IGNORED

The punch shot as a swing Rx

Note: This thread is 4179 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Early on when I started playing I noticed that whenever I needed to hit a punch shot for whatever reason (recovery, overhanging branches, wind..) I always made crisp clean contact.  We're talking about a 2/3 takeaway (hands to ~10:00) with a sawed-off follow through. So, because back then my full swing ball striking was pretty bad, I actually spent a year or more with the punch as my normal swing until I started to strike the ball consistently and built it back up to a more full swing.  These days, I still revert to the punch as a swing fixer when things go awry on the course.  It conveys proper timing and clean contact and puts the confidence back in the brain.  Sometimes all it takes is 3 or 4 punches and I'll be back to normal.  The only thing is, I kind of feel like it's cheating or taking the easy way out instead of fixing the flaw with my full swing.  Any thoughts on this method of remedy?

The real reason I'm asking about this is my son has been playing for 2 yrs and is on the HS golf team, and I'm wondering as his coach (the team's coach is really the track & field coach and doesn't offer any teaching) should I instill this as an on-course remedy for when he derails?

dak4n6

Originally Posted by dak4n6