or Connect

Posts by jas72

Totally in agreement with your last statement. Range time will give you the distances. I can just hear the announcers now:  "What did he just hit into the 8th green there, Roger?"  "Gary, it looks like it was a 37°." 
Maybe so.  I have no idea if my 5-iron is 28° or 31°.  I have heard, though, that there is no industry standard and there has been a gradual change over the last decade or so.  Lofts have decreased somewhat from the 60s and 70s so companies can tout that their irons are longer.  I have been playing for over 40 years and can normally tell just by looking what iron someone has in their hands. Not so any more.  I'll see a pro hit a 7-iron on TV that I'd almost bet was a...
My thoughts exactly.  I play Hogan PCs, and love the thin top line at address and of course they have only numbers on them.  I have an idea that they made a mistake in not going with the traditional numbering system.  I also play Taylor Made fairway woods and they have the loft as well as the normal 3 and 5 designations.  Now, if Hogan had put the traditional numbers but also the loft, that would have been OK, but I don't think the majority of us care what the lofts of our...
What was that Kostis just said?  Something about Rory doesn't curve it on the way up?  The ball starts its spin as soon as the clubhead makes contact.  It is totally out of Rory's control after that.  
We golfers are such creatures of habit.  As I watched the replay of the tee shot and his obvious pain as he was slowly starting to walk toward the fairway, here's a guy who is nearly (or maybe is) a billionaire, reaching down to pick up his tee!  Not once did it seem to even cross his mind that it was going to hurt or this tee is worth just a few cents and I don't need it any more today, he just reflexively reaches down and picks it up.  Amazing.