IGNORED

Best score after playing for one year

jermzkill
Note: This thread is 3505 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I want to know how bad or good you guys were the first year you started playing (if you can remember)... I just want to see how bad/good I am compared to others... on 18 I score/average 105 - 110 strokes, I still haven't broke 100.

I started playing on a real course maybe 6 months ago. I've been driving/putting/pitching for about a year.
Driver: 3dx driver 10.5*
Irons: 3dx hybrid irons 5-P
Iron: X-14 3 iron
Wood: MT 4wood 16.5*
Wedge: Lob 60*Putter: White Hot 2-ballBag: Xtreme Sport Stand Bag

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

On my fisrt year I believe I broke 100... but for me was really hard.

Greetings!

Driver: 905R 9.5° (UST Proforce V2 Stiff) | Fairway: 906F2 15° (UST Proforce V2 Stiff) | Hybrid: 585.H 21° (S300) | Irons: AP2 4-PW (Project X 6.0) | Wedges: Vokey Design 52.08, 56.11 & 60.11  | Putter: Studio Select Newport 2 

www.flickr.com/avm_photo

I remember that it took me three years to break 90. I started off shooting 115-125.

My advice
Practice short game, chipping, putting, and bunker play 75% of time. This develops the feel and tempo of the golf swing. Keep the driver and 3 wood at home until you can hit 5 wood or irons into fairway most of the time. Play par 3 courses to develop short game as much as possible. Play from the front tees if playing 18.

Get a short game lesson, work on flexibility. Get a grip, stance, ball position lesson. Get fitted for clubs.

Long game will develop naturally as short game improves. see my simple swing thoughts for the long game thread.

DO NOT read every instruction tip you can get your hands on