IGNORED

Bogey Golfer Wants New Irons

Note: This thread is 5149 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am a bogey golfer looking for a new set of irons for this season. There are tons of great deals right on brand new previous year irons. Currently, I am playing Mizuno MX-19s. The biggest problem I have with the MX-19s is that they are so large and forgiving that it feels like swinging a shovel. I'd like to try something a little smaller, but still forgiving. I'm afraid that swinging the shovels is concealing my flaws instead of helping me improve. I've never tracked my handicap (plan to start this season) so the number on the left is, at best, a rough guess. I have been playing for about two years.

Models that have caught my eye are:
Callaway X-18-20-22
Cobra SZ
Mizuno MX-25 (used set for less than $200)
Ping G5-10-15
Taylormade R7

Any other recommendations? Like I said, I want forgiveness without that "garden shovel" feeling. Any comments would be appreciated!

Tour Edge Exotics XCG-V 10.5*
Tour Edge Exotics XCG-6 15*
Tour Edge Exotics XCG-6 #4

Callaway Razr X Tour 5-AW
Nike VR Pro Forged Brushed Oxide 54-58
Yes! C-Groove Sally-12M Mid Counterbalance

I like the mx-25's though i'm partial to Mizuno.

In my bag:

Driver: Titleist TSi3 | 15º 3-Wood: Ping G410 | 17º 2-Hybrid: Ping G410 | 19º 3-Iron: TaylorMade GAPR Lo |4-PW Irons: Nike VR Pro Combo | 54º SW, 60º LW: Titleist Vokey SM8 | Putter: Odyssey Toulon Las Vegas H7

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I gotta go with Nike Victory Red split cavities. Blade like feel with some forgiveness. You wont be sorry.

Bag
Sumo 5900 9.5d
Sumo 3 & 5 Woods Pro launch shafts
Victory Red Split cavity 4-pw
Victory Red Wedges 52/10,56/14/60,10 White hot Putter / Balls

Love my Clevland Cg 7's.