or Connect
New Posts  All Forums:

Posts by stangmark

When you found your opponents ball interfering with your stroke, you should have requested that the opponent mark their ball and remove it.  If you honestly didn't think the ball would interfere and did not intentionally try to alter your opponents lie, there is no penalty.  Your opponent should try and place his ball on or as near the original lie as possible, and in a bunker or hazard, recreate the lie as accurately as possible; whether it be plugged, embedded, or...
You get free relief from animal burrows.  
The rules require free relief from a foreign putting surface, no closer to the whole.  
For USGA card scoring purposes, local rules supersede USGA rules, and you should know your local rules.  The course I'm a member at is littered with protected trees---it is a local rule requirement, not an option, that players take free relief of one club length from all trees on the course.  So you must use that drop zone, whether you agree with it or not.  
It is a penalty to damage, bend, break or otherwise purposely alter any part of the course; except while taking a swing with the intention of striking the ball.  It is also a penalty to improve your stance by altering the surface area.  And it is a penalty to use any other ball or object for the purpose of a practice shot while playing through the green.  So if your stance places you in a hazard, proceed with care.  If you scrub your feet back and forth vigorously so as...
Re-hit from the original lie, drop on your line anywhere behind the first hazard crossed, or drop two club lengths perpendicular to the line and behind the first hazard encountered.  Any of the three with an added stroke.  To save time, you may take your relief and declare the second ball a provisional before you honestly search up to five minutes for the first ball---if you find your first ball the provisional is no longer in play.  
In order, the easiest way to decide is lie, swing, stance.  If the lie puts you in a position which you would normally deem unplayable, you have deemed the ball unplayable regardless of stance.  In other words, if the cart path wasn't there, what would you honestly normally do?  
Mark, clean (if you like), and place the ball as near to the original lie as possible, without advancing the ball nearer to the hole; without penalty.  The USGA has extended the playing area to include all other areas not designated a hazard or impeded by the intended design of the course (i.e brush, etc.).  If you had been on the green, you would mark, lift, clean and place as near to the pitch mark as possible (to the side, not behind) and repair the damage after...
It is likely a local rule, posted on the course, or even your card, to repair/replace all divots made, as best you are able---so you can do that before re-hitting.  You are also not required to place your ball in an area of the course that has been altered or damaged (however, if the ball in play comes to rest in a divot or other damaged area not designated ground under repair, play it as it lies---a drop or placement is not a ball in play until it comes to rest, and if...
You may tee up any ball played from your designated tee area, whether it is the first or third, between the markers, not forward of the markers and no more than two clubs behind.  When re-hitting from a designated drop area, you are only required to re-hit from anywhere in that area, not the exact same spot.  For example, if you hit just short of the green and the ball rolled back into the water, and you had teed back on your first tee shot, you could move forward and or...
New Posts  All Forums: