IGNORED

Golf Club Fittings

Note: This thread is 5409 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I read on here alot about people debating club fittings or having a fitting and such. I have wondered for some time what some people think a proper fitting should consist of. I'm no expert, but I have read quite a number of books on club fitting; build my own and friends' clubs and one day - as a retirement side job - I would love to open my own club building/fitting store. With that said, I wanted to list something that Tom Wishon put out in one of his publications. I hope that I am not in trouble for plagerizing this information, but I thought it should be put out there. You are free to gleen whatever benefit it may provide for your inquiries into club fitting.

I'm paraphrazing here, so as not to get into trouble stealing copyrighted information:

A poor(or better than nothing) fitting can be characterized by:
~Hitting shots into a net or on a range;
~Physically measured for club length;
~Measured for grip size.

A good fitting:
~electronically measured for swing speed;
~elecronically measured using a launch monitor;
~interviewed by fitter for tendancies,and desired goals;
~used a selection of heads from more than one brand;
~used a selection of shafts/a selection of grips, from more than one brand/style.

An Excellent fitting:
~Built or used a pilot club you could try based on information gathered by interviewing you;
~attention was paid to total composition of the entire set;
~attention was paid to length, loft, lie of the entire set;
~attention waspaid to shaft frequncies, MOI and/or swingweight of the entire set; at least one, but hopefully all three;
~attention was paid to total weight, grip, shaft spine alignment of the entire set;
~the fitting was completed over several sessions/visits.