IGNORED

which fairway woods do I need?

Note: This thread is 6388 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am trying to find a fairway wood or two to fill in the gap between my 4 hybrid and my driver. The problem I have is that I don't know whether the traditional set (3 and 5 woods) is the one I need since I have such a lofted driver. I have a 13 degree driver and am worried that if I get a 3 wood it would be too close in distance. Or would it not be? Any suggestions?

What degree loft is your 4 hybrid? For a fairway, I'd probably go with something in the 17-19 degree range (4-5 wood).

Driver:Titleist 905T 10.5, Aldila NV 65S
Fairway: Titleist 906f2 18, Aldila NV 75S
Hybrid: Titleist 585H 21, Aldila NV85S
Irons: Titleist 735, DG R300
Wedges: Titleist Vokey 52, 56, 60 DG S200Putter: Odyssey White Hot Tour #8

I would just try some fairway woods.. your driver is still longer then a reg 3 wood because of the overall length of the club..

Driver: Taylor Made R7 425 9.5° TP Stiff
Fairway: Taylor Made V-Steel #3 w/Fujikura Rombax Stiff
Irons: Taylor Made rac LT 4-PW shaft; Rifle Flighted 6.0
Wedges: Tayor Made rac 52° 56° 60°Utility: Taylor Made Rescue TP #3 (Aldila NV Hybid 85g Stiff)Putter: Scotty...

It sounds like a 4 wood 17 degrees might be about right. You could order one with a 43 inch shaft to maximize distance, sometimes called 4 plus woods. It kind of depends on why you are using a 13 degree driver. If it is because you have a slow swing speed then an 18 or 19 degree five wood might actually give you the right gap. If it is because you hit the ball low or hit hight lofted drivers straighter then the 4 wood might be a better choice.

1W Cleveland LauncherComp 10.5, 3W Touredge Exotics 15 deg.,FY Wilson 19.5 degree