or Connect

Posts by rkim291968

You may be right about perception vs real result.  I haven't really recorded any of the data.  I "feel"  85 for me is a full wedge shot I can repeat easily.   40 - 70 yards are partial shot that I don't feel I have a consistent swing for each of 40, 60, 70 yards.   Next time, I will see how much I actually miss them by.   What I know for sure is that I feel more confident with 85 yard approach shot than the others.  
 Not many but I have one that applies to me.  I am not good at shots for 40 - 70 yards range.   I'd rather be at 85 yards to the green than trying to land it close from 40 to 70 yards.  
  Exactly.   We get into circles and "hard" discussions when people make absolute statements and try to defend it.  
It's easier to make a free throw in basketball if one is standing two feet away from the basket.   It's easier to make good on penalty kick if one is shooting from 5 yards away.  It's easier ....     Back to the OP folks.  The question is really on how important is distance for amateur golfers.   How important is it for you now?  
 I agree with much of your post except for the last line.You are assuming a golfer who suddenly added 30 yards to his distance will use the same previous clubs for every shot.  30 yards added distance means a golfer can play with easier club (2 - 3 lengths less, e.g, 6 iron instead of 3 for long approach shot) for every shot before he suddenly added 30 yards to his club distance. There is no argument against added distance improving golf.   The OP's question is really on...