• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Rounders

What's the penalty for a double chip?

21 posts in this topic

This happened to me this weekend and my playing partner and I did not know what the penalty was. Anyone have any idea?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

it just counts as two strokes instead of one.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Source: USGA Rule 14-4
Striking the Ball More Than Once

If a player's club strikes the ball more than once in the course of a stroke, the player must count the stroke and add a penalty stroke, making two strokes in all.


http://www.usga.org/bookrule.aspx?id=14280
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

I know the rule, but i dont understand why a penatly is applied. If you hit the ball with your club twice, it should just be counted as two strokes, IMO.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know the rule, but i dont understand why a penatly is applied. If you hit the ball with your club twice, it should just be counted as two strokes, IMO.

The penalty is applied (as opposed to just recording 2 strokes), most likely, to avoid the situation where you 'triple-hit' the ball (or worse!). Alot of times (of course, it's never happened to me

) when you double-hit the ball, it's probably likely that you may have even hit the ball more than twice, but unable to tell. This would also be counted as 2 strokes (one + the penalty).
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know the rule, but i dont understand why a penatly is applied. If you hit the ball with your club twice, it should just be counted as two strokes, IMO.

Let's say you are below the hole with a steep uphill putt. You miss, the ball goes past the hole and starts rolling back down. You run up and tap it again before it rolls too far past the hole and you hole it. That's 'two strokes' but it's not legal, hence the penalty.

Or to put it another way, your second contact on a double chip is on a moving ball = penalty.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Let's say you are below the hole with a steep uphill putt. You miss, the ball goes past the hole and starts rolling back down. You run up and tap it again before it rolls too far past the hole and you hole it. That's 'two strokes' but it's not legal, hence the penalty.

Well that makes more sense. I can understand applying a penatly on a moving ball. You just cleared up possibly years of confusion and disagreement on my part in one post.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Let's say you are below the hole with a steep uphill putt. You miss, the ball goes past the hole and starts rolling back down. You run up and tap it again before it rolls too far past the hole and you hole it. That's 'two strokes' but it's not legal, hence the penalty. Or to put it another way, your second contact on a double chip is on a moving ball = penalty.

Does that mean as long as the ball is still moving you can continue to hit it and only incur one penalty stroke in addition to your original stroke?

If so, on 20-yd putts, I'm going to kepp tapping the ball until it goes in. That will definitely ensure no more triple putts again.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, there's the usual exception to the penalty rules: If you gain an enormous advantage as a result of an infraction, you are disqualified. It would seem appropriate with that perpetual putt trick.

Also, part of the reason you need the penalty stroke for a double-chip is that you haven't met the definition of a stroke twice. A stroke is the swing with intent to hit the ball. You've only intended once, so there's no way to count the stroke twice.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, there's the usual exception to the penalty rules: If you gain an enormous advantage as a result of an infraction, you are disqualified. It would seem appropriate with that perpetual putt trick.

In that case, why count the second hit at all? Just say a "double chip" or double hit is a single event and apply a one stroke penalty. The way it is written now, the rules count the second hit along with the penalty.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The penalty's for hitting a ball in motion- intentional or not.
Ask TC Chen... I'm sure he can quote the rule chapter and verse!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does that mean as long as the ball is still moving you can continue to hit it and only incur one penalty stroke in addition to your original stroke?

That falls under a different rule since your original stroke is over and what you are doing is intentional not accidental.

1-2. Exerting Influence on Ball A player or caddie must not take any action to influence the position or the movement of a ball except in accordance with the Rules. *Penalty for Breach of Rule 1-2: Match play — Loss of hole; Stroke play — Two strokes. *In the case of a serious breach of Rule 1-2, the Committee may impose a penalty of disqualification. 1-2/5.5 Player Purposely Stops or Deflects Ball; Where Next Stroke Must Be Played From Q. A player's ball lies through the green. After playing a pitch shot up a slope, the player sees his ball start to roll back towards him. He places his club in front of the ball and stops it. The ball would have rolled only a few yards more and remained through the green. What is the ruling? A. Since the player purposely stopped the ball, he is in breach of Rule 1-2. As the breach was not serious, he would lose the hole in match play or incur a two-stroke penalty in stroke play. In stroke play, he must play the ball from the point where he stopped it with his club. If the player had purposely deflected the ball but not stopped it, in match play, he would lose the hole. In stroke play, if a serious breach has not occurred, he would incur a two-stroke penalty and must then play the ball from its new position. In stroke play, if a serious breach has occurred, the player is disqualified.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In that case, why count the second hit at all? Just say a "double chip" or double hit is a single event and apply a one stroke penalty. The way it is written now, the rules count the second hit along with the penalty.

It doesn't count the second hit.

"the player must count the stroke and add a penalty stroke, making two strokes in all." You count the stroke, which is one, you only swung one time. The ball hit the club twice or more, but you only took one stroke. You count the stroke and add a penalty for hitting the ball more than once during one stroke. You don't count the hit since you can hit it three times if you are very unlucky during one swing, this would count as one stroke and one penalty shot.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

I had a bowl of double chip just last night. Delicious!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had a bowl of double chip just last night. Delicious!

Don't forget the 1 stroke penalty on your next round. Hope it was worth it!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The penalty's for hitting a ball in motion- intentional or not.

And to think it happened at the US Open to boot. While he was in the think of things and had a chance to win. If I am not mistaken Jack ended up winning.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • My Swing (coop6)
      @coop6 The glaring issue is you are shutting the clubface immediately after impact. Many tour players are holding the face square until halfway up on the forward swing, some even open the face after impact. I have seen a few that shut the face as well but it happens a bit later. I was doing this because my club face was too open at the top. The reason you're doing this is because on the downswing, your body is not bringing the club to the ball. Your upper body should turn and begin moving the arms through. The body should lead and pull the arms, however this does not suggest the arms should trail too much that they become disconnected. Teaching pros argue all the time whether the swing is a oull or a push. Many say it is a pull, because the modern swing is taught to have the body pull the arms as much as possible, especially for power in younger golfers. However the old school still calls it a push, because there is always connection. Remember the body guides where the arms should be going. The body must go first where the arms will follow close behind. If you look at your swing, you can see from the top your arms drop down, which is great as it prevents over the top and promotes dead hands. The problem is the body isn't leading or pulling. The body isn't doing enough on the downswing. Look at the forward swing, it is mostly arms. The arms are going where the body has never been before. Don't let the arms go where the body hasn't been.
    • Anybody play golf without keeping score on a regular basis?
      I normally keep a true and accurate score even though I don't belong to a club, don't have an established handicap, and don't play in any tournaments. Still, if I'm playing my usual casual round...and really playing terribly, I'll occasionally toss the scorecard in the trash. It helps me concentrate on just hitting good shots instead of focusing on making a particular score...and my game usually improves somewhat....
    • My Swing (saevel25)
      No problem! Excellent progress.
    • How to eliminate blowup holes
      Here's my approach to eliminating the big numbers. Work hard on putting and chipping. I've always maintained that anyone can learn to chip and putt. Its the only part of the game that takes zero athletic ability....just practice, technique and confidence. I miss a lot more greens than I hit...but I make a lot of pars with a chip and a putt (or a very long 2 putt). Even if I don't make par, I often have tap in bogeys. Know your strengths and weaknesses...and be honest with yourself. Use that information to determine your "go to" shots. I'm a lousy iron player, but pretty consistent with the fairway woods. If I'm having one of those days where I'm doing nothing with the irons but hitting fat shots and shanks, I'll start hitting fairway woods off the tee in order to have a fairway wood for a 2nd shot (I carry 3, 5 and 6 woods). Even if I miss the green from that distance, I'll usually be withing chip and putt range (see the last paragraph). I'm normally pretty straight with those fairway woods, but can hit a fade or slice at will....but not a draw. If I'm in a spot that requires a draw to hit the green I'll aim for a spot short of the green (or even right of the green) that I know I can hit. Then try my best to make par from there - and be please with bogey. If I'm on the other side of the fairway and need to bend it to the right I'll be more aggressive since that's a high percentage shot for me. I've had days where I'm hitting my irons so poorly, I'll resort to playing bump-and-run any place I can. Yeah, it makes me feel like a chump when I'm bumping a 7 iron from 100 yards instead of flying a wedge in there....but not a much of a chump as hacking the wedge around and making a double or triple.
    • My Swing (saevel25)
      Thank you for your opinion. I have things I am working on that I am committed to 100%. I am going to continue on what I am working on. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries