IGNORED

How do you actually get better/improve at golf?

Note: This thread is 4704 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Since golf is not a game where simply the more you play the better you get what is the best way and how do you improve at it?seriously though?  Practice makes permanent not perfect so what do you do? The more you play and practice the more you are ingraining something into your game. I started playing since I was about 13 which was 7 years ago over the last few years I've been playing on and off due to college and uni.My handicap sucks but seriously though I want to be good very, very good and believe I have the potential because I've seen it. currently Id shoot anywhere between low 70s to mid 80s.  Im just so inconsistent and feel like im going absoulotely no where.  This week is a disaster I've even started shanking and now 3 putting again from everywhere.

So whats going to happen is: Il go to the range which I rarely do with the camcorder and record everything.  I will then see all of my flaws and they will be gone I will then go to the practice green and sort out problems there and then the hole process will go back to the beginning. Il start hitting low 70s and then eventually rise back up to the mid 80s. Is it because I dont do all of this all the time i.e. spending time practicing on the range with the camcorder and at the practice green.Anytime I do go though I feel comfortable with my game and feel like I cant learn anymore from that session i.e im just hitting balls to the flag.