or Connect

Posts by sgt1372

Like I said, I'm a newbie.  Not only to golf but to The Sand Trap.  So, forgive me for not being aware of The Dan Plan thread. 
There's the 10,000 hour rule which says that it takes 10,000 hours (roughly 5 years of 8 hr/day 5 day/week practice/training) to achieve mastery of any skill.    There's someone on the Net who has been trying to become a pro-level golfer using this guideline but he still hasn't achieved pro ranking yet after 4 years and around 5500 hours of playing golf.  His 10,000 hour deadline is currently set for December 2016.  Check out The Dan Plan at:...
Just a week ago, the PGA pro I'm taking lessons from gave me a tip on how to hit the driver from inside/out instead of outside/in just using a couple of baskets on the ground. In order to avoid hitting the baskets, I had to keep my arms closer to my body and rotate my hips more during my swing and, since then, I've been hitting the ball straight or left w/a slight draw more often than w/a slice/fade.  Still have a few mishits but they are starting to go away too.  Using...
From what I've seen so far on GC, there's not much to discuss about in that regard either.  As for the proposed relaxed rules, I guess it is kind of odd to suggest a set of rules to obey if you don't want to play by THE RULES.  As a newbie, who is just learning how to hit the ball straight, the official PGA rules are pretty irrelevant.  The relaxed rules make sense for the non-pro/tournament/league player (like me) who is just out to have FUN on the golf course.  Worrying...
Newbie here.  I've got an old Northwestern "Tom Weiskopf" 309 wide flange putter that I've had for years (not sure where I got it), which is currently selling for $15-20 on eBay.  Recently bought a used Odyssey Backstryke Marxman mallet putter for $50 that I thought would help me putt better, but I actually like the feel/accuracy of the Northwestern better.    Go figure.  LOL!