• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ajst22

Is it legal to use your putter to line up your putt?

69 posts in this topic

Say I marked my ball, and I then took my putter and laid it down on the ground (the shaft) as a line to where I want to putt. I then placed the ball, with the alignment marker on the ball on that line of the shaft of the putter, picked up the putter and then putt. Is that legal?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Originally Posted by ajst22

Say I marked my ball, and I then took my putter and laid it down on the ground (the shaft) as a line to where I want to putt. I then placed the ball, with the alignment marker on the ball on that line of the shaft of the putter, picked up the putter and then putt. Is that legal?

Never heard this one.  I'm assuming you are placing the putter behind the ball.   Rule 8-2b prohibits you from touching the green in order to point out a "line for putting".  I always thought of "line for putting" as a point in the direction towards the hole....not behind the ball.  Not sure on this one....have to think about it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Dormie1360

Never heard this one.  I'm assuming you are placing the putter behind the ball.   Rule 8-2b prohibits you from touching the green in order to point out a "line for putting".  I always thought of "line for putting" as a point in the direction towards the hole....not behind the ball.  Not sure on this one....have to think about it.

Exactly...lining up the putter behind the ball and I wasn't sure either. Matt Kuchar actually comes to mind now because I think he does something like this.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I dont think ur allowed to lay anything on the green in front or behind to line it up. My advice is learn the spider crawl that villegas does lol.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You may not touch the line of putt but that only runs from the ball to the hole. If your club was on the side away from the hole there is no problem.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Rulesman

You may not touch the line of putt but that only runs from the ball to the hole. If your club was on the side away from the hole there is no problem.

How about for full swing shots from the tee box or fairway?  Are you allowed to lay a club on the ground to verify proper alignment?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Chipless

How about for full swing shots from the tee box or fairway?  Are you allowed to lay a club on the ground to verify proper alignment?


As long as it is no longer there when you take your swing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why not put the ball on the ground with the alignment mark on the ball going where you want it, then stand behind the ball and use your club (in your hands) to make sure the line is pointing the to right spot?  If the alignment mark on the ball is parallel to with your putter you're aiming correctly.  Does that make sense?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by ajst22

Say I marked my ball, and I then took my putter and laid it down on the ground (the shaft) as a line to where I want to putt. I then placed the ball, with the alignment marker on the ball on that line of the shaft of the putter, picked up the putter and then putt. Is that legal?

I saw on TV someone do this today in the Open.  I have to assume that it is OK.  I don't remember the exact sequence that he did, but at one point his putter was lying on the green directly behind the ball or mark with the shaft lined up toward the hole or line toward the hole.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by ndb8fxe

I have to assume that it is OK.

You don't have to assume. There is no rule prohibiting such an action. Therefore it is OK.

The two conditions that must be met are that the line of putt must not be touched and the alignment club must be removed before the stroke is made.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Rulesman

You don't have to assume. There is no rule prohibiting such an action. Therefore it is OK.

The two conditions that must be met are that the line of putt must not be touched and the alignment club must be removed before the stroke is made.

Rule 8.2b states that the putting green must not be touched when pointing out a line for putting.  Does laying a putter behind the ball constitutes pointing out a line for putting? If so, then I can't see how there isn't a penalty.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rule 8.2b states that the putting green must not be touched when pointing out a line for putting.  Does laying a putter behind the ball constitutes pointing out a line for putting? If so, then I can't see how there isn't a penalty.

Look up the definition for "line of putt" in the Rules. [QUOTE] Line Of Putt The “line of putt’’ is the line that the player wishes his ball to take after a stroke on the putting green. Except with respect to Rule 16-1e, the line of putt includes a reasonable distance on either side of the intended line. The line of putt does not extend beyond the hole.[/QUOTE] It doesn't extend beyond the hole, nor behind the golf ball.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post


Look up the definition for "line of putt" in the Rules.
Quote:
Line Of Putt
The “line of putt’’ is the line that the player wishes his ball to take after a stroke on the putting green. Except with respect to Rule 16-1e, the line of putt includes a reasonable distance on either side of the intended line. The line of putt does not extend beyond the hole.
It doesn't extend beyond the hole, nor behind the golf ball.

Rule 8.2 does not refer to the line of putt, it refers to a "line for putting" - they are not the same thing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rule 8.2b states that the putting green must not be touched when pointing out a line for putting.  Does laying a putter behind the ball constitutes pointing out a line for putting? If so, then I can't see how there isn't a penalty.

[QUOTE]b. On the Putting Green When the player’s ball is on the putting green, the player, his partner or either of their caddies may, before but not during the stroke, point out a line for putting, but in so doing the putting green must not be touched. A mark must not be placed anywhere to indicate a line for putting.[/QUOTE] [QUOTE] 16-1. General a. Touching Line of Putt The line of putt must not be touched except: (i) the player may remove loose impediments, provided he does not press anything down; [COLOR=FF00AA] (ii) the player may place the club in front of the ball when addressing it, provided he does not press anything down [/COLOR];[/QUOTE] I get a bit confused by these two rules. One says you can't touch the green, the other says you can put a club down.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by pogle

Rule 8.2 does not refer to the line of putt, it refers to a "line for putting" - they are not the same thing.

But can you tell us what the difference is?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Rulesman,

I'm trying to get this confirmed, but if you touch the green at a point beyond the hole to indicate an aim point for your partner, are you not indicating the line of play and in breach of R8-2b?  I realize the line of play does not extend past the hole, however 8-2a prohibits a mark on an extension past the hole during the stroke.  Just seems strange that if the Rules meant the LOP for R8-2b, why didn't they just say that instead of using the term Line for putting.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Dormie1360

Hi Rulesman,

I'm trying to get this confirmed, but if you touch the green at a point beyond the hole to indicate an aim point for your partner, are you not indicating the line of play and in breach of R8-2b?  I realize the line of play does not extend past the hole, however 8-2a prohibits a mark on an extension past the hole during the stroke.  Just seems strange that if the Rules meant the LOP for R8-2b, why didn't they just say that instead of using the term Line for putting.


Given the precision with which terms are used in the rules, I think you're correct and 8-2b is not limited to the Line of Putt. It seems apparent that you're not allowed to touch the green while indicating a line, regardless of whether you're on the actual Line of Putt. After all, the line you'd point out would be the starting direction, only a small portion of which would be on the Line of Putt if there's a significant break.

As for how this bears on the original question, I don't know. Given that you're allowed to ground your club, including ahead of the ball, you're clearly allowed to touch the green in a limited context while pointing out a line. It's easy to understand that as different from the sort of action considered in 8-2b. Laying the club on the green is a lot less clear to me.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can put a club on the ground behind the ball. Heck, you can use your putter to mark your ball's position if you want. I'm not sure why this is confusing. You can't point to a spot on the green and touch it to indicate the line of the putt. You can't have an alignment aid present when making a stroke. You can't test the surface of the green. Other than that, what other rules could possibly prevent you from setting your putter down on the green? Heck, you can set another club down behind your ball if you want, so long as you move it before you make your stroke. BTW, rather than do whatever you're doing, get some ball markers like this and you won't need to use your putter: [URL=http://thesandtrap.com/image/id/278516/width/640/height/320][IMG]http://thesandtrap.com/image/id/278516/width/640/height/320[/IMG][/URL]
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Golf Evolution
  • Posts

    • How to eliminate blowup holes
      I know your pain, somewhat. I, unlike you, can usually pin it on a club. My 4 iron can get me into trouble. For whatever reason, I tend to ground it more than any other club, to the point I deliberately stand a bit more upright to counter it. Something about that 4, it just makes me want to drop my lower body a little more or something. So, just to use my example, I changed my stance to counter a bad habit because it got to the point that I made that move consistently, and the countering stance change has mostly fixed my problem. Now, my problem is the sub-50 game, especially in the range of 1-10 yards from the green. My short-range chipping just needs work. I've started treating it more like a wedge putt, but that light push doesn't fit well with an uneven surface (clipping a small hill that kills the speed and gets the ball nowhere). It'll mostly come down to recognizing what kinds of things you screw up. Like people said, those "hero shots" can be a killer because they usually require perfection, and when you don't get it, you're in a position that can add 2 more to the score to get out of those woods or that sand trap. Damage control's a big thing to recognize and strive for. Anyone here can only help you so much, especially with a general "how do I do better?" question like this. If your screw-ups aren't a consistent problem, a solution is hard to find beyond "play more, get better." You kind of have to eat the occasional bad hole because you're not striving for perfection and putting in the hours many have over the years. It's not to suggest an inability to improve, just to say that if you can't identify where you're making mistakes most, there's no way anyone here can.
    • 2016 TST Initiative: Forward Tees Tournament
      In Lowest Score Wins, we recommend that golfers play from the forward tees in order to experience "breaking 80" for the first time, or shooting 65, or having more birdie putts than they've ever had, or whatever. This year, in 2016, we're taking it one step farther: we're encouraging everyone here to work with the head pro at your home course (or, if you play multiple courses, the head pro at each of them!) and to set up a serious "Forward Tees Tournament." A Forward Tees Tournament (FTT) will be: FUN! Enlightening Unique Challenging I'll give anyone who creates and/or participates in a FTT this year the special achievement/award seen to the left. Anyone with this award will be entered to win a TST prize to be determined at the end of the year (and I'll do my best to make it a fairly good prize, but that shouldn't be the main reason why anyone should do this). You can play: With or without handicaps. With or without brackets/divisions/flights. Stroke play or match play. 18, 27, 36, 54+ holes. One day, two days, three days. Etc. I think golfers will love playing in this type of tournament. I think it will challenge them to think about how they play and score. I think it will result in faster play, more fun, more birdies, more chances to hit 7-iron into par fives and feel like a Tour player for once, and… lower scores (or higher scores for the dumb players!). So there you have it. What can you do from here? Pledge here in this thread to talk to your head pro. Recruit your buddies and local golfers to play in your event. Work with your head pro to make the event a success. Play in the event! Post here after your tournament has been played to claim your super-exclusive award/achievement! I'm in. I'll be doing this, hopefully at multiple courses this year. Are you?
    • Posting old scores
      I haven't had an official handicap for about 15 years because in the past several I've only been able to play 6-8 times per year. This year I joined a club so that I could play in tournaments and since I need five scores to get a handicap, I entered some scores in GHIN from my last few rounds in 2015 (since I play so rarely, I can remember them). When I was doing this, I forgot to change the date when posting a score from August so it defaulted to today and is now my most recent reported score. GHIN won't let me change the entry but says to "contact my club" to fix it, which seems like a hassle for everyone involved. It's not my lowest score but it's close, so it will probably be included in my handicap calculation for quite a while unless the date is changed. How big of a deal is this?
    • How to eliminate blowup holes
      Another thing is sometimes to 'give up' on par. For example, as a bogey golfer, if I hit a bad tee shot and end up say 220yds from the hold on a par 4 rather than the usual 130yds, play the hole as if bogey is the new par. You've made the hole more difficult for yourself and rather than trying to hit the green with a 3 wood (a green designed to be hit with a mid/short iron), take 2 shots to get on the green and 2 shots to get down. 1 220yd par 4 is an easy hole (could even make birdie (which becomes par and a great save) whereas a 220 yd par 3, not off the tee, is asking for trouble. Not always the best way to play golf (read Lowest Score Wins) but the best way to avoid blowing up.
    • Jack or Tiger: Who's the Greatest Golfer?
      Find it yourself please. I don't think that would provide much insight. Courses, technology… all very different. Too many differences. People who qualify for the Opens rarely actually compete for them. The winners and top finishers almost always come from those who qualify automatically. I'm not. Very few foreign golfers played on the PGA Tour in the 60s. It's been steadily growing - and travel has made it easier, too - through to now. And even now we're starting to see Asian golfers really take over. The only Asian golfer many could name who competed against Nicklaus was Isao Aoki. Maybe Jumbo Ozaki. I'm just talking about the number of golfers. There are a ton more now. I don't care. I realize perhaps your condition forces you to take everything literally, but I wasn't being literal here. The PGA Tour takes the best 150 players or so out of X. As X grows, the amount of separation between those top 150 players narrows. We're in a very narrow phase right now. When Jack was playing, the gap was significantly wider. No. Tiger was quite a bit more dominant and "above" even MORE highly competitive fields. Both halves of that are true: Tiger won by larger margins and against stronger fields. I agree. And I've said similar things. No…? You don't say? (On page 273 of a thread doing just that…)? You seem to be the only person who regards WGCs as weaker fields that offer a "competitive break." It says a lot about how others should consider your opinions on strength of field. You're assuming or haven't read many of my posts in this thread, because I've said several times that I'd put it within a few points of 50/50. Maybe 55/45. Hardly what I'd call "strong." Of course we're both "estimating." Tiger's record, IMO, against significantly stiffer competition, puts him ahead. Not by a lot. Not really. If only 30 players had a realistic chance to win a tournament, adding players beyond that 30th player does little to affect the strength of the field. The WGCs could add 200 club professionals that would never win and… the strength of field would remain exactly the same. Where have I said this? Because even if I did, it doesn't support whatever you're trying to force it into supporting here. The odds of a club pro beating anyone on the PGA Tour these days are slim to none. They were slightly more likely back when fewer "A" players played the PGA Tour… like in the 60s and 70s. A "C" player's game almost never varies enough - not for four days - to beat even 10 or 15 "A" players. Here's an opinion, but one I could probably back up if I cared enough to take the time (I do not): a modern WGC has a stronger field than many (perhaps all) of the majors Nicklaus won. I've said this before, and will say it again here: In Jack's day, there were maybe 10-15 "A" players, 25 "B" players, and the rest were "C" players. Today there are 100+ A players and the rest B players. I'm also going to request, mostly because of the number of times I've had to repeat myself in this thread, that you not quote or respond to me, @natureboy, in this thread. I'm not keen on repeating myself about something that, ultimately, I don't care that much about. It is what it is, their records are what they are, and they could only beat the guys they played against.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    No users celebrating today
  • Blog Entries