IGNORED

Is there a "right way" to swing?

Note: This thread is 4631 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

This may be a stupid question, but I'm pretty new to golf and have seen or been taught/shown 4-5 different ways to swing a golf club in the past 3 months. Now I'm pretty mixed up. I've tried 4-5 different grips, different release points, and different ways to stand.  Is there a "right way" to do each of those? Or do people just find a way that works for them and keep trying to get consistent?

I'm right handed

Stances:

1: feet square.

2: back foot slightly slanted in to stop from over rotating

3: Back foot square and front foot out at a 45 degree angle

Grips:

1: Neutral grip

2: hands flat on the club, like I was clapping and the thumbs straight in the middle

3: left hand in the neutral position while the right hand is over to the right about 45 degrees

4: interlocked

5: overlap

6: double overlap ??

7: baseball

8: hammer grip

Back swing:

1: straight back and up then hinge, where the the club is pointing straight forwards and between the head and shoulder

2: going back 3/4 of the way where the club head is sort of straight up, but still turning the body behind

3: going back and bring the club all of the way around and having the head sort of over but off the right shoulder

Down swing:

1: drop the hands down to hip level and release kind of pushing the ball with the right hand

2: same thing but pulling through with the left

3: not dropping, but rolling the hands over early and throwing the right heel over while keeping the hands near my right pocket. Keeping the club head square from a foot or so behind me to a foot in front of me.

Follow through:

1: Keeping the club head square and following straight towards where you want the ball to go.