IGNORED

Using a rangefinder / GPS

Note: This thread is 5606 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Everyone,

I am getting a rangefinder for Christmas this year the Leupold GX-I, mostly due to all the good info on this site.

This opens Pandora's box as I am an Engineer and tech always captures my interest, even when it is only marginally useful.

A few of the courses that I play are very poorly marked and about a dozen times per round I find myself wondering what the distance is to the green. It seems that in these cases a GPS would make more sense as a quick glance would get me what I am looking for within the accuracy that I need.

I really have been focusing on the short game though so I think the higher accuracy rangefinder makes sense for those <100 yard shots.

I just don't want to become one of "those guys" who holds things up using the rangefinder all the time. I realize that I normally have a moment or two while waiting for others in the group to shoot which is the ideal time to take distance.

Just looking for some ettiquette / common usage on the rangefinders and if they are predominatly more usefull near the green or if when a course is not marked well is it a chore to find distance from the pin?

Thanks,
-E

In my Grom bag:

Driver........... Burner 9.5* S-Flex
3-Wood......... Burner 15* S-Flex
5-Wood......... Ovation 18* S-FlexIrons............. Pro Combos 3,5-PW Rifle 6.0Wedges......... CG12 52.10, 56.14, 60.10Putter............ 33" VP1 Milled PutterBall................ e6+ or B330-SRangefinder.....

Eyeball the distance and take a few possibly appropriate clubs to the ball along with the rangefinder. It's a quick process to get a read and then choose a club. It won't slow you down, don't worry.

Driver: Nike Ignite 10.5 w/ Fujikura Motore F1
2H: King Cobra
4H: Nickent 4DX
5H: Adams A3