IGNORED

This is what I was told (handicap question)

nownot
Note: This thread is 5357 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

So I just started playing golf this summer, took a few lessons at Hank Haney and just went at it. Right now my handicap is at 14, I was told this is "pretty damn impressive for a 1st year player without a golf background". Is this true? I suck and I'm a 14 ........ So my question is was this person full of it, or is 14 really that good? What is considered average for a beginner / amateur? Don't worry about hurting my feelings if 14 is bad. Thanks for any inputs.

Yes, very good, congrats! How have you been tracking your handicap?

"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
My regular pasture.

Yes, very good, congrats! How have you been tracking your handicap?

A iPhone app called GolfShots, and I also put my scores into an online calculator to double check.

The thing is I'm a member at this one course so I play it all the time. I need to get out and play other courses to make sure it's not me being accustomed to a particular course.

14 is incredible for just starting to play a few months ago...

It took me 3 years and A LOT of practice to get to the 9.7 I'm at right now.

Driver Ping G10 10.5*
Hybrids Ping G5 (3) 19* Bridgestone J36 (4) 22*
Irons Mizuno MP-57 5-PW
Wedges Srixon WG-504 52.08 Bridgestone WC Copper 56.13
Putter 33" Scotty Cameron Studio Select #2

If you are just starting to play and you can play bogey golf then I would say that is very good and that is an 18 handicap.

And it is all relative. Do you think its good?

In my bag:
Driver: R5 TP Diamana 83s Shaft
Fairway: Burner 15 degree Fujikura REAX
Hybrid: Custom 19 degree
Irons: DCI 990 S300 4-PW

Wedges: NF 52.04*, Spin Milled 56.10* and 60.08*