IGNORED

I am apparently the only one with this problem...(Driver Spin)

Note: This thread is 5411 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I often read about players wishing to reduce their spin off the tee to avoid those balooning shots, etc, etc. I have the complete opposite problem: I cannot spin a driver enough. I work as a club fitter, among other golf related things, and routinely jump on the launch monitor to test myself but every time I get the same old song and dance: My spin is way too low.

When I hit a driver, any driver, my ball gets up quick, flattens out, then dives towards earth like it just hit a bird mid flight, rolling the rest of the way. I hit none of my other woods in this fashion. My 906F4 has a beautiful boring mid flight. Same with my hybrids and through my irons. I currently play a Titleist 907D1 9.5* (also tried a 10.5), which has seen a plethora of shafts in it. YS-6+, NV, NVS, Prolaunch, etc. No shaft I try helps.

My numbers are as follows:
SS: 97-101 mph
BV: 145-155 mph
Launch angle: Typically 2* too high
Spin: Typically 300+ rpm low

I've tried various balls, and even changed my swing, to no avail. Does anybody have an idea on how I can achieve a more boring trajectory that gradually rises to its peak altitude towards the end of its flight?

The only combo I haven't tried yet is a high lofted driver head coupled with a high kick shaft. Theory being the loft would add spin and the high kick would keep flight from being too high.