TheSandTrap.com  ›  Blog

Isabelle Beisiegel To Try PGA Q-School

Oct. 18, 2004     By     Comments (0)

Isabelle Beisiegel will attempt to qualify for the PGA Tour.

Isabelle BeisiegelAfter just one season on the LPGA tour, Isabelle Beisiegel is ready to try the PGA tour. She has paid the $4,500 entry fee for the PGA Tour qualifying tournament that starts October 19th on the Greg Norman course at PGA West in La Quinta, CA.

Don't get your hopes up, however. Isabelle tried to qualify for both the Nissan Open and the Buick Invitational this year, but didn't even come close.

Get all the juicy stats and other details in the AP report.

Posted in: LPGA Comments (0)

HSBC World Matchplay – Round up

Oct. 18, 2004     By     Comments (0)

Ernie Els wins his 6th HSBC World Match Play Championship, along with the £1 million prize cheque on his 35th birthday.

Els with trophyErnie Els continued his amazing record in the HSBC World Match Play Championship with his 6th victory in the event. He beat Lee Westwood in the 36-hole final by 2&1, and in doing so eclipsed the record of five wins in the event previously held by himself, Seve Ballesteros and Gary Player.

Neither Els nor Westwood played their best golf in the final, but both players contributed to a tense and exciting match; such is the beauty of match play. Two down playing the 33rd hole, Westwood stiffed his approach shot to move within one of Els, but three-putt bogeyed the next to hand the advantage back to the South African. Els closed out the match in now typical fashion, holing a 15 footer to halve the 35th hole and take the match.

For the first in the event's history, the losing semi-finalists did not play off for 3rd and 4th places. Instead, the players were separated by a bad haircut competition, Jiménez's curly mullet narrowly beating Harrington's dodgy bleach.

Posted in: Other Comments (0)

Sweep the Driver

Oct. 18, 2004     By     Comments (0)

Woods and irons require different kinds of shots. Sweep your woods to become more effective.

The driver remains one of the most important clubs in the bag. Besides your putter, you probably hit your driver more than any other club in your bag. Unfortunately, your driver requires a slightly different swing than your irons. With the driver, you hit the ball while the clubhead is ascending. You "sweep" the ball off of the tee, while with the irons you hit down on the back of the ball.

Grouchy Golf has Swingvision shots of Ernie Els' hitting the driver and, for comparison, Tiger Woods hitting an iron. Notice how high on the clubface both shots are struck.

Oversize Balls

Oct. 18, 2004     By     Comments (0)

What ever happened to the Top-Flite Magna?

top_flite_magna.jpgWhat ever happened to the Top-Flite Magna? The oversized ball (1.74" instead of 1.68", if my memory is correct) was supposed to "roll smoother" on the greens and slice and hook less. Distance suffered a tad, I recall, simply due to the fact that the ball had to push more air out of the way. There were a few other oversize balls available as well, but the Magna was the leader out of the gates.

Nowadays, you can find the Magna for $10/dozen or less.

Posted in: Balls Comments (0)

Natalie Gulbis Shots

Oct. 18, 2004     By     Comments (1)

Natalie Gulbis has new photos in FHM if you're interested in that sort of thing.

Natalie Gulbis: the sexiest woman on the LPGA tour? To some. I'd take Laura Diaz any day of the week. Or Grace Park. Or… well, you get the idea. There's something about a female golfer that just seems to appeal to us.

If you're in the mood for female golfers in non-golf attire, visit Natalie Gulbis' FHM Covergirls page or her own site at nataliegulbis.com. Here's a teaser:

natalie_gulbis_swimsuit.jpg

Posted in: LPGA Comments (1)

Your Opponent’s Ball

Oct. 18, 2004     By     Comments (0)

Are you obligated to tell your opponent if you find his ball?

Your opponent hits the ball into the rough and can't find it. You stumble across the ball while looking for your own ball. Are you obligated to tell your opponent that you've found his ball, or is it "ok" to leave him in the dark, potentially costing him a lost-ball penalty?

The short answer: you're allowed to remain mute by the rules of golf, but it's a serious breach of etiquette to be such a jerk. Read more at about.com.

Posted in: Rules Comments (0)

Park Loses Samsung

Oct. 18, 2004     By     Comments (1)

Grace Park loses a three-stroke lead at the Samsung World Championship to none other than Annika Sorenstam.

annika_sorenstam.jpgAnnika Sorenstam captured the Samsung World Championship by three strokes over three-round leader Grace Park, who held a three-shot lead going into the final round. Sorenstam ended with a closing 67 to finish at 270 (-18) to Park's 73 (273, -15). Lorena Ochoa finished two strokes further back at 275 (-13).

Sorenstam birdied only one hole on the front nine, but hung around long enough for Park to blow up. Following a chip-in for eagle at the 15th, Sorenstam birdied 17 to take the lead and parred 18. Park parred 14, 15, and 16 and bogeyed 13, 17, and 18 to lose the tournament.

This victory marked Sorenstam's 54th career win and her sixth of the year. Se Ri Pak continued to suck it up, shooting a final-round 78 in the blustery conditions. This followed a third-round 80 and put her at +15 for the final score. Michelle Wie finished with a 70 and ended at -5 for the championship. Defending champion Sophie Gustafson finished with a 71 to stand alone in fourth with a 277, and Cristie Kerr, who played in the final group Sunday and who putted a ball 20 yards off the green during the round's 11th hole, shot a 75 to finish at 278, eight strokes behind Sorenstam.

Posted in: LPGA Comments (1)

Park Leads Samsung

Oct. 17, 2004     By     Comments (1)

Grace Park holds a three-stroke lead going into the final day of play at the Samsung World Championship.

grace_park.jpgGrace Park, despite a bogey on the last hole Saturday, leads the 20-player field at the Samsung World Championship by three strokes over fan favorite Cristie Kerr and the best female player in the world Annika Sorenstam. Mexican heroine Lorena Ochoa is one further back. One behind her: defending champion Sophie Gustafson, Hall-of-Famer Juli Inkster, and Catriona Matthew, who shot a first-round 64.

Grace Park grabbed the lead in the first round at Bighorn Golf Club and set a new 18-hole tournament record at 10-under 62. She shot a 5-under 67 on the second day to set a new 36-hole record and open a four-shot gap. Her 71 (-1) in round three slimmed the gap to three but again established a new tournament record at 200, previously established at 201 by her two closest trailers, Annika Sorenstam and Cristie Kerr, in 2002.

Posted in: LPGA Comments (1)

Putt with One Hand

Oct. 17, 2004     By     Comments (1)

Putting with one hand can improve the two aspects of putting.

Practice putting with one hand - your right or your left. You'll find that each hand is typically responsible for part of the putt. Your right hand typically controls distance and your left controls the swing path. If your distance control is suffering, putt with just your right hand. If your stroke is suffering, putt with just your left.

Page 310 of 325« First...102030...308309310311312...320...Last »