IGNORED

Matching Driver and Woods?

Note: This thread is 5836 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm new to buying clubs and am wondering if it is necessary to buy the same type of fairway woods as your driver? For example, would I be alright using a TaylorMade r7 Draw Driver along with Callaway Big Bertha fairway woods? Does it matter if the brands are the same with different clubs, or does it not make a difference at all?

If you hit them both well play whatever you like!
I personally prefer matching woods, just cause I like the asthetics of it.

...the world is full of people happy to tell you that your dreams are unrealistic, that you don't have the talent to realize them. - Bob Rotella

Driver - Taylormade R1.
Fairway - Taylormade R9 15º.
Hybrid - A3OS 3 Hybrid.

Irons - Cast CCI 4-AW.

Wedge - SV Tour 56º wedge.

like ive said a million times before... Actually playing is only a bonus part of the game... Equipment is where its at!!!

Buy like 4 different bag arrangements. God I need more clubs.

I'd recommend considering different manufacturers. For example, I love Titleist drivers and can't imagine playing anything else. The aesthetics feel and playability are great for me. But, their fairway woods were a little to challenging and my V steel 3 wood is the best club in my bag. I agree with the other post. There are too many clubs and not enough time to test them all. Although, if you're just starting out and this is your first big set then I wouldn't worry about it too much for now.

Driver:Titleist 905T 10.5, Aldila NV 65S
Fairway: Titleist 906f2 18, Aldila NV 75S
Hybrid: Titleist 585H 21, Aldila NV85S
Irons: Titleist 735, DG R300
Wedges: Titleist Vokey 52, 56, 60 DG S200Putter: Odyssey White Hot Tour #8