IGNORED

Ladies' clubs or mens' clubs?

Note: This thread is 6474 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi everyone! I'm pretty much new to golf and want to invest in a decent set of clubs. My father has been teaching me for about 2 months now, and I am actually able to hit the ball consistently (albeit, not all that well). My question is, should I get a set of ladies' clubs or just use my dad's old set? I've been told that ladies' clubs have a "springier" shaft than mens' and are also shorter. I don't know if that will really help me hit more consistently, get more distance, etc. since I've never used them before.

There is a bit of a size discrepency between my father and I. I am 5'4" whereas my father is 5'11", and I am about 60lb. lighter than he is. Would it be better for me to just save my money and maybe have my father's old clubs shortened instead? Oh, and I believe his old set is Top Flight brand irons and the shaft says something like "Muscle" or something like that.

I hope you golf gurus can give me some insight on the matter!

Oh, and I am female by the way. Don't know if any guys out there like to use ladies' clubs or not...

My take:

There's a whole market out there that caters towards women, and some major club companies put out women's lines, like the Taylor Made Miscela set. These sets are geared for recreational golfers who tend not to play a lot, and don't need a lot of "horsepower" in their sets. They're pretty much set up for the golfer who needs help getting the ball up in the air, and make the game fun by eliminating the frustration of hitting lots of shanks and squibby worm burners. The Ladies Flex is tuned for slower swing speeds (sub-80 mph), and the low compression Ladies golf balls are designed to jump off the clubface with slower swing speeds...