IGNORED

Another player's ball knocked mine into the hole

Chipless
Note: This thread is 2456 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am a novice golfer with only three rounds under my belt.  Yet somehow I have already managed to get myself into a spot where guys I know who golf regularly cannot seem to agree on the correct ruling.

I hit a ball and it landed on the green.  It was probably ten feet away from the hole, but I couldn't tell for sure since I was still walking towards the green.  While I was walking someone else chipped onto the green.  Their ball collided with my ball and knocked mine into the hole.

What is the correct ruling and why?

• Administrator

Originally Posted by Chipless

I hit a ball and it landed on the green.  It was probably ten feet away from the hole, but I couldn't tell for sure since I was still walking towards the green.  While I was walking someone else chipped onto the green.  Their ball collided with my ball and knocked mine into the hole.

First, welcome to the forum.

The correct ruling is that you replace your ball and the other is played from where it lies.

The USGA maintains the Rules of Golf online here: http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rules-and-Decisions/ and the relevant rule is rule 18, "Ball at Rest Moved," http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-18/ . Specifically 18-5 "By Another Ball."

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades