• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
steelernation

Rules question Help

15 posts in this topic

Not sure if this the right place for the post...

I scored a 7 on a par 4 today.
I was rusty....
First tee'd ball, drove into pond directly in front of tee.
Second re'teed and drove a hook into OB to the left.
Third retee drove the ball onto the green.
2 putt.

Is this a triple bogey?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Are you suppose to "re-tee" after the first ball went into the water? aren't you suppose to drop just in front of it? i'm not a rule expert by any means
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thats what im unsure of, so far Ive found that it can be reteed, the retee is a stroke.

So my next drive was my 3rd stroke. Then the next retee was another stroke then 3rd drive was my 5th stroke.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If it was your tee shot that went into the water,then you have the option of playing again from the tee if that seems to be the most reasonable course of action. IN this case you did everything correctly and scored a 7.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I think you can hit a provisional? Cant you? I am sure a rule expert will be here soon..
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well the 2nd went OB so I would have to hit one that time w penalty.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, but after the second, I didn't think you can hit yet another off the tee. I thought you would have to drop.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When a ball enters a hazard you can either play another from the original position or take a drop at the point it last entered the hazard. So you were right to do what you did. It may have been more of an advantage to take a drop where it entered the hazard depending on how far infront of the tee box the hazard started. So you played the third shot (including penatly for hitting into hazard) out of bounds then tee'd again for your fifth. Hit onto green and two putted for a 7. You did everything by the rules. Only difference you could have done was take a drop where ball entered the hazard if you thought that would have been more of an advantage. See below

26-1. Relief for Ball in Water Hazard It is a question of fact whether a ball that has not been found after having been struck toward a water hazard is in the hazard. In order to apply this Rule, it must be known or virtually certain that the ball is in the hazard. In the absence of such knowledge or certainty, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1. If a ball is in a water hazard or if it is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is in a water hazard (whether the ball lies in water or not), the player may under penalty of one stroke: a. Play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5), or b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or c. As additional options available only if the ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard, drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than (i) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or (ii) a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole. When proceeding under this Rule, the player may lift and clean his ball or substitute a ball.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, but after the second, I didn't think you can hit yet another off the tee. I thought you would have to drop.

As long as they were all played from the tee, then he can keep hitting from the tee till hell freezes over or until he gets one in play. His procedure was spot on. No more discussion needed.

He would have to drop if the ball had been played from anyplace other than the tee.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Not sure if this the right place for the post... I scored a 7 on a par 4 today. I was rusty.... First tee'd ball, drove into pond directly in front of tee. Second re'teed and drove a hook into OB to the left. Third retee drove the ball onto the green. 2 putt. Is this a triple bogey?

You drove the par 4 green on your third attempt? I'd say considering your first 2 shots both resulted in loss of stroke and distance, that's a pretty decent triple bogey.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Colinb913

I think you can hit a provisional? Cant you? I am sure a rule expert will be here soon..

Not for the shot into the water hazard.  Most misunderstood rule in golf.  Provisionals are for balls lost or out-of-bounds, not for balls known or virtually certain to be in a hazard.

But, it sounds like he observed his ball entering the hazard, and then going out of bounds.  So there was no reason for a provisional in the second case either.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why in the world would people who don't have the slightest idea of what the rules are answer a rules question and then excuse themselves by saying they aren't a rules expert?  The situations in the OP's question do not require a rules expert.  He got a 7.  Yes you can re-tee a second, third, fourth time if the situation warrants it.  You can re-tee your ball, of you choose, any time you hit into a water hazard off the tee.  You can hit a provisional if you think the ball is OB (or lost, but that didn't come up in the OP) but NOT if you think the ball is lost in a water hazard.  These are basic rules, and while it is OK to not know these things is it just weird to try to answer a rules question when you DON'T know these things.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Colinb913

I think you can hit a provisional? Cant you? I am sure a rule expert will be here soon..

You can't play a provisional if you ball is in a water hazard.

You must play another ball under penalty of one stroke using the provisions of Rule 26.

If your ball is OOB you must play another ball under Rule 27-1b with a penalty of one stroke.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Probably should have left this thread alone.   Just about all the posters, including the OP, have not posted in a couple of years......so they're probably not listening anymore.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Dormie1360

Probably should have left this thread alone.   Just about all the posters, including the OP, have not posted in a couple of years......so they're probably not listening anymore.

You are right - I never even noticed that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • How long should my ball test be?
      Just wanted some thoughts on how long I should test each ball Im considerring. What is a good sample size. 9 holes, 18 or even longer?
    • Question on Twitter: Easiest Way to Shoot Lower Scores in a Week
      What I have learned as I have improved and keep reading about in Bob Rotella's books is that the best way to shoot the score of your life is to focus on practicing the short game, but mostly developing confidence in your putting. Since most of our strokes consist of the short game, by getting just a percentage better there it will translate to more overall success than anywhere else.
    • No Forearm Rotation - Biggest Swing Flaw?
      @Golfer2223 what does forearm rotation have to do with the shoulders?-They are not connected. Forearms can rotate regardless of what the shoulders are doing.
    • No Forearm Rotation - Biggest Swing Flaw?
      Correct. For example: He also says that the forearms rotate during the backswing. Which we know that they do, and quite a bit. How much is too much? On the left, below in both images, is his depiction of zero rotation: On the right, in both images, he demonstrates nearly 90° of turning at the wrist. based on what I know, little of this comes from the upper arm - the majority of it comes from the forearm. Do you disagree with any of that, @Golfer2223? Notice one thing, then, too please. On the left, the plane of the left wrist is pretty much parallel to the sagittal plane. On the right images, it's perpendicular to it. What do we find at the top of the backswing of the game's best players? The issue now appears to be simply trying to determine what in the world you mean by the bold above, particularly because there's really nothing "natural" about the golf swing. What feels natural to you, or seems natural to you, is definitely not natural to all or possibly even the majority of golfers. in my experience I've learned that you can't really talk about the golf swing in terms of what's "natural" or not. The truth of the matter is that for golfers who do this the right amount "naturally" then it simply isn't something we talk about in a lesson. For golfers who do it an improper amount, it may or may not be their priority. Here's a wrist graph from AMM for a very, very good golfer. Note that the wrist (blue line, top left) starts with 50° of supination. It pronates, relative to the upper arm, to a position of 16° pronation at the top. That's a pronation from 50° on one side of the zero mark to 16° on the other side - a pronation of 66°. This doesn't even account for how much the upper arm rotates - the forearm has rotated 66° from the setup position. (Note that above when I said 25° or 32°, that was relative to totally neutral, not to the setup position. The forearms rotated quite a bit more than the 25-32° cited, because they started somewhat supinated.) This graph and these numbers are not unusual. Look, @Golfer2223, it's somewhat incumbent upon you to be clear in what you're saying. It's far from ideal to say things like how you expect to see "zero forearm rotation" (or whatever) but then to claim that it's "relative to the natural shoulder motion" (obviously both paraphrased). Nobody has a clue what you mean by the "natural shoulder" whatever, and many would disagree that anything in this topic area is "natural" to begin with. So, please clarify what you're saying, and be precise and use specific words, or at least define them, provide examples, or both.
    • Best Shot of the Week
      Teeing of on Northdale #7 a short par four 336 from white tees. There is a pond water hazard about 235 or 240 ahead covering a lot of right hand side. Left hand is a small area and high trees to carry. Hit driver and blasted it, carried trees on left hand side and must have gotten a good cart path bounce. When we drove up was 50 yards from center of green. That's a loooong drive for me. Longest yet. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries