or Connect

Posts by RandyBobbitt

I started playing at 14. It took me about three months (20 rounds) to break 100, another year to break 90, and in my third year I broke 80 (enough to be a decent high school golfer). I've been a high 70s-low 80s golfer ever since (40 years). I've rarely shot lower than 77 on a consistent basis except for one summer, about 10 years ago, when I was between jobs and either played or practiced almost every day. I got down to a 2.6 index and shot consistently between 72 and...
OMG, I forgot to include my favorite golf shopping story from about 10 years ago. I bought an old carry bag at a one-day charity rummage sale. I knew it would hold only about 6 clubs, but I bought it for trips to the driving range when I didn't want to carry my whole bag. I paid $5 for it, and when I got home and checked the pockets, I found 6 brand new Titleists and a plastic bag holding 8 dollars worth of quarters. 
I don't go to flea markets, but I do check out the golf sections at local thrift stores. I'm usually looking for carry/stand bags -- I'm rough on bags so I buy used ones for $5 to $10 that will usually last me 6 to 12 months. I also prefer the older style single-strap bags (can't stand the double-straps). The single-strappers are hard to find new but are plentiful on the used-ebay-thrift store market.   From time to time I'll also find a gem among the old clubs. Last...
I was a tournament volunteer a few years ago and Natalie was one of the players in my group. My opinion of her changed 180 degrees after that experience. I thought she was a snob before, but I realized during that round how genuinely nice she was and how great she was with the fans, especially kids. As for looks, she's attractive but not the bombshell like everyone says. About the makeup -- way too thick. I noticed that after just a few holes her shirt collars were covered...