IGNORED

Club twisting at impact

ProStuart
Note: This thread is 3234 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

This is my first post asking for assistance here - hope someone can post something useful!!

I've been playing golf now for 9 years and my current handicap is 8.5. I had some trouble around 3 months ago with my driver where I'd get a horrible snap-hook and I'd often hook my irons too. So, I took a lesson and the guy advised that my right hand had moved to a very strong position. He said I'd need to move it back to a more neutral grip and that my game would get worse before it got better. Well.....

My game has gone downhill BIG TIME - I've probably played 20 rounds since then and not once have I hit any better than 14 over par.

The biggest issue I have is a horrible shot that looks like a sh*nk but it's not. With any iron (even a SW), this shot can appear from nowhere, sending the ball off at a 45* angle from the intended target. I can feel it's the club twisting in my hand at impact - forcing the clubface open. Linked to this is the fact that my glove has severe wear on the palm under my pinkie despite ensuring that I'm holding the club diagonally across my fingers and not in my palm.

It feels like I'm "letting go" of the club at some point in my swing. I've tried gripping harder but it still happens.

Does anyone have any good drills/tips/exercises that will identify/fix this?

Thanks

Stu

Mizuno MX500 10.5*
Mizuno Hi-Fli CLK 20*
Mizuno Hi-Fli CLK 26*
Nike Pro Combo 5-PW
Mizuno Black Ox 52* & 56*

Do you overlap or interlock your grip? I tried for a little while to switch to an interlock grip, which consequently neutralized my right hand a bit and I had this happen. Just curious, because I couldn't hit the ball for the life of me that way.

The bag:

Driver: Taylormade R7 Limited (10.5*)