IGNORED

Beginner golf clubs - is there much difference?

Note: This thread is 5840 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

For starters (fair warning), I am COMPLETELY new to the game. I don't know very much about golfing, aside from the basics. I have made ~5 trips to the driving range, and I am hooked already.

I have been looking around online at various sets of beginner clubs. I see that they range from $150 to $300ish for what seems to be the cheap stuff. Is there much of a difference between a ? I don't want to spend a ton of money, because I am a college student. I also am a very much a beginner, and I don't want to spend a lot of money to become uninterested.

Can some of you experienced players please offer some advice for a 20 year old guy wanting to get into the sport?

Here is a link to an intriguing set , or would it be worth it to come up with the extra money for something like this Wilson set?

to get started in the game, just pick up some clubs and start learning the swing. either one of those sets youre looking at would probably work fine. at this point, dont worry about clubs so much, but more about practice. you will notice a difference in clubs later on down the road, but not so much right now. if its possible to try out some different clubs, definately do so.
Sticks
driver- X460 tour 9.5 Aldila NVS 75
irons- X-forged 3-PW TT BlackGold stiff
wedges- x-tour vintage 52, 56, 60
hybrid- FT-hybrid #2 17* putter- Sophia 33" "If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough."_Mario Andretti

You should buy the easy cheap stuff in the beginning. Almost always they are more forgiving. Don't buy anything expensive, in case you shouldn't like it you can always return it, but still. The easy, cheap stuff is far enough =)