IGNORED

What I've Learned From My First Real Round of 18

TheBlake
Note: This thread is 5125 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey guys, as you can probably tell, I'm a newbie to the site. I came across it earlier today, and was thrilled to see a bunch of people as enthusiastic about golf as I am.

I guess there's a reason that I decided to look for a place like this. Today, I played my first real round of golf. I'm 23. Sure, I played a few rounds when I was a little kid, and was just hacking away at the thing while my dad and his friends were playing for real, but I'm not counting that.

I started really getting into the game around two years ago. I bought my first set of clubs (nothing fancy, just a generic set for beginners with hybrids replacing some of the lower irons), and starting swinging away after that. I bought some instructional books and got some tips from friends who were better than me, and started hitting the driving range to work on my game. Last year, I started playing on a local par-3 course, and have been playing that quite a bit up until today. I was basically just trying to hone my skills before taking it to a full round of golf, because I wasn't sure how my game would stack up.

Long story short, I shot a 92 today, and have been giddy all evening. No, the course I was playing on wasn't Augusta National or anything like that (just a local public course), but I didn't care. For it to be my first actual full round, and to play semi-well, it's like I discovered a whole new game. Playing nine was one thing, but I never imagined the type of energy and confidence a person could gain from simply playing 18 holes of golf. There's just nothing like it.