IGNORED

breaking 80?

Note: This thread is 6370 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

ok, i want to hear from you single digit guys out there.

i've been playing on and off for 20 years, took 5 years off and got back into it last year. consistently shooting in the low 80's now. But can't shoot lower. (Lowest round this year was 79 on par 73, 74 on par 70 last year).

I'll par 10-12 holes, and usually have a double or triple bogey and a few bogeys.

For those guys who have been through this, how do you breakthrough? My overall game is pretty solid, just a wild drive here or there, or one or two totally missed irons.

Is it mental? More practice--on what? What got you to the next level? I know there are a lot of good golfers here, any advice?

Driver: FT-5 Tour 8.5* neutral
3 wood: TEE CB1 15*
Irons (3-PW): Nike forged blades
SW: Sonartec T35 proto 54*
LW: Sonartec T35 proto 58*Putter: Yes! Tracey

• Administrator
ok, i want to hear from you single digit guys out there.

If you're an all-around 83-shooting golfer, then you have to work on all areas of your game.

Mental: choose the best shot for the moment and have the faith to execute it. This means pulling 3W on holes where you never seem to hit a good drive and knowing when to punch out. Long game: hit better drives, hit better irons. Short game: get up and down more often. You can go about those things in a variety of ways, but practice, lessons, and simply playing more are the obvious ways. I pride myself on still usually breaking 80 even when playing like absolute crap.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins