• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
darkhunter139

Bees in a bunker

10 posts in this topic

I was playing today and hit in a bunker that was filled with bee's.  I was not about to step in there and get my ball back because that just is not worth it...



I am pretty sure I can get a free drop from this but there was bee's all over the bunker so there was no way I could drop it anywhere else in the bunker and hit.  My solution to this problem was to walk off the course on the 10th because it was really hot and I did not feel like playing anymore.  I wasn't scoring the round anyway but I am just curious what I would do if I were? Would I have to take a penalty if I dropped it behind the bunker a safe distance from the bee's?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Q. A player's ball comes to rest in a situation dangerous to the player, e.g., near a live rattlesnake or a bees' nest. In equity (Rule 1-4 ), does the player have any options in addition to playing the ball as it lies or, if applicable, proceeding under Rule 26 or 28 ?

A. Yes. It is unreasonable to expect the player to play from such a dangerous situation and unfair to require the player to incur a penalty under Rule 26 (Water Hazards) or Rule 28 (Ball Unplayable).

If the ball lay through the green, the player may, without penalty, drop a ball within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest spot not nearer the hole that is not dangerous and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green.

If the ball lay in a hazard, the player may drop a ball, without penalty, within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest spot not nearer the hole that is not dangerous. If possible, the ball must be dropped in the same hazard and, if not possible, in a similar nearby hazard, but in either case not nearer the hole. If it is not possible for the player to drop the ball in a hazard, he may drop it, under penalty of one stroke, outside the hazard, keeping the point where the original ball lay between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped.

If the ball lay on the putting green, the player may, without penalty, place a ball at the nearest spot not nearer the hole that is not dangerous and that is not in a hazard.

If interference by anything other than the dangerous situation makes the stroke clearly impracticable or if the situation would be dangerous only through the use of a clearly unreasonable stroke or an unnecessarily abnormal stance, swing, or direction of play, the player may not take relief as prescribed above, but he is not precluded from proceeding under Rule 26 or 28 if applicable. (Revised)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

My course has rattlesnakes so that is good to know, can you drop far enough away without penalty so your not bothered by the animal or within striking distance? Some of these snakes are close to 7' long and I know there is no way I can concentrate knowing that thing is that close and taking my eyes away would give it a chance to attack.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

At the risk of outraging the purists, any sign of bees or rattlesnakes!!! in a bunker and I am giving myself a FREE drop as far as possible from danger (no closer to the hole of course) and continuing on my merry way without a stitch of guilt!

If there happens to be a bunker of similar distance from the hole I'll drop it there, but if not, I using my "get outta jail" free card every time. Love golf and I play as honest as I know how but I ain't taking no penalty because of bees or snakes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

My course has the bees in the bunker problem early in the year - it is very unsettling playing out of a bee infested bunker - glad there is a provision for relief !!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by onesome

My course has rattlesnakes so that is good to know, can you drop far enough away without penalty so your not bothered by the animal or within striking distance? Some of these snakes are close to 7' long and I know there is no way I can concentrate knowing that thing is that close and taking my eyes away would give it a chance to attack.

you can drop one club length from a spot that is safely out of danger.  If you feel that you must go back 30 ft to be safe, then that is where you go and then you can drop one club length from there, not nearer the hole.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are you talking about "BEE'S" or those smaller, bee-like sand wasps that nest in the bunker, making small burrows in the sand? We have sand wasps in about half the bunkers on my course and they do not seem to be dangerous. I don't think sand wasps can sting, and I stand and hit around them all the time.

If what you are talking about are in fact bees then yes, I don't go near them, take relief lol.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sand wasps do not sting and won't mess with humans more than annoying them by flying around their heads, lol

They are insect eaters.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We had the same thing at a course we played yesterday. Wasn't sure exactly what sort of bees they were and when I suggested to my buddy that he find out, well, I won't dignify his response by posting it here! :-O
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • Ball likely in casual water but uncertain
      You use the S&D option of Rule 28 at any time you want. It doesn't matter if you can't see it, can't identify it or have it staring you in the face with your ID in dayglo pink. To use either of the other options you have to be able to identify it.
    • The Most Common Swing Flaw
      I'm sure there will be arguments later but there is one piece of information I think a lot of golfers can benefit from. I hope to save some people from buying the online swing tip scams. The most common flaw I see in swings is rotating the forearms one way or the other. Most people don't realize you don't have to rotate your forearms or hands at all in the golf swing, in fact it's better if you don't. The arms can stay just as square as they are at address. The arms follow the rotation of the shoulders on the plane. The arms slightly trail the body on the through swing, creating some additional lag to hip lag, and then eventually they pass the body much later. The club face can stay as square as it was at impact the whole time, many PGA  pros do this. Hunter Mahan is a good example. The only movement the arms really have to make is an up and down one. There is a popular drill where students are told to pick the club straight up from address, hinge it, and rest it on their right shoulder (for righties), and then turn the shoulders 90 degrees and voila, the top of the backswing. To get to this position people will do all kinds of arm and hand contortions all over the place, which is fine. The only problem is, is on the way down, you don't want to be doing these things, and the law of physics states that every action has an equal and opposite reaction, so you will likely do going down what you did going up, just in reverse. All you really have to do is rotate your shoulders and let the arms stay connected as they were at address, after all this is why you've spent so much time working on the set up position! The swing is a moving and rotating set up position. Some people actually get to the top perfectly, but then insist on going way beyond parallel, ruining the glorious work! The problem here is, the more your arms lift past your shoulders, the more you have to wait for them to come down, for that huge 1mph arm swing speed boost.  You're of course thinking, why the heck do people do all these things? One reason people do this is because it feels natural, at least that's the reason experienced golfers do it. It feels more repeatable to them, and they like it, it feels good. Power to them. But there are plenty of golfers who do these things that aren't happy with their game, so why do they do it? They do these things because it feels like they can get maximum strength this way. Doing it the efficient way would cost them a lot of power, because their strongest and biggest muscles have not coordinated yet to hit a golf ball. When we do basic things like jumping and lifting, things we've done all our lives, we use the most efficient muscles and most supported ones. But when we have to hit a golf ball, those muscles don't know how to get involved, so we use the smaller, weaker, faster ones, to get the job done with some short term speed. The truth is, we can hit the ball a lot further using the right muscles, but many golfers believe they are hitting it better with whatever move they currently have. They aren't wrong, at the moment they can't hit it with the right muscles, because the right muscles aren't trained. But if they stopped what they are doing and started training the right muscles to support the swing, would they hit it better, faster farther? You bet your ball washer they would. So put down the club, put your arms across your chest like you learned at your very first golf clinic, dig into your hip sockets, and rotate those shoulders. Do away with the crazy arm motions and the bending and unbending at the waist. The 4some behind you will thank you for it.
    • Anybody play golf without keeping score on a regular basis?
      Certainly. Only keep a record of pars in my notebook - nothing else, consequently my index could be anywhere between 16 and 36. Aim is to par every hole on the course at some stage.
    • My Swing (coop6)
      The video you linked of Rory do you see how there is zero club face rotation after the ball?
    • Ball likely in casual water but uncertain
      thanks @ColinL great answer. Question: Are there any times where you can take an unplayable if you can't identify your ball, like if you can't get close enough to read the letters. I thought there were.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries