• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
TheNatural

Player Hits Water, Gets Birdie

22 posts in this topic

Situation is a Par 3 with water on the hole.

Player hits the water and still scores a birdie.

How is this possible?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

It is only possible if the ball is not lost in the water (skips out or can be played from the water). Otherwise, the drop after the lost ball is stroke 2 and the next hit is stroke 3, eliminating birdie possibility.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Situation is a Par 3 with water on the hole.

no handicap adjustment right?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay...handicap adjustment for a net birdie is possible, but I thought we were talking natural strokes.
Riddle me this.... just kidding.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Only a two possibilities (assuming it stayed in the water):
1) He hits it out of the water.
2) He keeps score like my neighbor.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would have to applaud the man for holing a shot out of the water!!!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Key phrase


ball hits water...

yes a skip and resulting birdie in this equation,,,didnt think of the hc.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As long as the ball doesn't go into the water and gets lost, it doesn't matter what happens to it. You can skip it 15 times across as long as it stops somewhere so you can hit it again, there is no penalty.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

skipping the ball off the water, playing out of the water, doing either and just getting par would be pretty amazing..... but then again I applaud people for just playing in the rain.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Key phrase

You actually wrote 'Player hits water...' ......

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hits water going for green on par five with his second shot. Takes drop, adds penalty, holes the shot. Birdie.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In theory it could also happen in match play.

If the player played from the wrong tee or out of order, the opponent could make them replay the shot.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hits water going for green on par five with his second shot. Takes drop, adds penalty, holes the shot. Birdie.

True, but the question did state par 3.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've actually accomplished that very feat.

I skulled an 8 iron, the ball skipped across the lake and onto the green to about 15 feet. I made the putt.

My buddy was like WTF was that?!?!?!?!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Situation is a Par 3 with water on the hole.

Another possiblility: you said "player hits water". That could mean he himself fell in the hazard on the shot, but the ball landed on the green and where he subsequently one putted it for birdie.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had a shot yesterday to make a birdie (with a chip in) or a par yesterday after skipping a ball across some water. It was a Par 5 - hit a drive with way too much air under it into the wind. Over the forced carry, but not by much. In the rough, uphill lie, pop up a 3H about 160 yards that ended up about 8 yards behind a tree that is in the middle of the fairway, about 145 yards from the hole. Attempt to use my 3H to hit a punch slice and run it up to the green from the right side because there is a trap in the left front of the green. I don't cut the ball nearly enough, and it goes dead straight and skips across the water that borders the left side of the hole, and jumps out and ends up about 6 feet off the green -

of course, I failed to get up and down, but I still had a chance!


the hole in question

http://www2.cybergolf.com/sites/cour...434&page;=26983
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • Ball likely in casual water but uncertain
      You're exactly right. At first I meant we were told to re tee if we could not find it, meaning unplayable stroke and distance, same as a lost ball but obviously you must call the correct penalty. But that makes no sense because it would just be a free drop if certain the ball was in. But what ACTUALLY occured was because of the cold and forecast of pouring rain (which happened) they made an odd rule where we could re tee without penalty if we saw the ball go in. So I did not do the free re tee, which someone in the group did a few holes before, beause we were not sure, AND we didn't rake it out, so it was declared a lost ball. But the other kid who did not do a re tee because he thought he saw his ball clear the sand, took a free drop without finding it, all within the rules. The bunker was on the right side of the fairway so my line was further and to the right of the kid who took the drop, who hit it straight and short. All i can vividly remember is us standing in the pouring rain and cold, dragging rakes through a bunker full of deep water, and finding every other golf ball! Crazy!  I think you got to the real oddity where an unidentified unplayable is the same penalty as a lost ball, but called something different. Unless there is some difference? I guess if it is found before you hit the next shot you would not be able to play it where it lies in the unplayable scenario, granted you did not declare the lost ball lost yet (then no penalty). Is there any other difference? I guess both you can tee it up after the penalty, and you still can't go more than 2 clubs behind the tee markers in the unplayable scenario I believe. Wonder if there are any other differences between lost ball and unplayable but unidentified.
    • Ball likely in casual water but uncertain
      I think we are talking about a couple of different things.  First, I don't really understand the "local rule" you were given in your tournament with regards to the flooded bunkers.  When you say re tee, did they tell you to play your stroke over with no penalty.  Can't do that. As far as declaring a ball unplayable, this is different than taking relief for Casual Water.  You may in fact declare a ball unplayable without finding it, but in this case, you must play your next stroke from the spot where you played your last.  (Stroke and Distance)  If you think about it, its the same procedure as if you were to lose your ball.  Under the ball unplayable rule there is a one stroke penalty. Iacas gave you the rule for taking relief from casual water in a bunker.  In order to do this, it must be known or virtually certain the ball is in the casual water.  
    • My Swing (coop6)
      @coop6. You're right about opening up too fast. I should have worded differently. It's not that your body isn't moving where it needs to move. It's that your arms aren't moving with your body enough. Or you might say the body isn't inluencing the motion of the arms. Try the Dufner towel under arms drill, it's an extreme drill but it will help this. Your body rotation has to help turn the club back to square, that is the whole idea, feel the body and upper arms turning the club back. Once that happens you won't have to flip the club shut right after impact.
    • My Swing (coop6)
      @iacas see it now
    • My Swing (adragon0216)
      There is no such thing as a strong grip. There is a stronger left hand or stronger right hand. If you strengthen the right hand grip this will help close the face. If you weaken the left hand grip this will also help close the face, though less so. Stand taller and flatten the swing out until you are older. Don't try to be so bent over at the hips at impact. Take lessons so you don't get hurt swinging this way. Your shoulders should turn level through the ball. Like I said don't increase the bend from the hips at impact.    
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries