IGNORED

Help me decide which set to buy

Note: This thread is 5388 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey there,

I'm just getting into golf and have no idea what to look for in a new set. I'm trying to keep the price pretty reasonable but I want the most bang for my buck. First off, where should I look? I've checked the local Big 5 and Sports Authority, and unfortunatley there is no local pro-shop in my area. I'm looking to pick up a full set. So with that being said, what companys should I look into and which should I stay away from? And what should I look for as far as shafts, heads, ect. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

1. how much can you/do you want to spend?
2. personally, i would forget about Sports Authority, Dicks, and stores like that. you will NOT get The Best Bang For Your Buck there. Look at websites such as gppgolf.com, rockbottomgolf.com, globalgolf.com, ebay, etc. those are the places you get the best bang for your buck
3. as far as shafts go, you need to get fitted. we have no idea what your swing is like or what your swing speeds are

Im currently using Dunlop Attack clubs i purchased at kmart for 95$...their nothing to write home about, but they are perfectly fine for learning, and if you don't like the game, its not that big of an investment gone...but if you do like the game, you soon realize you could have saved that 100$ for better clubs(my predicament).