5, with graffalloy prolaunch red shaft in it amazing head and shaft combo. However, I was wondering if anyone experienced teeing height on this club a factor? Teeing it low seems to give me better results. Please any comments.

    Thanks

  124. Jeff says:

    I find myself teeing the ball up much higher than I ever have before, and it seems to be working for me. Before I got my Hibore XL, I was using an old, small headed Cleveland metal driver, and before that, I always used a small headed graphite 3 wood, so teeing it up high was never really an issue before. With the much bigger Hibore XL, I feel that I need to tee it up and I have experiemented a bit, and I seem to get the ball up much better with a high tee.

    I've got to say agian that I am so impressed with all my nw Cleveland clubs. The CG Gold irons are just amazing. I feel so confident when addressing the ball now and other than a few flubs from inside 100 yards, haven't hit a bad iron shot yet,a dn for me, that's saying so much!

  125. Greg says:

    What shaft works well with this head! I have seem to have lost some distance. I have the 8.5 with the prolaunch red Stiff. I am used to the Adilla shaft in my previous drivers. Any suggestions.

  126. Alan says:

    hi i really liked your reveiw... i am currently looking for a new driver and am allready a fan of cleveland... i have found a rather chear hibore xl tour on ebay and am thinking of buying it but am unsure whether to got the tour version or the normal one... any suggestions :smile: :smile: :wink:

  127. Jeff says:

    I would be very careful of any Cleveland drivers on ebay. I read somewhere that there are alot of "fakes" out there. I'm sure you can find articles if you look for them.

    Regarding the "normal" or Tour version, I'm not sure actually. If I were you, I'd be more concerned about getting the "old" Hibore XL, or the newer XLS. The XL is available in many golf stores for about half the price of the XLS. I personally like the looks and feel of the XL better...it also has a much "bigger" sound on impact.

    Good luck.

  128. Gordo says:

    I have to tell you after playing the XLS Tour in a 10.5 for nearly a year now I can't imagine going to anything else. For years I had to manipulate my setup to accomodate the off the shelf 'hacker' draw faced drivers, b/c that was all there was. I had tried some TP version Taylor Mades, but when I had the tech at Golf Smith check the loft and face angles on their equipment it became evident that TM has no quality control whatsover. The lofts varied betwen +1.6* and the face angles on the TP Burner(supposed to be 1* open) were from 1.1* closed and .5* open....not paying $4-500 for that kind of workmanship.

    Conversely, every single XLS Tour we checked was on to within .2* in loft and .4* in face angle. Mine is actually 2.4* open and 10.5* exactly. I can now play a fade w/o having to try and 'de-hook' a draw faced driver!

  129. Tyrel says:

    First, my info: 27 years old, 6', 235. Took up golf a few years back, with this past year my first "serious" attempt to get good. I currently play off of a 13, hoping to get into the single digits this season. Average off the tee is about 285 with a slight (at time too much of a ) draw.

    My two cents worth on this club: Bought the tour xl off of ebay (legit, I checked) in 8.5 with the red shaft. Could not hit it to save my life. Filmed myself in the backyard ( i am blessed with a large, unused field behind my house that I have converted into a driving range), then sat down to see if I could see what the problem was. I may very well be talking out my ass here, but it seemed to me that I was used to hitting one of those "anti-slice" drivers and it had in turn developed some bad habits. Slightly changed my set up, lowered the tee height, and wow, was I impressed. This club is a cannon. Added a legitimate (not guessing, actual rangefinder data) 35 yards including the added roll. Ball is arrow straight, with a slight fade.on occasion. And this is still with about a 70% swing while I get used to the slightly open face.

    One thought: My buddies laugh at me, but I now wear ear plugs when I tee off with this thing. It is LOUD! Recent studies have shown that over time, titanium faced drivers can damage your hearing similiar to a gunshot. So, better safe than sorry.

  130. Dave says:

    1 handicap, the Hibore xl outperforms the Hibore xls for both distance and accuracy...since marketing/competitive pressures make manufacturers release a new driver every 15-18 months thus the xls model,stay away from the tour versions, too open of a face causes pushed drives and is much less consistent than the standard xl version...tried 5 different sets of the cg irons over a 9 month period--approx. 120 rounds in total, best iron shafts hands down are the rifle shafts...overall excellent clubs, forgiving, very long abd accurate

  131. daniel says:

    Does anybody know if the non conforming 10.5 xl is all shafts or just the gold reg? Mine is a red stiff shaft and I have been told it is conforming but the r and a website dont mention shafts. It has a raised dot in the h.

  132. greg says:

    hey i currently have a sasquatch 10.5 fujikura quadra action speeder stiff and it is going to high but a long way i want a more penatrating ball flight with more roll can you help me i hit about 250-260 help

  133. Mark G. Burmeister says:

    I am a low single handicap player who has always put too much spin on the ball with the driver to get maximum distance when using a tour quality golf ball. Enter the Cleveland HiBore XL tour 10.5 driver...problem solved. I purchased this head off the tour van. It was one of only 10 LH heads bearing a serial number beginning with the letter "T" and made for Steve Fleish. After trying several shafts, I settled on a Fujikura Speeder. I have been playing this driver for two years and have to say I have never hit any other club as straight and far, while still retaining workability. Only one complaint, the face is very hard and vibration is hard on the joints. Still, an amazing golf club!

  134. Sean Stratton says:

    I am a scratch player that has played the xl tour head 9.5 loft with the stock red fit on stiff flex shaft for over 2 years now. It is still in my bag and I have tried many other neutral and fade bias drivers. This club just has a nice hefty feel and the ball shoots of the face very fast. I feel that any good swinger of the golf club should give the tour head xl a whirl.

  135. tomahawktim says:

    Ain't it the truth, brothers? Ain't it the truth?

    The Hibore XL 8.5 with a gold fit-on stiff shaft is my FIRST metal wood. (FIRST as in the first I've ever carried in my bag)
    Late summer of 2009 I began playing the Cleveland as my go-to club.

    It has been a revelation.
    Long, long, long and straight.
    Want a fade? Adjust the set-up and voila...Fade.

    The Hibore XL has made golf fun for me.
    So much fun that I went out and found a brand new Hibore XL Tour 8.5 just for kicks.

    When the snow melts next spring.........Look out!

    Thank you, Cleveland. You have a new lifelong customer.

  136. Bill says:

    I was using the 2008 Black Taylormade 8.5*, my ball flight was very high with the Reax stock shaft, then got a used Cleveland Hi-Bore Xl Tour 9.5, Fuji-Red 65g Stiff 3.1Torq, and wow was my reaction. The 1st drive I hit with it was certainly 20 yards past anything the Taylormade had produced, maybe a bit more! And talk about workability, I can hit any shape I wish. This really is a great driver! One thing in addition, with a D-5 weighting (bottom of club feels a bit heavier than most) you can sweet swing and get incredible results. But, when you go for it, this gem has another gear waiting for you. Once you figure out the ball placement and swing plane just grip it and rip it...LoLoLoL It will be in the fairway and long! Remeber, swing your hands thru the ball and release from the top of the shaft.

  137. PingCat says:

    I have a 10.5 XL (regular) with an Aldila NV 65 Stiff cut to 45' and it just keeps finding its way back into my bag. Tried the Monster and I think the XLS and Monster heads feel like TOO MUCH technology - they feel like a big stiff rock at the end of the shaft. I'm a Ping guy and I just got a new G10 - which is a fabulous driver, but that's on the bench too now. I agree with Bill - you have to find the right ball placement in your stance and swing plane. But once you do, the head shape, combined with the sound it makes, and the way the ball just explodes off the club head make this driver just too fun, long and accurate to keep on the sideline. It's also easily the best looking HiBore model. I love the CG alignment aid. If you are thinking about trying a HiBore, this is by far the best of the 4 HiBore generations and the only one to try. The first one is too shallow, closed-faced, and ugly, with no CG alignment aid. My goodness but the XL is a fun to hit rocket launcher!

    But be aware that some of the right-handed 10.5 lofted models are non-conforming. There is a raised dot in the H of HiBore on the sole of teh illegal ones. I know because I had one. The difference is the COR is too high - .860 (legal max is .830). I could actually feel the difference in the spring effect so if you're ok with bending the rules, go find one cuz that's the club for you.

  138. Bobby says:

    Just traded for this club. Went on line for a good review and got a great one thanks.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.