Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
eedsmx691

question on how to play the shot

3 posts in this topic

Lets say you hit your approach shot and it comes up short of the green, your playing partner hits his and it rolls off the green and comes to rest right in front of your ball and touching yours. Since you are both off the green you can't mark it, and if you hit it his is going flying off in some unknown direction. How would you play this?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

You are allowed to mark and remove the ball if it interferes with another ball. If the balls are so close that you won't be able to leave a tee there, you can move the marker sideways too.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades



Quote:
Originally Posted by eedsmx691 View Post

Lets say you hit your approach shot and it comes up short of the green, your playing partner hits his and it rolls off the green and comes to rest right in front of your ball and touching yours. Since you are both off the green you can't mark it, and if you hit it his is going flying off in some unknown direction. How would you play this?


See Rule 22-2:

Quote:
22-2. Ball Interfering with Play

Except when a ball is in motion, if a player considers that another ball might interfere with his play, he may have it lifted.

A ball lifted under this Rule must be replaced (see Rule 20-3 ). The ball must not be cleaned, unless it lies on the putting green (see Rule 21 ).

In stroke play, a player required to lift his ball may play first rather than lift the ball.

Note: Except on the putting green, a player may not lift his ball solely because he considers that it might interfere with the play of another player. If a player lifts his ball without being asked to do so, he incurs a penalty of one stroke for a breach of Rule 18-2a , but there is no additional penalty under Rule 22 .

Penalty for Breach of Rule:
Match play - Loss of hole; Stroke play - Two strokes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0