IGNORED

Cant cure my slice, help (Video)

Note: This thread is 5436 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey Everyone!

I am relatively new to golf and am having an awful time battling a slice with ym driver. My irons, especially the short irons, go relatively straight. However, I notice that the divot is usually pointing to the left of the target. This leads me to believe that I have and outside-to-inside swing path.

Can you take a quick look at this video and let me know what I am doing to cause my slice? Any tips or drills to fix my swing would be greatly appreciated!

http://www.swingacademy.com/swingana...l.aspx?id=3211

Thanks,
cbr

For your stance I would put your weight more on the balls of your feet instead of your heels, but when you do so make sure you keep your hips back. I like to think of my stance as a "power stance".

Also it looks to me like you are dropping your right shoulder too early, which results in your club face opening. I'm no expert, still learning my self in fact, it could help.

Your arms are starting the downswing. Try to start the downswing with your hips. You have hardly any lower body rotation at the moment.

- Joel

TM M3 10.5 | TM M3 17 | Adams A12 3-4 hybrid | Mizuno JPX 919 Tour 5-PW

Vokey 50/54/60 | Odyssey Stroke Lab 7s | Bridgestone Tour B XS

Home Courses - Willow Run & Bakker Crossing

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Based on what I have seen in your video, you are addressing the ball to closely. The reason you are slicing the ball is because you are "pulling your arms in".. in other words, coming from out to in.

I have the same problem sometimes with my driver, fairway woods, and long irons resulting in a power fade. There are many ways to fix this, but first try changing the way you address the ball - not your swing!