or Connect

Posts by metrybill

Really.  tell us who   Really?  Tell Us any Great player whom Tiger has climbed over on Sunday.  His red, Sunday shirt is a sham.  If he is not ahead by Saturday, he doesn't win. By My count the Tigger is totally irrelevant on Sunday, unless he is already in the lead. He is like ....., looks good but smells bad.  Hogan, Hagen, Nicklaus, Palmer, Player, Casper, would own this guy.   .
I hope to give all of you some food for thought and welcome your critical comments. Keep in mind that I am not an expert, just an avid golfer and love the topic.    When all is said and done, I think the microscopically short list of the best ever in the "modern" era should be in alphabetical order: Ben Hogan, Bobby Jones (in a different category), Jack Nicklaus, and Tiger Woods,(Before them, including Walter Hagen,we have an entirely different topic.)   At 38...
I like this format.    Q: What am I working on? A. Solid, ball first contact with irons. Hit the little ball before the big ball. Turn the upper body, back turned to the target, elbows "feel" level, but the left elbow is probably above the right elbow.  Then separate the lower body motion from the upper body reaction to that.  Lower body must lead the downswing.; the upper body reacts.   Q:  Why am I working on this? A.  Ball first contact is THE key to better or...
I play in the deep South, lots of tight, bare and very wet lies,esp. green side.  Try this short game (40 yds. or less) technique with practice only, a technique which I learned from a former Ryder-Walker player of long ago, now deceased.  This is only to be "attempted" in extreme circumstances, no other standard options, really bad lies, match play,yips, cuppy, etc.  Much to my surprise, I have seen a couple of PGA pros practicing this at the Zurich Classic in NOLA at the...