or Connect
New Posts  All Forums:

Posts by Rulesman

It only appears twice. In addition the to part I quoted earlier: "the System disregards high scores that bear little relation to the player's potential ability " it also says: "It reflects the player's potential because it is based upon the best handicap differentials posted for a given number of rounds, ideally the best 10 of the last 20 rounds."
USGA Handicap Manual   The purpose of the USGA Handicap System is to make the game of golf more enjoyable by enabling players of differing abilities to compete on an equitable basis. The System provides a fair Course Handicap for each player, regardless of ability, and adjusts a player's Handicap Index up or down as the player's game changes. At the same time, the System disregards high scores that bear little relation to the player's potential ability and promotes...
 http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-of-amateur-status.html#!appendix An extract from the link above. Acceptable Forms of GamblingThere is no objection to informal gambling or wagering among individual golfers or teams of golfers when it is incidental to the game. It is not practicable to define informal gambling or wagering precisely, but features that would be consistent with such gambling or wagering include:the players in general know each other; participation in the...
In that case, as was said above, that second ball was the ball in play. It then gets complicated. If he continued with that ball (and disregarded the original) not only would he have incurred a 2 stroke wrong place penalty, it would almost certainly to have been a serious breach and subject to DQ. If, on finding the original, he continued with that one, he would have incorrectly substituted a ball and played from a wrong place with a 2 stroke penalty. However, he would...
If Ron had gone forward some distance (I assume the drop was) and then went back to the tee, the ball he played as a provisional was in fact his ball in play.   If however, he had only taken a few steps forward, then as his original was found and he hadn't yet played his provisional again from nearer the hole, then the original was still the ball in play.    But we need more information about his walk towards the drop zone.
 Possibly or even probably. You should have dropped within one club length of the nearest point of relief (not nearer the hole).Depending on where your ball lay, this may have been to one side or the other. But in this case where you played from may well have satisfied that requirement.
Loophole   :an ambiguity or omission in the text through which the intent of a statute, contract, or obligation may be evaded.
http://www.golfchann...-penalty-no-17/    
19-3 is very clear BUT it is the wrong rule. 19-4 is the one you want as it is strokeplay. The other player was not an Opponent but a Fellow Competitor. Rule 19-4 points you to Rule 19-1 which says you play it as it lies.
 My words added in red..  24-2b/17 Obstruction Interferes with Abnormal Stroke; Abnormal Stroke Reasonable in CircumstancesQ.A right-handed player's ball is so close to a boundary fence on the left of a hole that the player, in order to play towards the hole, must play left-handed. In making a left-handed stroke, the player's backswing would be interfered with by an immovable obstruction or the player's stance would be interfered with by the path. Is the player entitled to...
New Posts  All Forums: