IGNORED

New Irons For a 7 Hdcp...

Note: This thread is 5796 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am looking for a set of new irons, so I have been demo-ing several clubs over the last week. I have been playing TM OS-2's for about 2 years now, and I have lowered my handicap from 14 to 7. I want to get a set with less offset, cavity back, (definitley not a blade), so I have been looking at TM Tour Burners, R-7 TP's and similar sets by other companies. The guys at my local Edwin Watts store told me that it doesn't matter if you pick Callaway, Ping, TM...whichever, because they are all about the same in quality. They said to pick the set that looks good to my eye, and then have them fit to my swing.

Do you think that is pretty much true? Would Ping I-5's, R-7 TP's and Titleist AP-2's all be pretty similar since they are all in the same category of irons? Is it really all about the custom fitting? Also, I love the look of the Mizuno MP 57's, but are they meant for a lower handicap player?

Go to a demo day and hit em all. You will be surprised that the ones you wanted may not feel as good as the ones you just hit cause they were there.

What I play:
Driver: FTi Tour LCG Matrix Xcon 6
3 Wood: Sonartac SS03 *14
Hybrid: FT Hybrid *18
Hybrid: Rescue Mid 22*Irons: 5-PW i10, Project X 5.5Wedges 52, 56, 60Putter:i Black #9Ball: Tour ix

There is more to it than just a name brand. Do you want forged or cast clubs? What type of cavity back are you looking for? A full, more forgiving or a slightly smaller CB? There are a lot of variables. My suggestion to you is write down exactly what you want and then test the different types.

From experience, a good, cavity back with a thinner topline, somewhat forgiving and workable is the Titleist 690CB. You can find a set for a few hundred bucks, too.