or Connect

Posts by RH31

Interesting to hear the great Jack Nicklaus comment during the Honda classic. "" As players were contemplating whether or not to go for it in two on a Par 5, can't remember which one, Jack said something like.."if you can pull it off 9 out of 10 times and the 10th isn't too bad then go for it. If you can't do that, don't try it."
Many years ago, I was able to shoot mostly in the 70's. I had been playing golf for about 10 years and had worked my way down to 8ish handicap. At that time I could break 80 occasionally. I always struggled with consistent ball flight. I tried to hit it straight or draw it. One day, while slapping it sideways on the range, I decided that since I had problems clearing my left side, I'd just start with it out the way to begin with. So, I opened my stance and swung the club...
I replay every round in my mind on the way home from the course. Playable drives, GIRs, up and downs, the whole bit.   I can remember some really good and really bad shots that I hit up to about 20 years ago.
I have a 19* 3Hybrid that I carry about the same distance as the 20* 5 wood I used to hit (200-210). My 4hybrid at 22* carries around 190.
It's the Driver for me. If I can keep my drives in play, I'm usually going to play to my handicap or better.
There have been a few really good players that I've played with over the years that I guess I never saw on the practice green. I'm an inconsistent player with every club, so I need the reps with my putter. I've got to add a lot of range time to my agenda to get it near the 65% mark....