IGNORED

Going off as a single

Carolinahooker
Note: This thread is 5463 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Dumb question alert...

I have been playing golf for many years but I have always played with friends. I am now in a situation where I have to go to the course by myself or not play at all.

If I just show up at a course, will they wedge me in with another two-some or three-some? Should I call ahead of time? What is the protocol for something like this?

Any input would be much appreciated.

x18 S-4
Lob wedge
Hybore 3 wood
R7 Driver
Shark Head putter (love that old thing)

I play as a single often and it's very easy, probably the easiest really.

The only time it won't work well are prime times such as weekend mornings or holidays because they will have a stack of foursomes. If you go out other than those times you will get on the course very quickly. Even during prime time you can get out it's just less likely.

I've made friends being paired up with random golfers and had some great experiences.

You'll have some rough ones too though, like the time I was paired with a woman that was playing from the men's tees on a pretty tough course. The starter knew her and said 'she's a great player', I shit you not she shot 120+. Didn't get past the Ladies tees on numerous drives. And she never once gave in, f'ing beyotch.

It never hurts to call ahead though.

Driver - TaylorMade R7 425
3-Wood - Callaway Original Steelhead
Irons - Ben Hogan 3-PW Apex FTX, Rifle 6.5
Wedges - Titleist Vokey 52, 56, and 60
Putter - Scotty 2004 Newport Beach 1.5

When when I golf with my buddy we usually get paired up with two other singles or something to that affect. I guess a big factor is when and where you play though.