IGNORED

Should I change my grips?

Note: This thread is 4686 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

A little background information... I have been using a Wilson Air Power beginner set for eight years now. Over the past three summers, I have played about 25-30 rounds of golf. Before that, I only played 5-7 rounds per year.

I haven't changed the grips on my clubs for a number of different reasons... but I feel like they aren't valid reasons. Should I change my grips?

1) I'm not really sure if it's worth it. I plan on getting new clubs within two years when I get a real job and can afford them.

2) I hit my irons pretty well and am afraid that if I change my grips, my game will suffer. I just shot an 80 last week (summer goal was to break 80), and I want to keep my momentum going.

My grips aren't rock hard or anything, don't exactly slip out of my hands at all, but from common knowledge I feel like most golfers would have definitely changed the grips by now. Has anyone else ever been afraid to change their grips?

It would also be nice to save the $50-$75 it would cost to change them.

Driver Cleveland HiBORE XLS 9.5°

Hybrid 3I Adams A7

Irons 3-PW Wilson Air Power

Wedges Cleveland CG10 52° Chrome, Cleveland Reg. 588 56° Chrome, Cleveland Reg. 588 60° Gunmetal

Putter Cleveland Classic #3

Best Score 80 (+8) - July 22, 2011 @ Highland Woods Golf Course (Blue Tees - 71.7/122)

If they aren't slipping out of your hands, I wouldn't worry about changing them.

Originally Posted by Orange

A little background information... I have been using a Wilson Air Power beginner set for eight years now. Over the past three summers, I have played about 25-30 rounds of golf. Before that, I only played 5-7 rounds per year.