IGNORED

Sore Muscles or Tennis/Golf Elbow?

Note: This thread is 4299 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am a lefty and my right forearm is sore.  Based on Dr Google it doesn't sound quite like tennis or golf elbow based on where I am feeling it.  It's sore on the outside of my forearm, about halfway between my elbow and wrist.  When I flex my forearm, I feel it at the most muscular part.

Is there a way to easily tell whether this is simple muscle soreness from developing muscles that I haven't used much before (I've only been playing golf for about 6 mos and have been playing a lot more lately), or a sign of something more ominous to come?

All I've done so far is stretching (stand with arms straight out in front of me and flex wrists up, then down) and icing on and off.

I am not a doctor or play one on internet forums however I had a very similar problem last year.

My doc said it was tendonitis.  I was hitting a lot of balls off mats that may have started it.

Sorry to say the only "cure" in my case was rest and ice.  I cut down to 9 holes a week and played

thru the pain, wasn't even supposed to do that.  I did get one of those gel wraps for the forearm and that did take some of the stress off the forearm.  No golf over the winter and this year no pain

I had the same thing after a two week marathon at the driving range where I was pounding balls for a couple hours a day. As dean007 stated, rest is the only thing that will cure that.

Thanks for the input.  I am new (been playing for about 6 mos) and I've stepped it up a lot recently.  I think I have a little bit of the Weekend Warrior thing going on now.