TheSandTrap.com  ›  Blog  ›  Review

Review

PGA Tour Live App Review

Aug. 23, 2015     By     Comments (1)

PGA Tour Live App 4
Last month the PGA TOUR released a new app called PGA TOUR LIVE. The app allows you to watch live coverage of two concurrent featured group pairings during morning competition prior to the start of the regularly scheduled television coverage. It is available for iOS and Android.

The app also offers live-streaming coverage from select holes after early-round group coverage has concluded, as well as on select weekends. In addition, the app includes video-on-demand content such as subscription-only highlights as well as feature and historical videos in an easy-to-access environment.

The Basics
PGA TOUR LIVE, a subscription-based digital platform service, debuted in the first round of the Quicken Loans National. It's available on desktop, iOS, and Android devices. Other devices like Smart TV will follow soon.

The coverage is be available first as a seven-day free subscription when you register. After that, the subscription costs $4.99 per month.

The only live golf streaming I've previously done has been during the Masters. The Sand Trap.com has partnered with the PGA TOUR LIVE team for the review and after a few days with PGA TOUR LIVE I experienced plenty of pros and a few cons. I reviewed this app based on my experiences with the iOS version on an iPhone 6 and a fourth-geneeration iPad.

Leupold PinCaddie 2 Laser Rangefinder Review

Aug. 13, 2015     By     Comments (4)

PinCaddie 2 HeroThe debate between GPS systems and laser rangefinders hasn't ended, and probably won't for some time. GPS is convenient for a quick glance, and the course mapping is nice, but I always feel a little dissatisfied whenever I use a GPS unit. The touchscreens are generally poor, the distances take a few precious seconds to update (particularly annoying when you're driving in a cart), and you're still at the whim and mercy of whoever mapped the course in the first place (not to mention GPS accuracy, cloud cover, etc.).

The GPS systems in use for golf simply cannot match the accuracy of a laser rangefinder, and I've yet to come across a GPS unit constructed as well as even an entry-level laser rangefinder. (And that's without mentioning smartphone app GPS systems, which I find virtually unusable due to the massive amounts of cellular data and battery they gobble up.)

Oh, and did I mention membership fees? What about battery charging? Or course data syncing?

TaylorMade AeroBurner Driver and 3 Wood Review

Aug. 10, 2015     By     Comments (5)

taylormade_aeroburner_driverTaylorMade's new Aeroburner Driver and AeroBurner Fairway Woods feature new advanced aerodynamic shapes with hosel fins creating a reduction in drag for faster swing speeds. The new Speed Pocket increases the size of the sweet spot and reduces spin for longer, more forgiving shots on off-center hits. A new raised crown with matte-white finish and alignment aid give a great overall look.

Callaway Big Bertha Alpha 815 Fairway Review

Aug. 2, 2015     By     Comments (4)

Callaway Big Bertha Alpha 815 Fairway Alt HeroFairway woods are some of my favorite clubs. I use my 3W off the tee for those times when I'm struggling off with the driver or just need a little more accuracy on a tighter hole. I used to have a 5W that I was able to hit a very reliable draw with, whether off the tee or on the ground. I had to stop playing the 5-wood when I discovered a hairline fracture in the shaft, but I still use my 3W at least four or five times in a round.

Because I depend on my 3W so much, picking the right replacement is very important to me. It needs to be easy to hit off the tee as well as off the deck, and it needs to be just as long as it should be. I don't need my 3W to go as far as my driver and I certainly don't need it if it's only good off the tee.

This is why I'm a big fan of Callaway's Big Bertha Alpha 815 Fairway. Its versatile design allows it to do everything I need out of a fairway wood, without being a one-trick pony. As one of the most adjustable fairway woods on the market, there are a large number of things you can do to optimize the flight characteristics of your ball and customize the club to your swing.

Earlier this year, I reviewed the Big Bertha Alpha 815 Driver and thought it was an excellent club. Its little brother is just as good. Read on to find out more.

Posted in: Clubs, Review Comments (4)

Nike Vapor Flex Driver Review

Jul. 29, 2015     By     Comments (1)

Nike Vapor Flex Driver HeroWhat do you want from a driver?

Distance? Check.

Adjustability? Check.

Great looks? Check.

The best sound and feel I've ever experienced? Check.

The Nike Vapor Flex driver reflects not what a driver should be, but what a driver can be. It's an insane concoction of technology that builds on the innovations Nike has brought to market over the past half-decade, all packaged into one sleek clubhead.

Amazingly, when you actually take it for a spin, it all seems to make sense. It's a better-player's club that, despite the lime green and wild esthetics, produces a muted sound and a boring trajectory.

Let's dive in.

Posted in: Clubs, Review Comments (1)

Mizuno MP-H5 Iron Review

Jul. 19, 2015     By     Comments (2)

Mizuno MPH5Mizuno Golf is a company long known for creating some of the games’ best irons. In particular, the MP series has an almost cult following for their sexy looks and buttery feel. In the past, the MP irons were reserved for only the games absolute best players, or at least they should have been, considering their small size and punishing nature. For those needing a bit more help than the MP series could offer, Mizuno offered the MX and, more recently, the JPX series of irons. While there is absolutely nothing wrong with those lines, they did lose some of the appeal of the sleeker MP irons. Recently, however, the line between MP and JPX has been blurred as the company has created more player friendly MP irons. A few years back now, the company debuted the MP-H4 irons, whose aim was to deliver the look and feel of an MP iron with unmatched forgiveness. I was lucky enough to be the one to review those irons, and I must say that I really liked them, and even made a hole-in-one with them. However, the increased forgiveness came with an increase in size that resulted in a look that wasn’t quite right. The company now has the successor to the MP-H4 in the MP-H5. The new set looks trimmed down from the previous version but still promises to deliver all of the forgiveness.

Posted in: Clubs, Review Comments (2)

Wilson D200 Driver Review

Jun. 30, 2015     By     Comments (6)

WilsonWilson has been around the golf industry for more than 50 years. During my introduction to the game all most guys would talk about were Wilson clubs. During the late nineties and early 2000's the brand lost its way a little. Very nearly fell off the map completely. In the last few years Wilson has made a comfortable home for itself just below the brands spending much more than itself on marketing but just above the bargain clubs. Now they are making a play to move up again into the higher end segment and spending more on marketing and club design.

So when I tell people that I am using a Wilson driver the first look is sort of precious. "Why?" is the typical question. I wanted to try the new Wilson D200 driver, to see how Wilson as a club making company was progressing. How would this driver stack up against many of the other drivers that flood the market today. I am particularly intrigued by this driver because it is priced just below the other high end driver on the market and I am always on the lookout for a good deal. I started this review hoping to answer the question can a club company with a great clubmaking history make a driver perform at a similar level to the other entrants to the market. Let's see if I could answer that question.

Posted in: Clubs, Review Comments (6)

Snell My Tour Ball Review

Jun. 8, 2015     By     Comments (9)

My Tour HeroWhile you may not know the name Dean Snell, there is a good chance you know the names of and have probably teed up the numerous golf balls he's helped design. After 25 years of experience in the golf industry, Dean Snell's name is on 38 golf ball patents. He was the designer or co-designer of some of the best performing and most popular golf balls in the industry. While working for Titleist, he was responsible for the ProV1/ProV1x, Tour Prestige, HP2 Tour, and HP2 Distance. After seven years with Titleist, he moved over to TaylorMade as the Vice President of Research and Development where he produced the TP Red LDP, TP Black LDP, Penta TP, Penta TP5, Lethal, Tour Preferred, Tour Preferred X, Burner, Noodle, RocketBallz and Project (a) golf balls. So when Dean Snell came out with his own golf ball, it caught our attention and these balls should definitely be on your radar.

The golf ball market is an interesting place right now. Titleist is obviously still top dog for the "tour" level golf ball with many great offerings from Bridgestone, Callaway, TaylorMade, and Srixon. But, the problem with these balls is that you're going to pay $44-48 for a premium tour-level performance. In the price-fixing world of golf equipment, all the premium level balls are priced similarly. That leaves the door open for competitors that don't have to pay the Tour players, can cut out the middle man, and sell their balls directly to the consumer. This is the mission of Snell Golf; to sell Tour-level performance golf balls directly to the golfer at an affordable price point. A Pro V1 for the masses. Interested? Too good to be true? Let's take a closer look.

Posted in: Balls, Review Comments (9)

PING G30 Driver Review

Jun. 8, 2015     By     Comments (7)

PING G30Over the last few years, PING drivers have been gaining more and more popularity. Part of that may be due to the fact that one of the longest players on the PGA Tour, Bubba Watson, is a member of their staff. Like many companies, PING has a couple of different driver lines, each aimed at a different group of golfers. While there have been options such as the Anser driver or the short lived K series, most of PING's products are either part of the "i" series or "G" series. The "i" series has typically been viewed as the line for the better player, while the "G" series is more for the weekend warrior. While some of that still holds true, the lines are becoming more and more blurred and it isn't uncommon to see the better player, including the likes of Bubba Watson, with the "G" series driver in the bag.

With the G30 driver, PING has their most radical product offering to date. Known more as a traditional company, it isn't often that their clubs have technology not seen on other clubs. The company was among the last to go to adjustable hosels as standard for their drivers, and even at this point there are other hosels that are much more advanced and allow for more settings. Also, you aren't going to find any movable or sliding weights on this club that will let you fine tune the club's center of gravity. What you will find, and what's not on any other driver currently available, are "Turbulators."

Read on to find out exactly what Turbulators are, how they work, and whether they lead to a driver that's worth putting into your bag.

Posted in: Clubs, Review Comments (7)
Page 1 of 3712345...102030...Last »