or Connect

Posts by ProfessorGAC

Thanks.  I found it.  I just didn't scroll down far enough.
I was around a little while here, but dropped away and kind of forgot to come back.   But, i remember liking this forum, so i'm back.   I'd like to edit my "What's in the bag" but i can't figure out how to edit sig line.  I've updated my profile, but would like to change the sig line because i do have different gear.   Thanks in advance.
I'm a technical manager for a chemical company.  Trained as a scientist.  Still "do" science on the job, but really manage the engineering team for a $300 million dollar plant.  Not an engineer though.  Trained more in theory and less in the practical.  I just know the practical now because i've been around forever.
While i've never had a hole in one, i've a whole bunch of eagles.  I believe it's up to 16.  Could be off by one, in either direction, but pretty sure that's right.   Some of them were pitches onto a par 5, so only 30 to 60 yards out.  Still luck, though.   My first was on a par 5 at the course i played at in junior high and highschool.  I was 15.  I remember it was the last year i couldn't drive myself to the course.   The shortest par 5 was about 480 or...
He's got to have one terrible accountant.  Top federal tax rate isn't even 40%.  Now at 10% CA taxes, and that being a deduction on federal returns, that's only 46%.  The largest part of payroll taxation is FICA and that maxes out at around $120k.  So, he doesn't pay any of that on the other $44.88 million.  That means his tax rate is around $8500 out of $45 million.  That's under two hundredths of a percent.  So, he has to pay both halves.  Now we're around 3 eightieths...