IGNORED

Can a driver head go dead over time?

laxbballgolf
Note: This thread is 2426 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Is it possible for a driver head to "go dead" after a certain amount of normal use?

I have been using the same G5 driver head for about 3 years and it has gotten a good amount of use. Just today, the thought crept into my head that maybe the driver head is a little bit "dead" or off by now.

I think (I hope) I was just hitting the driver poorly today, but the sound and feeling was consistently "clank" more so than it has ever been before. Even when I came close to the sweet spot, the sound and feel just wasn't the same great sensation I used to enjoy. There wasn't much noticeable change in distance, but the ball flight seemed a little weaker, as well. I know it's not a problem with the shaft because it has been replaced fairly recently and has been working out extremely well.

Again, I hope I was just hitting it poorly, and it could just be my imagination. I am going to head to the range soon to check it out more, but I was wondering if I could get some input from you guys.

Does a driver head ever simply wear out over time?
Scott T

G5 9° V2 75 X / 909F2 15.5° V2 85 X / 909H 19° V2 100 X / MP-33 #3-PW X100 / X-Forged Chrome 54.15 60.10 X100 / FGP Black 34" / Penta TP

Handicap is a guess because I haven't established one yet.Best score so far is a 71 on a 6,509 yard 70.3/121 par 72 muni, during a glorious...

I read some where that the performance of the Driver ( spring effect of the Ti Face ) will start to worsen after 5000 hits.

I might be wrong .
What I Play: