or Connect

Posts by deekay

Hi all,   I play 9 holes at least 3 Sunday afternoons out of 4, and can go around my home course in a (strict rules) 41-43 for 9 pretty consistently.   However when some friends invite me to go and play on a course unfamiliar to me, it’s as if I cannot play at all. I battle to break 55! (per 9.) Fat shots, topping off the tee, duffed chips, etc. Not just bad shots, but embarrassing ones!   I can understand that course management is not so easy on an unfamiliar...
To the thread starter, I feel your pain! I am a weekend warrior. I love my golf, but fully acknowledge that I have WAY more enthusiasm than talent!   I started playing (9 holes once a week) about 5 years ago, and spent the first 2 years just hacking my way around, wondering if I would ever be able to play this game. I did eventually get better, but my progress did not come in a gradual curve; it came in a series of steps. It is these steps I want to share and hear any...
This thread seems to be all about scoring. But I would like to take another approach.   It’s the “click” of a sweetly struck shot, and watching it soar down the fairway straight towards where I was aiming, which makes me feel that I CAN actually play this game. Those are the shots which bring me back to the course again and again, and not the 15 yard chip which occasionally happens to stop right beside the hole.   The opposite is also true. For me, a poor chip (or...
For what its worth, the way I cured my driver slice was to leave it in the bag. I finally took the advice I read somewhere that a beginner should never use a club with a loft lower than his handicap!   Seriously though, my enjoyment of the game grew in leaps and bounds when I finally came to terms with the fact that I am not a scratch golfer, and so I should stop trying to play the course like one. I had no business expecting to hit the green of a 400 yard par 4 in 2...