IGNORED

30 - 40 Yards from pin, better to pitch or chip?

Note: This thread is 4627 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Golf buddy and I always have debates on these shots.  I am more accurate pitching from these distances and he's much better at chipping.  His thought process is there's more chance for me to hit the ball fat or thin on a pitch and be left in worse shape than where a mishit chip would end up.  I'm not very good at chipping, but usually can put the ball within 15' pitching though admittedly I have had a few mishits that turned into blow up holes.  What is the preferred shot for these distances?

Joe Paradiso

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

My teachers (Graves Golf) say:

putt when you can

chip when you can't putt

pitch when you can't chip

flop when you can't pitch

Russ - Student of the Moe Norman swing as taught by the pros at - http://moenormangolf.com

Titleist 910 D3 8.5* w/ Project X shaft/ Titleist 910F 15* w/ Project X shaft

Cobra Baffler 20* & 23* hybrids with Accra hybrid shafts

Mizuno MP-53 irons 5Iron-PW AeroTech i95 shafts stiff and soft stepped once/Mizuno MP T-11 50.6/56.10/MP T10 60*

Seemore PCB putter with SuperStroke 3.0

Srixon 2012 Z-Star yellow balls/ Iomic Sticky 2.3, X-Evolution grips/Titleist Lightweight Cart Bag---

extra/alternate clubs: Mizunos JPX-800 Pro 5-GW with Project X 5.0 soft-stepped shafts

swings in roundabouts,

it looks like an easy chip and run, but the ball veers off wildely from a crappy bounce and you wonder "Why didnt i just eliminate that issue with a pitch?"

then you pitch it and flubb it and you wonder "Why didnt i just eliminate that issue with a chip?"