Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
iacas

Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

48 posts in this topic



Rule 14-2 prohibits Kenny Perry from doing what he is doing TWICE in this video. Kenny and JB Holmes finished T2 in the 2009 Shark Shootout and cashed checks for $161,666 each.

http://freedrop.wordpress.com/2009/1...tout-scramble/

I'd rate it as unlikely that they'd waive that rule, though it wouldn't surprise me if they retroactively do it to protect Kenny Perry.


I still think he broke the rules earlier this year at the FBR.

Update: the rule was not in effect for this tournament. So KP did NOT break the tournament rules, but he still broke the Rules of Golf.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Wasn't it just about a year ago there was video of KP improving his lie with a wedge in the rough prior to hitting the shot. Maybe the golf gods got him back at the Masters. We'll see what happens next season.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i noticed this to and wondered if they waived it during scrambles.

My thought also. At least KP didn't drop a ball out of his pocket and declare..."Here's our ball..it's right here!"

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i noticed this to and wondered if they waived it during scrambles.

Rule 1-3 says that's not an option. It seems unlikely they would play by "almost golf" rules, even in a scramble, at that level. Plus, of all the times to have that rule, that's the format in which it's most important.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wasn't it just about a year ago there was video of KP improving his lie with a wedge in the rough prior to hitting the shot.

Thats what iacas was saying about the FBR.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I heard one of the commentators say that it was allowed during the scramble format. But I can't comment on whether or not this exception is valid according to tour rules.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I saw it also but I'm not sure if it was allowed or not. I just assumed if his playing partners weren't concerned and it's a bit of a lax tourney no big deal.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Interesting. I think it is allowed to stand on the extension of a partner's line during Scrambles - but I'm willing to be corrected!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Interesting. I think it is allowed to stand on the extension of a partner's line during Scrambles - but I'm willing to be corrected!

If that is what he did, who benefits/suffers from this and why?

I am confused.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I heard the commentators specifically comment that this was allowed...not sure if it was due to the format or if the tourney allowed it. Either way it was allowed and the made sure to note it in the commentary.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If that is what he did, who benefits/suffers from this and why?

Read the rule referenced in post #1.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I heard the commentators specifically comment that this was allowed...not sure if it was due to the format or if the tourney allowed it. Either way it was allowed and the made sure to note it in the commentary.

If it was allowed, that's lame. LAME.

I realize a "scramble" isn't "Rules of Golf" (the whole format is invalid, basically) but you should follow the rules that are still possible, and 14-2 is still "follow-able." LAME.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I don't think he violated the rule.

Kenny was only watching for his OWN reference - not to help on alignment or otherwise assist Holmes. from the Decisions:
The purpose of Rule 14-2b is to prohibit a caddie from positioning himself behind the player while the player makes a stroke in order to advise the player on alignment or otherwise assist him.

And - if it is a violation - the penalty would be on Holmes (of the team), technically. Holmes is the player making the stroke "allowing it" to happen .
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree that what I beleive to see is Kenny watching to get a read for his own putt, and not to assist the player. This would not be an infraction of rule 14-2b.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think he violated the rule.

He did. That decision talks about a caddie "inadvertently" standing on the line, as in a caddie standing there and not really paying attention.

Kenny Perry was paying attention. You need to cite the entire decision, please:

Source: Decision 14-2/4 Caddie Inadvertently Stands on Extension of Line of Play Behind Ball Q. A player's caddie inadvertently stood on an extension of the player's line of play behind the ball when the player made a stroke. The caddie was watching another player play from the next tee. Neither the player nor his caddie was aware that the caddie was so located. Was the player subject to penalty under Rule 14-2b? A. No. The purpose of Rule 14-2b is to prohibit a caddie from positioning himself behind the player while the player makes a stroke in order to advise the player on alignment or otherwise assist him. In this case, the caddie was not so positioned. The same ruling would apply if the player's caddie inadvertently stood on an extension of the line of putt behind the ball during the stroke.

And - if it is a violation - the penalty would be on Holmes (of the team), technically. Holmes is the player making the stroke "allowing it" to happen.

Agreed, but since it's a scramble and the team score is all that counts, the team would incur the penalty.

I agree that what I beleive to see is Kenny watching to get a read for his own putt, and not to assist the player. This would not be an infraction of rule 14-2b.

That's irrelevant. Read the rule.

Source: Rule 14-2 Assistance In making a stroke, a player must not: a. Accept physical assistance or protection from the elements; or b. Allow his caddie, his partner or his partner's caddie to position himself on or close to an extension of the line of play or the line of putt behind the ball.

It says nothing of the intent. It says: "In making a stroke, a player must not allow his partner to position himself on or close to an extension of the line of the putt behind the ball." The rule says "don't let someone stand there." JB let someone stand there. It's irrelevant the intent, except it's quite obvious KP was paying attention and not watching another player tee off on another hole or something. He broke the rule. The only question is whether the rule was "waived" because a scramble isn't "real golf" to begin with. It seems as though it may have been, which I think is disappointing.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0