or Connect

Posts by Shanks A Million

Being a professional musician, I can relate.   I play all percussion, piano and orchestral percussion.  I was hired to my first post as the principal percussionist of a 70 piece symphony which was accompanying a 200 person choir and we were about to air live on national television in an hour.  We do a rehearsal before we play, and I had everything ready to go, and I had nabbed this huge pair of 20" heavy crash cymbals that must be 30 years old.   In the first runthrough,...
My hands are usually a few inches ahead of the ball at impact on video.  I tend to have a very long swing, parallel or past.  I'd have to check the videos of wedges specifically to see, but I hit every club high... really high.  I've never really lost distance because of it though.  I was hitting it lower, but I haven't really lost a single yard due to the change.
Haven't posted in a long time.  I have played well the past few years, got my handicap down around 5 or 6 and played pretty regularly, but recently, I lowered my swing plane more, made my hands deeper, etc.  I'm hitting all my clubs well, heck, I can pull out my driver and know for sure I'm going to hit it solid...  I'm hitting better than ever.   Here's the problem:   My two wedges, sand and lob, are incredibly unreliable.  I hit them shorter and often hit them...
Professional piano player, not guitar, but I've held up my end with a guitar here and there.  I've played for maybe a few thousand people and on some recordings.  I'm not "good" in my own view.  I have plenty of instruments, and all are good in some way, but that one just gives you that certain sound you're after.  I like the fact I can play some good James Harrah style or maybe a good Steve Lukather imitation.  Those guys, though, are good.
Rickie Fowler is a PGA tour player.  He has no wins.  That's all there is to say.  Other than that, he can do what he wants.  He is exactly equal to where the numbers say he should be.