or Connect

Posts by Effington

Thanks for the articulate reply.   Here's another (similar) episode that I'm having trouble understanding:   Went to the driving range, with the goal of getting solid contact on shortened swings, and working on making sure I am not leaning backwards at the end of my swing.   After a couple warm-up swings that aren't terrible, the next 5-10 shots get progressively worse until I'm topping them again. I continue to top/shank shots for the better part of an hour....
Hey guys,   I'm in my second year of playing the game now, and am looking for some insight from anyone who has played the game longer than me, no matter at what level.   I seem to have experienced some fairly dramatic changes in my ability in a very short period of time. Most recently, I went out on an executive par 62 course, and shot roughly in the high 80's, which would be probably my best round of golf so far. Consistently solid contact in the middle of my...
To answer the OP's question, it depends on what population you're considering.   I often go to the local driving range and no one can hit the ball over 150 yards...over half of them can barely get the ball in the air.  I've played a par-3 course where I shot +20 on 9 holes and it looked like I was the best player on the course.   Overall, I'd say a very small percentage of players legitimately break 100.
In your situation, I'd probably remind your friend that he didn't really have a better round than you.  However, it's not really important and nothing to lose friends over.   Golf is a hard game, and every body lies about their score.  If you are betting on the winner, though, you both need to be scored in the same manner.