IGNORED

Questions About PGA Tour Living

Matsui
Note: This thread is 5043 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Let me preface by saying I've been playing golf for 20 years and follow the PGA Tour very closely. I'm no golf noob, but I have a few questions I've always wondered.

I'm not talking about the top 50 players in the world, hell, not even the guys who have ever won on the PGA Tour, but the guys who constantly stay in the top 125 on the money list, make a decent living, miss a few cuts year, you normal guy who will get a top ten but then miss a few cuts, etc.

1. How do they handle their insurance/benefits. etc. Are they "independanct contractors" who have to buy Cobra or some other health coverage or if you have your PGA Tour Card, do they provide it for the year?

2. Travel. I know these guys aren't booking plane tickets 2+ weeks in advance like normal people are. So, how do they make travel plans? What if they miss the cut, do they re-book and fly home or just fly to the next event?

3. Hotel stays. The guys normally get in on a Monday and stay through the weekend, and most of the time the wife is traveling with them. Are they paying for every night?

4. I volunteer with for the Valero Open and there are people who pick the professionals up at the airport. Well, some of the players stay for free at the host event, while others stay at the Staybridge Suites, Homewood Suites, etc. What type of room rates are these guys paying?

I know we read about a tour player making $20K after finishing 40th place in a tournament, but how much money are they spending week to week?

And I assume they get their balls, clubs, shoes, clothes for free.

And I guess Nationwide Tour living is totally different?