IGNORED

Can I be a scratch 10 years from now?

very handicap
Note: This thread is 4668 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been playing golf for 3 years.  Until now, I'm still playing in the low 90 with occasional high 80s.  Today, while i was playing an exceptionally bad game, a question pop up in my mind..... at the rate i'm going, will i ever be a scratch player a decade from now?

I play at the local course 3 times a week and i don't go to the range.  Without going to a pro for any lesson, will my game get better and becoming a much better golfer?

I know no one can predict future, but can anyone who have played more than 10 years help to share your experience?  Especially if you play 2-3 times a week.

Originally Posted by very handicap

I've been playing golf for 3 years.  Until now, I'm still playing in the low 90 with occasional high 80s.  Today, while i was playing an exceptionally bad game, a question pop up in my mind..... at the rate i'm going, will i ever be a scratch player a decade from now?

I play at the local course 3 times a week and i don't go to the range.  Without going to a pro for any lesson, will my game get better and becoming a much better golfer?

I know no one can predict future, but can anyone who have played more than 10 years help to share your experience?  Especially if you play 2-3 times a week.

Probably not if you stay the course.

I'm taking the over (in terms of your handicap in 10 years) although some of my answer would depend on how old you are...if you are in your mid-teens or younger, you have a slightly better chance, but I view it as unlikely unless you are willing to practice on the range and work a lot on your short game.