IGNORED

Longer The Club, The Worse It Gets

Note: This thread is 4886 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

First off, let me say that i am new to golf. I started about 2 months back and started playing with my grandfather who has been playing for 35+ years. I never picked up a club until recently. I have been trying to play at least once a week and i have seen an improvement until recently.

I mostly played at a par 3, mostly because its free during the fall/winter. Most holes are btween 100-150 yards. So i never get past the six iron.

It seems as though i have gotten a feel for these shorter clubs, but i played a few rounds on a regulation course and anything above the 6 iron is so unpredictable. I dont dare touch the driver anymore, id rather just throw the balls away then use it. Unforutnately as a broke 22 y/o, i dont have the access to a club prop or lessons so youtube, this site, and ben hogans book are as close to instruction as i am going to get.

Any tips on how to adjust to these longer clubs? Anyone shorten there shafts? Is the different lengths really necessary?

Also, the shaft on my driver seems super flexible. The clubs were owned by my 65y/o grandfather so im sure these were changed out to a "senior" shaft. Im guessing a regular steel shaft is something i should look into?

Thanks Guys! All insight is greatly appreciated

Sometimes with the longer clubs people tend to try to swing harder (faster) which can throw you off balance, tempo, plane, a whole myriad of things. I'm guilty of this myself from time to time. Your swing with the longer clubs really shouldn't be any harder or faster than a good seven iron swing, the length of the shaft creates a longer arc thereby creating more club head speed not trying to swing the club faster.

5000 9.5 Graphite deisgn ys6+ stiff
Insight 3 wood stiff